We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air conditioning not sufficient during hot summer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VIP Executive Suites Marques Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added VIP Executive Suites Marques Aparthotel to your Saves list
VIP Executive Suites Marques Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Duque de Loule, 45, Lisbon 1050-086 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Air conditioning not sufficient during hot summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We were assigned a room where the air conditioning wasn't working at all. After we complained about it they changed us to a twin bedroom because it was the only one available. This made me really upset because we had booked 6 months in advance! Despite this inconvenience, the room was huge! Breakfast is delicious and with many different options! Staff very helpful.
Internet in the lobby is very slow. Swimming pool on rooftop is small and we found a broken bottle in the pool area. Overall a good stay. I would came back!

Room Tip: If going in the summer, try to request a room with good air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    74
    37
    15
    13
See reviews for
42
66
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The location is very near to the city centre but nearby, all the restaurants are closed and the hotel doesn't provide lunch or dinner, so you have to move to the center. The apartment/room is huge and very clean.. The staff is very unfriendly (like a receptionist), except somebody. The breakfast is from 7 am until 11 am..and there are a lot of things to eat, for different tastes. Overall the hotel is quite good but it's not the excellence..you can find something better!!

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

From the positive side rooms are large. Hmm guess that was about it. Carpets were stained, safe didn't work, pool was filthy, wifi only sometimes and really slow, kitchen facilities not for families travelling with children. But Lissabon is great!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel is shabby and needs desperately a facelift. Rooms are large but the furnishing and carpeting are so old that I was a little disgusted walking barefoot in the room - only fresh place in the room is the bathroom. Free safety deposit in the room is a plus, and cleaning is very good too. Staff are helpful and polite, and the location of the hotel is great - approx. 300 meters from the metro stop. The rooftop is little dated too but it was nice to spend some tanning time there, because you won't find a beach in Lisbon and swimmingpools are very rare type of refreshment in Lisbon hotels. If you don't ask for much this hotel is suited for you. Our holiday trip included also other countries and cities than not just Lisbon, and therefore I'm not sorry for choosing this hotel for our stay in Lisbon, but if the case was about only having a short holiday break in Lisbon I would definitely choose another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a large family room which consisted of a lounge and a bedroom . The lounge doubles as another bedroom. There is a 4 person table with chairs and a sink with hot plates, cutlery, crockery and pans. There was separate air conditioning in the bedroom and lounge

There was free Internet in the hotel, though it wasn't good for streaming, perfectly adequate for email and checking where to go next.

These rooms would benefit from having a fridge freezer, kettle and an appropriate amount of cutlery and crockery for the amount of guests.

Staff are friendly and efficient, I reported a fault with the bathroom sink and it was fixed by the time we returned after going for a walk.

I would recommend this hotel for its location for attractions, metro stations and size of family rooms.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had a fantatic two weeks in Portugal, and was going to round it all off at this hotel in Lisbon. What a huge disappointment! I can honestly not really think of anything that lived up to the expectations or the 4 stars. The biggest disappointment for the kids was the rooftop "pool", hadly more than a bathtub, and dirty. The entire hotel needs a refurbishment, and until that has happened it is barely a 2-star hotel. There are plenty of other NICE places to stay in Lisbon, so avoid this one if you can.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslos, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My stay at VIP Executive Suites Marques Aparthotel was one of the most unpleasant hotel-stays I have ever experienced, and therefore I am not telling you to avoid this hotel at all costs if you have a choice.
At Booking.com it is rated 4 stars, if I was to rate it i would give it a 1.5 maximum 2 stars.
The location of the hotel is pretty central so you don't need to take a taxi if you want to go out for dinner etc.
This is the only reason why I can't rate it a disastrous 0-1 star.
The first thing that met me was a decent looking lobby, but it struck me how empty the place seemed. The staff at the hotel seemed dead and showed no such thing as excitement or even a personality, they rather resembled a look of embarrassment and guilt for not warning me about how utterly shabby this place truly was. However they were quite effective and I quickly got to my room. My room was on the second floor, and the first thing that hit me as I walked out of the elevator was how dark and dirty the hallways were. As I opened the door to my room the whole place smelled like cigarettes. While I explored my room I found out that there was a lot of things that didn't work properly or at all.. Firstly, the shower.. the shower head was leaking, the bathtub drain was blocked and if that wasn't enough there was also a lot of mould covering the cracks between the tiles.
As I lied down on the bed, deciding to relax while watching some TV I felt very uncomfortable, both with the fact that the mattress was way to firm and that I was now sharing the bed with a colony of ants. As I press the on-button on the remote control nothing happened.. the remote was broken. Once I got up and turned the TV on, it only worked for about a minute before it shut down.. Also the description said that there was Wifi everywhere in the hotel, My room didn't have wifi, the hallways didn't have wifi, the elevator didn't have wifi.. in fact the only place in the hotel with wifi was behind the counter down in the reception..
After two weeks of just perfection in Portugal this hotel ruined my last day and I am so disappointed . Lisbon itself is an incredible town and I REALLY enjoyed it... apart from this one hotel that really really disappointed.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in another hotel, honestly: you do not want to stay at this hotel.. escape while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to VIP Executive Suites Marques Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Executive Suites Marques Aparthotel

Address: Avenida Duque de Loule, 45, Lisbon 1050-086 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Executive Suites Marques Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aparthotel VIP Executive Suites Marques has at your disposal 84 spacious studios with complete kitchenette that make all the difference by combining the two sides of your life, work and family. Our services offered were made thinking of our clients' comfort - enjoy a relaxing sauna or the swimming pool on the terrace with a panoramic view over the city. You can also use our bar after a day's work. To organize meetings, we have available a conference room, situated on the top floor with natural light. With capacity for up to 50 persons. The Aparthotel VIP Executive Suites Marques is located in the city centre, less than 150 meters from Marques de Pombal Square and the famous Avenida da Liberdade, also has a prime location for easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your VIP Executive Suites Marques Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Executive Suites Marques Aparthotel Hotel Lisbon
Vip Executive Hotel Marques
Vip Executive Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIP Executive Suites Marques Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.