We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nazareth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nazareth to your Saves list
Hotel Nazareth
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Antonio Augusto de Aguiar 25-4, Lisbon 1000, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed at this hotel from the 20th to the 22 march 2010.

The bathroom wasn't clean at all. There was a opened soap that was lying besides the sink. The worst, we found some hair on the toilets and on the bath.

By the way, the bath's tap was broken and rusted (room 408)...

The room was noisy at night, I had the impress to sleep outside...

This hotel does not worth 4 stars... but not at all! An hotel to avoid!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    29
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
10
29
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

I travelled to Lisbon with my sisters and frind and was delighted with the whole expereince. This hotel added to my trip and at this price you can't beat it. Staff were pleasant, rooms basic clean and tidy and breakfast of rolls, cheese, ham and coffee more than enough. It's not plush but if you are looking for value for money this is it.

I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The room was clean (in fact the paint was still drying on the door, when we arrived!). The beds were comfortable and the linen clean. Fridge, hairdryer, tv were all operational. Breakfast was adequate. There is a charge of 15 Euros to deposit items in the safe - which is a bit hefty. Also DON'T use the phone to make ANY calls - we made one local call (within Lisbon) of 4 minutes and were charged a massive 11 Euros. Otherwise we would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

Correct service
Rooms clean and tidy
Rooms at the front noise
Breakfast sober
Good to the airport as to the old city

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

Staying at Residencia Nazareth gave us a much more colorful experience than at a more generic hotel. The place is owned and run by a Portuguese-Indian family, and we found the desk staff crusty but helpful - even likable. Our room was large (I think we must have gotten upgraded or something) and very bright, clean, and comfortable, with slightly quirky decor and a nice bathroom. The room was close to the front desk and elevator, but we didn't find this to be a problem. If you plan to sleep during the day, then you might not appreciate the noise (they don't always answer the phone right away), but we were out sightseeing all day, and nights were very quiet. The included breakfast was plentiful, and there's a little grocery store across the street with fresh fruit, veggies, and bread. Although the hotel's location doesn't offer anything particularly tourist-worthy, it is so accessible - by metro, bus, and even foot - to all of the great Lisbon neighborhoods. In fact, the hotel is one of many, many accommodations in this safe area. This was a great "home base" for us while in Lisbon.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

We received rather cold welcome as we arrived in this hostel. The elderly man behing the desk was rude and obviously never heard about customer oriented approach... Quite similar experience with the previous review :)

In addition, our room was poorly cleaned and there was horrible smell - as if there had been someone smoking constantly...might have come from the carpeting.

I'd say that this was poor value for the money. Even though it wasn't expensive, we had much better experiences with the same/lower price through Lisbon and other Portugal. Served as one night stop, nothing more. Have to say, though, that the amazing store "El Corte Ingles" within 2 minutes walk was great with everything one could wish. And a vast crocery store downstairs.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

In a time when $1 only buys you €0.63 (as of 3/7/08), finding a hotel that won't break the bank becomes cumbersome. With that in mind, Residencia Nazareth gives you a good value albeit at the expense of other things you look for in a hotel. A quad room for 5 nights at €78 per night is an arguably fantastic rate, but the praises of this hotel don't go much further than that. Don't get me wrong. Nazareth is a clean, well-managed establishment. The room is bright and airy, furnished with tv, bedstand, closet, and air-conditioning. Housekeeping does a good job of cleaning and supplying the rooms with fresh linen, towels, and other amenities. Breakfast is included, although it's forgettable. It is the same offering every morning consisting of ham, cheese, assorted breads, coffee, and what appears to be Tang. Good if you are hungry, but absolutely nothing to wake up specially for.

The hotel is just east of Parque Eduardo VII. The closest metro station is Parque, which is a 100-meter walk downhill. If you are in the market for a new car, the BMW, Mercedes, and Smart dealerships are adjacent to the hotel in the same building. And just like pretty much of all Lisbon, there are banks and ATMs all around the hotel. Despite the proximity of the park, metro, and ATMs, there is nothing else great about this location. There are no nearby convenient stores or supermarkets. Most eateries are shut down by 7pm. There are only a handful of eateries that remain open later, but you really need to walk a good 15 to 20 minutes before you can find one.

Lastly, the reception staff. During my stay, there were at least 4 receptionists that rotated duties. These guys are friendly enough and will engage you in conversation, with the exception of one. I never got the guy's name, but he does not belong in the hotel business. Never looks up from the desk and never greets you. Following is a conversation that I had with him.

Me: Do you have internet?
Guy: No.
Me: Can you tell me a place closeby where I can use the internet?
Guy: Mall.
Me: Um, what is the name of the mall?
Guy: Columbus.
Me: How do I get there?
Guy: Take Metro.
Me: What is the metro stop where I should get off?
Guy: (Mumbles inaudibly)

At this point I was just having fun irritating him cos I knew he had no desire to be helpful. Ah well, I just hope he never comes to visit my town and expects any help getting around.

  • Liked — Great option for Americans suffering from a crumbling US economy.
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nazareth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazareth

Address: Av. Antonio Augusto de Aguiar 25-4, Lisbon 1000, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nazareth 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nazareth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Nazareth Lisbon
Residencia Nazareth Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nazareth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.