We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Internacional Design Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Internacional Design Hotel to your Saves list
Internacional Design Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 218 Hotels in Lisbon
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location, great break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Decided to go for a break in Lisbon as not been to portugal before. Whole trip has been excellent. International design hotel has been a key part of that. Excellent location within walking distance of main attractions, hop on/off bus tours and restaurants. Decent sized rooms with normal amenities plus nespresso machine. Great breakfast with good selection plus omelette/crepes made to order. Staff very friendly and helpful. You couldn't ask for more for a lovely relaxing break!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of the whole team I appreciate the time you took to review the Hotel.

Our collective efforts are focused on the very important mission of making each and everyone’s stay in Lisbon the most memorable one.

We believe breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so we pay special attention to it and always try to exceed your expectations.

Please let us know if we can assist you in your next visit to Lisbon. We’re just a phone call or email away.

Best regards,

Diogo Heleno
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    242
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
67
489
52
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

After Hotel Figueira we decided to stay in this hotel. Our impression was great, especially that we got an upgrade to stay in a room with a view to the square in front. Very clean rooms and extremly helpful staff insured our pleasant stay. What a perfect hideout before the vibrant city that Lisbon is!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Owner at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of our staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am very happy to know that Internacional Design Hotel was part of your unforgettable stay in Lisbon.

We are proud of being one of the many great hotels located in downtown Lisbon.

I look forward to hosting you on your next trip.

Sincerely

Alexandre Martins

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for three nights in this great hotel from 10-13 Sept. the location is perfect, right in the heart of the city and therefore walking distance to principal sights and districts. This is not your usual hotel. The focus really is on design and that sets it apart from your usual tourist accommodation. Every floor in the hotel has its own quirky features. Design does not detract from comfort, though and we loved the enormous and very comfortable beds.
Staff were fantastic, extremely friendly and very helpful. We asked for a different room and were accommodated without any problem. Breakfast was excellent value with a wide choice of hot and cold buffet. The hotel has just over 50 rooms so is not an impersonal bed factory. All in all we loved the International Design Hotel and it certainly enhanced our stay in Lisbon. We would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Some of the standard rooms are small. Internal facing rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_IDH, General Manager at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing our Hotel.

I´m very pleased to see that you enjoyed our Hotel´s Design and our friendly staff helped to make your stay a memorable one. I agree completely that our convenient location is truly a great asset.

I´m also very happy that you have mentioned the comfort of our beds because we recently have improved the quality of our mattresses.

Hope to see you soon!

Alexandre Martins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Great service, friendly and very helpful staff. - Especially Subas. Lots of advice on transport,restaurants, sights, etc. Airport pick ups also great and at €10-15 was easy with all my bags.

Modern, very clean and all the right creature comforts. Good A/C and nespresso machines in the rooms.

I stayed 3 nights over 2 stays. the first room was very small and hard to get around the bed, second stay room was a slightly bigger and more comfortable. Nice breakfasts and a really groovy cafe. Mismatched tables, chairs, carpets, tea cups. Lots of character.

Good location for wandering and catching trams / busses. Terminus station for tram 15. Also surrounded by patisseries!

Will stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Chief Bellman at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you so much for recommending our Hotel "to the world".

Reviews like yours give us more energy to improve every day.

Hope to see you soon,

Namastê

Subash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We choose this hotel after reading reviews on here about its location, and they weren't wrong! I was a little worried about how arty and modern the hotel might be, as my husband and I much prefer traditional, but the hotel was lovely. Very bright, very clean. We didn't have a view from our bedroom window but we were out most of the time so this didn't bother us at all. If you are tall its best not to stay in the loft rooms where we were as our room had sloping ceilings and my husband could only walk in certain areas of the bathroom for fear of banging his head. The staff were very helpful and gave recommendations for restaurants. The hotel also offered a shuttle to the airport for us which cost €10 per person, and although it was nice to have it all arranged for us, it only cost us €15 to get there from the airport in a regular taxi. I would definitely recommend this hotel, where ever we went during the day or evening it was so easy to find our way home. Brilliant location and a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor rooms with sloping ceilings if you are tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had a great time here, fantastic interesting hotel, everything has been made with care and it's a very creative environment, from the room to the restaurant/bar that has a great view overlooking the square. Great location, very very helpful staff for directions and bookings, really felt at home, can't fault the place at all. Even the breakfast staff were helpful, taking the time to get us information/directions during our breakfast. Highly recommend. Oh we opened our windows in the evening and were treated to buskers playing in the street with the music sifting up through our window, it was magic. The breakfast buffet is the best and most generous I've had in europe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were there in February, wonderful experience. Nothing new to add to what others have said. Location is ideal, near shopping and other interesting parts of Lisbon, short walk to Alfama. Great restaurants nearby as well. Staff was very helpful. You can get there by bus from the airport. Wifi was great as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Internacional Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.