We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, very recomended Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Botanico Hotel

Save Saved
You added Botanico Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Botanico Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Mae de Agua, 16-20, Lisbon 1250, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great staff, very recomended Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We arrived by car and the staff was very helpful and received us with a drink of Port. They help us with the city map and to choise places to visit, the best Bus Tour opcion and even a good restaurant. The hotel is very close to the city center (and Barrio Alto) with nice view of the city. The breakfast was OK and the room too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    139
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
30
85
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel is well positioned for the centre of Lisbon and reasonably priced. It is not luxurious but has a good continental breakfast. The draw backs are accessability, it is up a steepish hill, and the lifts are tiny, just about get two people and limited luggage.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We arrived at 11:30pm at the hotel and find a parking spot blocked off for us. The street were narrow with lots of cars parked already but the hotel staff helped to navigate us in the parking space. He then even helped to unload and carry our luggage to the room.
Once inside we had lovely port to welcome us.
The room and bed are very comfortable and showers are working well.
The breakfast was really good with lot of choice and all very fresh

Room Tip: I would recommend one facing the street for the view. Be warned that they collect garbage every night, in the middle of the night and the street can get a little noisy since it seems people like to be out late. None of that was a major distraction for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We arrived by car, in our little red Fiat Panda rental. Management had blocked off a space in front of the hotel for our vehicle. The street was narrow and the parking tight, but it was a dead end street with no traffic flow.

The front desk offered us a drink of Port and snacks when we arrived. We were impressed with our accommodations. It was a disabled room (which we neither needed or asked for) but it was large and had windows on two sides which we much appreciated. The elevator was very small by North American standards but it was modern.

Since this was a disabled room the shower was in a very tall tub. We would have preferred a walk-in shower. And you must be very careful on marble floors. when they are wet. The room and a fridge and minibar and a flat screen TV. Channel selection wasn't great. The beds were firm and comfortable and we had a good sleep.

A short way down the winding street was the Avenida da Liberdade, lined with many hotels, shops, and restaurants just a short walk away.

So there wasn't much to dislike about this hotel and a lot to like.

Room Tip: I would recommend one facing the street for the view. Be warned that they collect garbage every nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

My family and I stayed here for a few nights while in Lisbon. We enjoyed the hotel. It was within walking distance to the city center. The view was spectacular from our room! The room was clean and comfortable. The staff at the front desk were helpful with directions. Understandably, some were more fluent in English than others, and some were more friendly. All in all, though, it was a nice place. The only complaint is that the bathroom floor became somewhat moist after taking a shower so I wore sandals...otherwise, everything else was fine...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel is small, but the rooms are large, very nice! The front desk employees are very frindly, they helped me with a smile everytime I asked. The location is also good, very close to the subway and street cars. The bathroom was also large and clean. Wi-fi connection worked perfectly! The breakfast was really good! I only have nice things to say about his hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The Hotel is only recomendable in the low season from november to february. The price in the high season is not acceptable.
Very helpfull staff , very clean everywhere and a respectable breakfast buffet.
During the night could be very noisy cause of the garbage collection; daily.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Botanico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanico Hotel

Address: Rua Mae de Agua, 16-20, Lisbon 1250, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanico Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Botanico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botanico Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botanico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.