We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Florescente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Florescente to your Saves list
Residencial Florescente
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portas de Santo Antao n-99, Lisbon 1150-266, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My family of 2 parents and 4 adult children traveled to Europe in the fall, and since we could not all agree on where to go together, we all split up for part of our trip so we could all see what we wanted! The goal for each of us was to find affordable, well-located hotels, and this one fits that description perfectly. The rooms are small but very clean, and the air-con works well. My only complaint would be the tiny bathroom, in particular the glass door which opens right onto the room. I was sharing the room with my daughter, and we did want at least a bit of privacy. The internet worked well, and the lobby/sitting area was great. The staff at the front desk are extremely helpful; you really could not ask for more. Breakfast is served at the restaurant next door (the buildings are connected), and that restaurant is quite good. The breakfast is hot, with eggs, bacon, cooked tomatoes, fruit, etc. It was a good breakfast though not the best breakfast we've ever had, but it was in no way cheap or trashy like you can find in some buffets. The street in front of the hotel transforms into open-air restaurants by early afternoon. There is no shortage of places to eat. You are just a few minutes from the Rossio train station, shopping, a huge taxi stand. Overall, we experienced clean, comfortable rooms, nice staff, and superb location.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel do look down onto the street. The plus is a lovely view. The p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    405
    86
    27
    16
See reviews for
107
318
57
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

By far one of the best independent hotels I have stayed in. Room was well decorated, comfy bed, large and well lit toilet and everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was wonderful. Shame I only had two nights here - but I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was here 7 nights and would stay again if I returned to Lisbon.

The location is close to an Aerobus stop, a Metro station and Rossio train station (for day trips to Sintra). Most of the places a tourist is interested in are within walking distance (eg Tram 28 terminus at Martim Moniz, Alfama, the Castle).

The room itself was good and even had a large bathroom. The windows were double glazed so there was no noise from outside when they were closed and locked in.

The breakfast buffet had a good variety and the quality was mostly good; the french toast and baked apples were the highlights.

The street outside the hotel is packed with tourist restaurants that have spruikers. I ate at one of them and regretted it. (It reinforced the rule that you shouldn't eat at a restaurant that needs spruikers to pull customers in; it means the food isn’t good enough to get customers). The are plenty of better dining options at Chiado (a little south of the hotel) and Bairro Alto (south west).

No negatives during my stay except there was a storage room across the corridor from my room and someone from the hotel’s restaurant thought the middle of the night would be a good time to restack all the empty bottles (only happened once).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in October. Lisbon is absolutely beautiful and the hotel is in a perfect location just off Avenue Liberdade. The street outside the hotel is pedestrians only and has plenty of bars and restaurants just a stones throw away. Food and drink fairly cheap even though it is the Euro! Very easy to get round Lisbon. You can buy a travel card from metro machines for 50c and top up for 5 euros for a 24 hour period from when you first use card. Valid on metro, bus, trams and funicular railways. Very good value. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful, especially when our flight was cancelled. We had room no 604 which was a good size, quiet with limited views of roof tops. Very good bathroom with hairdryer. I would definitely return to Lisbon and stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is so much nicer than the pictures on the website! It is in a great location near the metro, around the corner from the Aerobus and surrounded by nice restaurants. Our room was not ready when we arrived and we were upgraded to a suite with balcony views and beautiful furnishings. A full breakfast is included in the very reasonable price. We would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

my husband and i stayed here for two nights this october. we drove into lisbon and parked our car at a public garage around the corner from the hotel. the staff holds your parking ticket and adds the price to your bill, which is a handy way to pay. then they send someone with you to the garage when you leave to take care of paying. very easy. the hotel is located on a pedestrian street, filled with shops and restaurants. we had no trouble sleeping as we were in the back of the hotel. the room we had was pretty tired looking, but very very clean. a little smell sometimes coming from the bathroom plumbing, but we shut the door. we really weren't in the room that much, and the value and location make up for it. we found the breakfast buffet to be one of the best, my husband was extremely happy to find eggs included among many other choices. the man at the front desk, who is there morning noon and night every day, was helpful and friendly. we could walk anywhere from the hotel, i would definitely stay here again for the price, location, and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Well located with street restaurants out the front door, most of the typical tourist ilk, low quality, high priced and poor service, yet the hotel is convenient, a good value and staff very helpful.
They were painting the halls however their attention should have been a deep cleaning of the rooms, a fake plant front and centre in the room was covered in dust! Which then prompted a real look around which was not good! On the surface the bedding , bathrooms etc was all great however under and around the beds needs attention.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Florescente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Florescente

Address: Portas de Santo Antao n-99, Lisbon 1150-266, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#56 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Florescente 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residencial Florescente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Florescente Lisbon
Residencial Florescente Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Florescente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.