We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alif Avenidas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alif Avenidas to your Saves list
Hotel Alif Avenidas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Duque D'Avila 189, Lisbon 1050, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Dom Manuel I)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is exactly what I was looking for. First of all and most importantly for me was a quiet room. We faced the back so there was no traffic noise and were at the end of a corridor so there was no noise from people. Corridors are floored with carpet which helps too. We were in a twin room but the single beds were much larger than your average bed. Mattress was nice and cushioned, not soft, not hard - I got a great nights sleep. Everything in the room was top quality and in full working order. All staff were extremely nice, pleasant and went out of their way to make your stay welcoming.

The hotel is a little away from the main tourist attractions but that is partly why I booked it - for the quietness. There is a metro station (San Sebastiao)
across the road which is on 2 lines: one to the centre and one to the airport - transfer to the airport was quick. Tip - if you plan to use the metro more than once keep the small ticket you get on the first journey - it's rechargeable. If you are not keen on using the metro you can use the buses from Saldanha - 736 to the centre and 727 takes you to Belem. We got these free with the yellow bus ticket which was great in the evening when the yellow bus stopped running.

Breakfast was good for us and coffee was special.

Yes, there was no free internet but there are plenty of cafes in Lisbon that offer this free.

If I go to Lisbon again I would stay here. Thank you to the hotel and all staff for making our holiday great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    194
    31
    11
    7
See reviews for
40
194
32
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Good location (out from the noise of the city centre, but just in front of San Sebastián metro station: three stops to the heart of the city and direct line from/to the airport). Very modern and new hotel, professional and kind staff, always ready to help, rooms are well equipped and breakfast is amazing (rich and varied buffet, high quality at reasonable price: 7,50€ per pax). A bottle of water is offered upon arrival. Wifi works well. They provide you with a taxi in two minutes upon request (taxis are inexpensive in Lisbon compared to other European capitals, with just 5€ you can be dropped off to the city center). Nice restaurants nearby and a very good pasteleria just in front. The building respects a non smoking policy (you need to go outside to smoke). The bar in the lobby has a good selection of snacks and beverage but no alcohol is available. I definitely recommend it, to business travellers as well as to tourists.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
824 reviews 824 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
355 helpful votes 355 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

hotel alif avenidas., i got there on the red line from airport to sao sabastionos end of the line,get out of exit ave duque d vila hotel is opposite,the room was warm and the beds comfortable,tv small fridge aircon,bathroom good shower soaps shampoos,hairdryer, rooms cleaned every day,breakfast 7 50 euros good,or cafes across the rd or turn right 100 metres a little tree lined square cafe bar magnetic ,10 different teas,at night beers and cocktails good for a night cap open till 2am two blocks down old portuguesa restaurant bar grand ellas good food great fun with 5 old waitors, i went to the local museum set in lovely gardens well worth a visit, to get to town blue line same station to restoradores station 4 stops,near centre and bairro alto,trams and bus tours cafes bars museums,if you like shopping get the red line to oriente the shops above the station,at the back of the shopping centre the sea, cable car,walks with bars and cafes and oceanarium,the staff are helpful and ask for a map

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is easy to get to from the airport. It's close to the last stop on the red metro line, which is cheap, and the stations and carriages were clean. The hotel reception and adjacent bar area didn't have a lot of atmosphere, but were immaculately clean and tidy with some brochures, good maps and postcards. Check in was very efficient, but a little unfriendly. The room had everything I needed, including a fridge, a large bottle of water, a safe, good lighting and plenty of towels. There was a range of english TV channels, including National Geographic and Fox. On the second day I was given a small bowl of fruit, with one apple and some grapes. The wi-fi isn't free, and I had some trouble connecting. It was a bit slow to find the connection. I was able to use the Wi-fi while I sat in the Lobby and that was quick for just checking a few things. I paid 3 euros for 1 hour. There is free wi-fi in the foodcourt of the nearby El Corte Ingles department store. The password to access this is on a sign on the wall. There is also a postoffice on one of the lower floors of this store. The store is open late at night, and also open on Sunday. I was strangely overcharged for some stamps at the airport postoffice, and I asked about it at the El Corte Ingles postoffice and they have me some money back! The hotel was good value and I would stay there again. There are 2 other hotels on the same street which also looked good, plus some casual restaurants that I didn't try, but the prices looked good. I didn't try the hotel breakfast. I think it cost 7.50 Euros. The nearby Restaurants also served breakfasts. It's about 15 minutes walk to the San Lisboa hotel, which is a pick up point for a tour company called Inside Lisbon, who do tours to Sintra and Fatima in comfortable minivans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is incredibly clean and quiet. We did not really use the hotel other than as a place to rest etc so it was ideal for our needs although I think next time we would rather be closer to the city centre.

The small bakery opposite the hotel is superb for coffees, fresh juices and excellent pastries. The place next door should be avoided as the staff are rude and its much more expensive than the lovely wee authentic place opposite.

The rooms are spacious, bed is massive and the bathroom is very large and clean. It would benefit from tea and coffee making facilities but overall, its good value for money.

Overall I would recommend however next time we will be staying closer to the centre (cab ride from town is only 7 euros though)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel has it all - very helpful, polite staff; spacious, very clean rooms; department store, art gallery and major museum and library just around the corner; great inexpensive cafes next door and across the road; metro entrance across the road with lines direct to the airport and to the city centre; great bar - Magnetic - ~75 metres away.
Perfectly placed for a Lisbon city-break.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A friend and I recently returned from a 3 night visit to Lisbon and stayed at the Hotel Alif Avenidas. There are plus and minus points regarding this hotel. On the plus side it is opposite a metro entrance which is on the red line and therefore a direct, quick and easy journey to the airport (make sure you take the exit Av. Duque D'Avila which can be found by searching on the signs on the metro platform - not immediately obvious and are at one end of the platform and not the other) The hotel is also very convenient for the Gulbenkian Museum, the adjacent Modern Art Gallery and the lovely park in which these two are housed. The centre of Lisbon can easily be reached by the metro (about a ten minute journey). The hotel is spotlessly clean, has comfortable beds, a great shower, friendly staff and a wonderful breakfast. On the minus side we asked to change rooms because we had requested a nice view and were initially put at the back of the hotel where the view is non-existent apart from windows and building work. Once we had been moved to the front of the hotel we were much happier and the road wasn't noisy. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room so if you like to make a morning cuppa then take your own kettle. If you like a hotel where you can walk out of the front door and be surrounded by choices of restaurants and be in the centre of activity then this is not the one for you (although as previously mentioned these things can be found by a 10 minute metro journey) One last point is that the hotel does not sell alcohol. We had a nice stay and would possibly stay at this hotel again due to its proximity to the metro although I personally prefer to be a little more in the centre of things.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alif Avenidas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alif Avenidas

Address: Avenida Duque D'Avila 189, Lisbon 1050, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Dom Manuel I)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#47 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#50 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#64 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alif Avenidas 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alif Avenidas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Manuel i Lisbon
Dom Manuel i Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alif Avenidas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.