We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Internacional Design Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Internacional Design Hotel to your Saves list
Internacional Design Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €10 on select meals
Ranked #15 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“This hotel was a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and found the stay most delightful. The hotel is sited right in the middle of the old city so for a tourist most of the attractions are in walking distance. There are plenty of restaurants near by (even next door) as well with a short walk to restaurants of quality away from the tourist strip. The Hop on hop off buses leave from the square near the hotel and the metro and rail station are near by. The named brand hotels are in the newer areas and require transport to access what this hotel has at it's door.
The hotel has options for room size so you can select a size to meet your needs. Our room was large on European standards with a lage bathroom with shower over bath. It seems the hotel was renovated in recent times because the room and public areas were in good order. There is a nespresso machine in the room gratis. LInen changed everyday.
The breakfast was very good, a lot of choice on a buffet style of cooked and European style. As well there are options for a cooked breakfast to be provided on order.
The staff were very friendly and most helpful to ensure that you make the most of your stay.

Room Tip: There are three floors and three sides to select a room. Ours was on the NW side on a quieter lane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    266
    41
    8
    2
See reviews for
79
530
55
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Internacional Design Hotel for 7 nights in April 2013. The room was a good size and the bathroom clean with all the necessary amenities, though the door to the bathroom wouldn’t close properly. The room was nice and clean with a huge bed (hard mattress), free safe and Wifi and Nespresso machine. The room was called Relax 317 – it has a window but no view. The Hotel has a quiet but cosy hotel bar. The breakfast buffet is great and the food selection changes from day to day. The hotel staff is friendly. The very best thing about the hotel is the location. It is the best in Lisbon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayd at International Design Hotel for six nights in April, and were very satisfied! Absolutely great hotel! Location is perfect, everything is near: beach boulevard, very good restaurants, Rossio metro station, walking distance from the train station (trains to Cascais), nice coffee shops, shopping area etc.

Hotel was very modern and clean, and our room was spacious enough. Breakfast was very good, but unfortunately the restaurant was under renovation during our stay, so the breakfast was served in the fifth floor, in a smaller room. They opened the new restaurant the day we checked out... Bad luck! We checked out very early in the morning, so we would have missed one paid breakfast, but the reseptionist gave us an option: they could serve the breakfast in our room, or we could take breakfast with us in the morning. I think this is true customer service! Big plus for that!

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful and they spoke very good english, and heard them speak at least french also. I was surprised that so many people in Lisbon speaks perfect french (waiters in restaurants etc.).

Overall our stay in this hotel was very pleasant and I would recommend this hotel to all!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I found the hotel to be quite unique, and to really embrance the concept of a boutique hotel.
The staff was very professional and empowered to think outside the box to resolve our queries. We had a small problem with the safebox i our rooms, and the staff sought various possible solutions and even compensated us by including breakfast in our rate and not charging us for a few mini bar items we had consumed.
The hotel is cleverly designed, and although rooms are small, they are well designed to make the most out of the space. Breakfast was really good and nespresso machines are kept in every room. The location is superb and conveniently located close to metro, train stations, bus and tram stops.
A really good option and a nice break from large hotel chains and their industrialised services.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere and decor are modern and stylish. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is great. We had two of the cocoon rooms which are on the small side and with bathrooms also on the small side. It wasn't the type of trip where we needed much more so they were perfect for this vacation. I will stay again when in Lisbon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

To begin a recently rapidly booked stay by telephone call to the Hotel my wife spoke to Nuno who was delightful. After arrival at the airport where we were collected and driven to the hotel very efficiently it became apparent that all the staff at the International Design Hotel were also delightful. The room and service were excellent as was breakfast. We were made to feel at home. The location was perfect for our initial visit to Lisbon and guidance from the hotel staff on where to go and how best to travel was perfect. we would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

in the centre of Lisbon this is an extraordinairy place. Quite, nice, with loads of ideas. Overwhelmed by details like ceiling paintings, colour of the toilet paper etc.
The breakfast just the brest you can imagine. Friendly stuff. My first address in Lisbon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Internacional Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.