We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the right reasons to book this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Internacional Design Hotel

Save Saved
You added Internacional Design Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 218 hotels in Lisbon
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“All the right reasons to book this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Having been in 130 countries in 100's of hotels, this one is Outstanding for these reasons:
1. The staff is fabulous totally willing to help in any matter. Alex, the owner, personally came with me to help me drop my rental car. Manager Sara has a great team in all departments to assist you.
2. Location is perfect-just where all the action is. As a base to go out from to experience the wonderful area, we found our time well preservedd by being in the center of everything.
3. The breakfast offering is good. The staff is very efficient.
4. The room we had was fine.
5. The price was very competitive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Owner at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Sir

On Behalf of the entire team,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with such a kind words. it is the best advertising we can have - Word of mouth.

I personally feel very proud about our staff. They are committed to provide the best service and experience both inside and outside the Hotel.

Please let me know about any future visit to our beautiful city, so I can assist you once again and provide you with a very pleasurable stay. This offer can be extended to your family and/or friends.

Warm regards,

Alexandre Martins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    527
    238
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
66
476
51
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed in this hotel last week for 3 nights. I had a tribe theme room, which was very nice. Had a nice view to both plazas. Breakfast was very good. Helpful and friendly staff! Location was the best! Will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, General Manager at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all our staff I would like to thank you for the time you took to review our hotel.

Our breakfast is indeed a nice way to start your day of sightseeing and our location is perfect for the proximity and easy access to all the city’s main features.

We are eagerly waiting for your return, contact us if you need any assistance in preparing your trip.
Best regards,

Sara Freire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I loved our room so much that I photographed it before we messed it up. Okay - so 60's style might not be everyone's cup of tea but that's okay because every floor has a different vibe with some being more tranquil and 'zen'.
The service was even more impressive than the room - the welcome we received was wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. Could we borrow an adapter plug? Certainly. Could we borrow an umbrella? No problem. Could I have an omelette made to my specifications? Of course. And so on...
The location could not have been better. You MUST stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Owner at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your amazing review with such great compliments.

Lisbon is quickly transforming to become one of the trendiest cities in Europe by offering a great variety of interesting places and artistic concepts.

It makes my team and I very proud to know that our hotel was one of the best things you have experienced in Lisbon.

I hope we can welcome you once again,

Best Regards

Alexandre Martins
ceo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel with Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed.The location is superb, in the heart of the old city and easy walk to all amenities.
The hotel decor is moden and well done. Very quite for its location. Rooms were of a good size and very clean.
The staff were exceptional, helpful, and spoke good english.
Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Owner at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I´m very happy that you had a great stay in our Hotel.

Thanks you so much for your kind words.

Regards to New Zealand

Alexandre Martins
ceo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbabane, Swaziland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Super modern hotel in centre of city. Small rooms - but modern with fun, quirky decor. Nice views of one of the main city squares from a minute balcony. Bath/Shower a bit awkward for older visitors. Gave us a great restaurant recommendation (Casa Nostra). Quick to find taxis for easy travel in Lisbon. Really comfortable bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Owner at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Internacional Design Hotel for your
recent stay in Lisbon.

I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our
hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards from Lisbon

Alexandre Martins
ceo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in October while visiting Lisbon. The hotel is located in a perfect location on Rossio Square. It is very easy to explore the entire city from here. Although the hotel is located on a busy street, it was still fairly quiet in the room. The hotel is unique as other reviewers have mentioned and the breakfast was one of the best we had in Portugal. The problems that one reviewer said about breakfast are those that can happen anywhere - waiting for a table, running out of some items. We thougth the breakfast was great! The staff was also very accomodating. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but still very adequate for two. Would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Assistant Front Office Manager at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased you enjoyed our prime location, and the quietness in our rooms, despite the street noises that are common in every major city centers.

On your next visit you should try our bigger room types, such as Medium or Large. Contact me directly so I can help you find one suiting your needs and preferences.

Warm Regards from Lisbon

Nuno Matos Lopes
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

There could hardly be a better place from which to really experience Lisbon. Excellent hospitality and service. Very helpful, efficient and friendly staff - always ready and kind.

The room was good. The bed was a dream - fluffy, clean, soft, best sleep in years. The location couldn't be better. It is close to the most beautiful places in Lisbon, as well as to the main attractions.

I was not expecting the breakfast to be this good!! Every morning I would wake up in a hurry to not miss the amazing breakfast :)

I would come back here again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Assistant Front Office Manager at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us, we are always very pleased when our guests had such a pleasant time.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly next time you come to Lisbon, so I can show you the different themes on each floor.

Hope to see you soon

Best regards,

Nuno Matos Lopes
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Internacional Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.