We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dom Carlos Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dom Carlos Park to your Saves list
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Duque de Loule 121, Lisbon 1050-089, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Nothing special, but well worth the price paid (just under $100 CAD/night with buffet breakfast included).

Good location right by Marque de Pombal Square and the metro station. Room was more spacious than I expected - although awkwardly laid out, with a pillar in the middle - and clean and quiet. Professional, courteous staff. Strong wifi. Lots of choice at buffet breakfast. Bathroom was spotless.

Would recommend if you're not planning to spend too much time at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    156
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
62
96
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

My initial impression of the hotel was negative, and this review would have warned travellers away from Hotel Dom Carlos Park. The room was small and filled by the bed so there was no room for a desk and chair, the bathroom didn't have shampoo, body oil, tissues. I castigated myself for choosing the hotel. However, to make a short story even shorter, I came to love the place and would willingly return.

First, the location: very close to the station where two Metro lines converge. It is also very close to the place from where the tour buses commence their hop-on-hop-off tours, and 4 minutes away from where the aeroporto bus has one of its stops. Just outside is Ave de Liberdade, the Champs Elysee of Lisbon

Second the room. No, it didn't get any larger than what I wrote in the opening paragraph, but I was able to live in the small space. When I wanted to write, I went down to the lobby where they have a nice quiet room with a desk, usually deserted. The hot water came instantly to my beck and call, the water pressure excellent (I was on the 8th and top floor) and the towels were of amazingly good fluffy quality. One day a visitor opened the curtain, and it turned out that I had a beautiful view of the city. The Wifi worked in the room at all times. Finally, while it is not my idea of a great time, I noticed that the television had many English stations that I could have watched had I chosen to do so.

Third, the breakfast. While this is a three star hotel, the breakfast is much closer to that of a four star hotel. A large selection. A pleasure to start the day.

Fifth, the personnel. While I didn't have very much interaction with them, they were professional. My first impression about hotel personnel is whether I received the requests that I made at the time of the reservation. I asked for a non-smoking, quiet room with a queen bed. And I received all. Of the 4 hotels I stayed at in Portugal, this is the only one that gave me exactly what I requested.

Bottom line, I have no hesitation in recommending the Don Carlos Park Hotel, and would return there if I were to return to Lisbon.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I stayed here for two nights mid week in October. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast is everything you need, basic but good. Location is very good, only 2 min walk to metro and 15 to center of town. I will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Location was very convenient. Staff was very helpful, especially Nuno. We totally enjoyed our stay September 5 thru 8. We would recommend this hotel.The metro stop convenient, two stops from Corte Inglis.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We went there with our 3 months old child and the staff was very helpful, kind and made the staying with the baby an easy and good experience.
The location is up the main avenue of Lisbon, close to shopping centre and parks.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Located just off Avenida de Liberdade and within 2 minutes of Marques de Pombal Metro station, which has 2 lines running through it, it's an ideal place to base yourself for a visit to Lisbon. It's also only a few minutes walk to Parque Eduardo VII which is the start point for some of the Hop On Hop Off bus tours. The rooms are a bit 70's but are clean and the buffet breakfast should have anything you require to set you up for the day. Staff were friendly and helpful and willing to help you anyway they can. Overall a nice base for a short stay or weekend in Lisbon

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

The Hotel Dom Carlos is a great value for it's location. It is located off Avenida de Liberdade and has a metro station across the street. The hotel is clean and the staff was very pleasant. The room rate included a breakfast buffet which was superb (which has not been my experience in European hotels). I traveled with two friends and we had booked a room that accommodated 3 people (also a rare find). My only disappointment was the third bed was a cot and not a bed as advertised. The mattresses could use some updating, but for two nights it was fine. I recommend this hotel for a short stay as it allows you to get to all the important sites either on foot or by metro. 10 minute cab ride to airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dom Carlos Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dom Carlos Park

Address: Avenida Duque de Loule 121, Lisbon 1050-089, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#89 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dom Carlos Park 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dom Carlos Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Carlos Park Lisbon
Dom Carlos Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dom Carlos Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.