We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Heart of Lisbon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Internacional Design Hotel

Save Saved
You added Internacional Design Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“In the Heart of Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Located in Rossio Square, this hotel's location doesn't get any better. We walked everywhere! This hotel is clean and modern. Our room was fairly large considering the age of the building. The breakfast was fantastic with a beautiful view of Rossio. Great, friendly staff that went out of their way to make sure we didn't miss out on anything Lisbon has to offer. Special thanks to Nuno for the fantastic restaurant and nightlife recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    587
    266
    38
    7
    2
See reviews for
63
450
49
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived in Lisbon on 14 May after a Long haul flight of over 26 hours, we were exhausted to say the least. We were booked for 5 nights a few blocks away in an apartment. However on arrival we found that their reservation system had booked us for 2014 instead of 2013.Tired, smelly and grumpy we found the Design Hotel by pure chance and Ana ( our saviour). She gave us a special rate in one of their suites and moved heaven and earth to keep us in the same room for our full stay ( Lisbon was full ) The location was fantastic. The breakfasts, the best of our 6 week European trip staying in 4 and 5 star Hotels.The beds and pillows ( feather as opposed to awful sponge ) were all top quality and very comfortable. We loved, loved loved it Don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I loved this hotel as it is right in the centre of Lisbon (it overlooks Rossio square and is near metro stops and is close to the train station), the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you, the rooms are modern & clean and the breakfast is amazing. All in all we cannot recommend the hotel more if you want a quality stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you like quality and comfort, friendly staff and delicious food, as well as being right in the heart of the city, within walking distance from all the main attractions, then this is the hotel for you. There is nothing to fault and I haven't stopped gushing about it to all my friends since I got back. Look no further and book it already!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our trip to Lisbon could not have been complete if we hadn't stayed in this beautiful gem of a hotel.
The hotel is made up of four levels, with a special theme for each level. We stayed in the pop art floor, and it was as quirky as we imagined it to be. Fuchsia walls and toilet paper, blue floors, green toilets, not to forget the scent of bubble gum in the hallway and in the rooms. The staff was kind enough to upgrade us to a suite just because we asked to.
The most important advantage that this hotel provides is its prime location. Set right on Rossio square, you are at a walking distance from everywhere you need to be in Lisbon, Rossio, Chiado, Bairro Alto, the train station and like 3 metro stations. You really cannot ask for a better location than this.
The staff is super friendly and helpful thoroughly explaining what we need to do and where we need to go. If I ever go back to Lisbon, most probably I will, I would definitely go back to this hotel. The only that I would say is missing is a pool, but then again it’s a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the pop art floor, it's so fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect! It is located in the heart of the city with easy access to restaurants and shops! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful! The hotel is very modern, trendy & clean. The music playing in the hotel is very refreshing.
The only negative comment is that the room we stayed in was very small, might be a good size for one person but my husband and I didn’t even have enough room to open our bags! I think some rooms are bigger than others so double check before you book.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Once you step in this hotel you realise how stylish and funky it is. The building itself is historic and in a great condition. Location of this hotel is perfect to see Lisbon and staff is extremely extremely friendly and helpful. Can't ask for more in a hotel i guess. The only comment was that the room was a bit small but it had a view on the facing square down the road. Free wifi for sure in rooms and very decent breakfast

Room Tip: Choose the medium or large room facing the street (Not small nor cocoon)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Internacional Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.