We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Internacional Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Internacional Design Hotel to your Saves list
Internacional Design Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 219 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel which is very well located and we enjoyed our stay there.
First, the location of the hotel is great as very close to the subway, shops and restaurants.
Also, we visited several places in Portugal and the staff at Internacional Design Hotel were among the best we met during our trip. They are really pleasant, nice and could not have been more helpful, provided we were traveling with our 5-month old child.
Our room (called "strength") was amazingly designed and the whole hotel was decorated with a lot of taste. The room was very quiet despite the noisy environment outside the hotel.
I would definitely go back to this hotel if my path returns to Lisbon someday !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    271
    42
    8
    2
See reviews for
85
545
57
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a city break in March, we had my elderly parents along too and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful with any requests that we had - they were fabulous! Our rooms were lovely and were well equipped with comfortable beds. The hotel location cannot been beaten - it is in the heart of the city centre and is very handy for siteseeing and all transport links. We had breakfast included in our rate and enjoyed it each morning. The only negative I had was that the bar was a bit cold - both in temperature and atmosphere, the staff member who was on the evening we had our complimentary drink wasn't very friendly. All in all a great stay and I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This boutique style hotel is right in the center of town on Rossio Square, Lisbon. The somewhat dated homage to American pop is not necessary: the location and core architecture doesn't require it. The staff were most helpful, the room (OK, we got a suite) spacious, the bed and its trimmings very comfortable, the bathroom well appointed. And to top it all we expected the noise level to be high due to its location on the square and were disappointed - it was quiet once we closed the balcony doors and drifted off to a fine sleep. When we awoke and made to the breakfast room we were well pleased with the breakfast and service provided.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Located in a great spot, overlooking two of the grand squares in central Lisbon. It's only a five minute walk from the waterfront and just off the main shopping streets. Each floor has a different theme and the bar/restaurant on the first floor has a lovely view with it's wall of windows. We stayed in one of the 'small' rooms, this was more than big enough.The building from the outside is old but the interior is fully modernised. The restaurant was closed when we were there but the bar was great for a pre/post dinner drink. Staff were faultless, breakfasts are worth paying extra for and a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property is fun, boutiquey with an excellent location. Very helpful staff and the best breakfast buffet for a small property. Rooms were clean and well presented and 'fun' with their themes. Free room upgrade was appreciated. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

One of the best hotel experiences in our travel life! Very nice hotel, The Best staff you can find! Helpful, attentive to your needs, very friendly and always welcoming and smiling! Clean to perfection, great breakfast (also great staff and service there) with beautiful view on Rossio square. You will not find better place to stay in Lisbon!
Hope we can come back to Lisbon soon and stay in this hotel again!
Thank you everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

You can't beat the location of this beautiful hotel. At Rossio square, you are steps from the metro, Rossio train station, meeting points for tours, and central to all of the city's main attractions. The suites have all of the modern comforts and conveniences you need. The building's exterior has beautiful architectural features and is easy to spot from a distance. The location may be a bit of a disadvantage at times because you're in a tourist trap area, but it's worth it to save on transport. As a general rule, avoid a meal in the area. The neighbouring cafes in the square however are great for drinks and people watching.

The breakfast exceeded my expectations, with both hot and cold choices and an elaborate spread. The breakfast room is bright thanks to its large windows, with amazing views of Rossio square.

There is free water, a welcome drink per guest in the hotel bar, and a Nespresso coffee machine. Some people have complained that the rooms are too small, but I guess they haven't experienced many other hotel rooms outside of North America because I found it to be quite standard. I stayed in a cocoon room and didn't feel cramped in the least. You can pay extra for a larger room. I wouldn't consider myself a budget traveler, but I don't understand why anyone would spend the extra money for more space during a temporary visit that you could otherwise spend on another bottle of wine or port! Perhaps if a room with a view is important to you, but I don't spend much time indoors.

The staff, like everyone I've met so far in Portugal, are incredibly friendly and helpful. The service is outstanding.

Don't look any further...just stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Escapio, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Internacional Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.