We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food for great price. Service not necessarily included.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cantinho do Avillez

Cantinho do Avillez
Rua Dos Duques de Braganca, 7 | Chiado, Lisbon 1200-162, Portugal
+351 21 199 2369
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #195 of 2,539 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $56
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Hamburgers, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in Chiado, the Cantinho do Avillez restaurant welcomes you with a natural blend of the traditional and the modern. Quality is the priority with Chef Jose Avillez, and so nothing is left to chance. The cuisine, largely Portuguese inspired, is nevertheless influenced by travels abroad. The menu offers a wide choice of appetizers, "pregos" (steak sandwiches), entrees, main dishes and desserts, so that the gastronomic experience can be different at each visit. The service, which is pleasant and informal, contributes to the cheerful and relaxed climate.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food for great price. Service not necessarily included.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We have been here twice this past week; and our feelings are mixed.

First time was extraordinary, the second was, well, more ordinary.

The place has a nice and relaxed atmosphere.

The food is mixed; The green bean tempura, The scallops, The hazel nut was great! But, the veal and the tuna were quite mediocre (sorry!).

Also; service was variable; The first time was great; The second time i wonder if the waiters ever noticed us. They seemed stressed, and kept rushing the food. The second time they did not take time to explain the menu. Perhaps due to lack of knowledge of English. But still! Not good enough.

The place is absolutely worth a visit; but should have been even better.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    180
    75
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent small restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

An excellent dinner. Tempura green beans, partridge bacon and chive pies, mushroom bacon risotto, pan fried scallops w yams and asparagus. all terrific, as we the cocktail of the night. Don't miss.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
2,063 reviews 2,063 reviews
800 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 390 cities Reviews in 390 cities
1,095 helpful votes 1,095 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Tip: check the views in Chiado at sunset.

Pros: good food, creative cuisine, nice vibe and decor, nice staff, good value for money and beautiful location (check my pics).

We had.
Appetizers:
- scrambled eggs with farinheira.
- shrimp bulhao pato.

Main dishes:
- grilled tuna.
- lascas bacalhau.
- vieiras na frigideira.

Desserts:
- avela3.
- creme brûlée.

Everything was fantastic! I highly recommend this place!
This restaurant was featured in bourdain tv show and chef Avillez won a Michelin star.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
705 reviews 705 reviews
522 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
1,361 helpful votes 1,361 helpful votes
“Nice and enjoyable place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Solid comfort food with a twist of modernity, this is what the Cantinho is about, and they do it pretty well. I liked the interiors and the laid-back atmosphere. If one had not to book well in advance (essential) this would be the ideal place to drop by and have a rich, rewarding informal lunch. The staff is young, hip and professional. If you are from or happen to be in Lisbon, you want to try this one, believe me...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in Chiado-Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Haute cuisine in this small and cozy restaurant. It was a great experience, staff very professional and above all, very friendly and attentive to the smallest details. Surely a place I recommend and that I intend to visit again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantinho do Avillez also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cantinho do Avillez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantinho do Avillez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.