We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well above average and unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Internacional Design Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Internacional Design Hotel to your Saves list
Internacional Design Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Sidney, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“well above average and unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We choose this hotel ( for 5 nights) because of its central location and free internet... (we refuse to pay for internet acsess and will no longer stay in hotels that do charge for internet no matter what.).
Breakfast was outstanding, a special treat, without a doubt it was second to none and was included in the reasonable price of about 100 Euros.
The staff was well trained and always ready to please. Especially Anna.

We travel often and 3 weeks plus at a time.

While the owner must have had fun with the design of the hotel which is a unique property to see and experience with all the special details to be found everwhere.
However I recommend that he/she take his/her partner along with two suitcases and stay a few nights in their hotel to find out the small but important details that are still missing in the rooms/bathrooms that would make a guest's stay more home-like and comfortable.
We ofcourse enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    250
    37
    7
    2
See reviews for
72
503
52
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Staff, location and breakfast = excellent. Well worth the money.

Our room on the other hand was small and noisy (1st floor, just above the very busy Rua da Betesga). Air quality was also quite humid and stale despite the central air-conditioning. Windows got fogged up and the room had a distinct moldy smell to it each time we came back from making the rounds in Lisbon. Not something one would expect from a luxury design hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms located on the second floor above Rua Betesga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on recommendation of friends, and really enjoyed our visit. Front desk service was excellent, and were happy to recommend local restaurants, and to arrange transportation to the airport for a very early morning flight. The welcoming drink in the lovely lounge was a nice way to start our visit. The hotel is very well located, and the themed rooms are really fun. We stayed on the pop art floor. Rooms are small but well laid out, and the bathroom has lovely amenities. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

The staff is very competent and very kind, especially at the reception
The breakfast is royal
in general the hotel gives a hight quality service and a perfect location in Lisboa, close to Bairo Alto and Chiado.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

What a pleasant experience. Everything was fabulous. From the unbeatable central location, to the unique "themed" rooms, and of course the ever so helpful staff. Always smiling, always ready with suggestions. Just wonderful......a real asset to this hotel.
We were in a "zen room" with an incredible view of the square all lit up for the Christmas holidays.
Impeccably clean, we had a "small room" and it was large enough for a comfortable experience. The nespresso machine is a nice touch as well.
Breakfast was fantastic with a nice assortment and variety.The bar/eating area is surrounded by windows and is great place for romantic encounters. The two gentlemen running the bar were very attentive. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Lisbon. Two thumbs up all the way.

Room Tip: Have the staff show you an example of each theme. It's really a matter of personal preferrence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C., Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights & am very pleased with my first experience in Lisbon thanks to its helpful/friendly staff & central location. I stayed in a Zen room & it was notably clean & quiet with nicely appointed amenities, i.e. Nespresso coffee maching, rain showerfall, 42" Sony flat screen, safe, free wi-fi, etc. Great view of the main square from my balcony too! Amazing gourmet breakfast buffet included & def worth getting out of the comfortable bed for! I had a rental car & was able to park across the street in a garage w/ unlimited in-out access for only 15€/day.
I will definitly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon & would more than likely choose to stay here again for any future visits.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

very nice hotel, great location, good price, too small rooms. internet for free and good connection. no lobby at all, but with a nice bar. interiors are new and nice, real design stuff. very big and nice shower.

Room Tip: ask for the biggest room available cause the normal one you cannot stay in two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Internacional Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.