We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nacional

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nacional to your Saves list
Hotel Nacional
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Castilho 34, Lisbon 1250, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Province of Bari, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good hotel - Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

+++++++++++++++++++ PRO
quality for value, clear, staff, good comfort for the price, next the metro Marque de Pombal (5 minute on foot), nearby there is a park

------------------------------ VERSUS
lifestyle around the hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    99
    65
    10
    2
See reviews for
41
78
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our criteria for hotels when traveling - walkable to the hot spots, safe, clean, wifi, and breakfast - oh yes, and inexpensive. This hotel hit all those points, and we'd definitely stay again.

All for 60 Euro... It's close to public transportation (we took the yellow Rato stop to and from the airport), but we preferred the easy and pleasant 15 minute walk down Avenida de Liberdade (tons of cafes on the way if you need a treat) to the main areas of Baixa, Chiado, Barrio Alto, etc. Breakfast was standard and filled you up (rolls, meat, cheeses, cereal, coffee, etc.), but if you prefer a cafe, there are a number of options within 2 blocks on the way to the city center. Yes, the decor is very 70s, a-la Austin Powers (though the curtains were somewhat cute in a retro way!), but clean and well maintained - hair dryer, but no iron FYI. Wifi was reliable, though we had a bit stronger signal in one of our rooms than the other. Staff was very accommodating, especially when we tacked a few days on the end of our stay.

All in all, great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel Nacional is an excellent basic hotel, if you aren't the most demanding off traveler. When we arrive at the hotel, the room is already available to us. We are escorted by a bellhop that shows us the way and carries our luggage for us.The hotel interior is somewhat dated, but the rooms are spacious and kept clean every day. The hotel staff is helpful and friendly, and will go out of their way to be of assistance with things. Breakfast is simple but good, and includes fresh fruit dairy products. And last but not least; it takes only five minutes to get to the nearest metro station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I couldn't imagine a more agreeable staying for a 3 stars' hotel! The staff was always kind and helpful (even spoke italian, a plus for many of my compatriots), perfect location just 5 minutes for the main street Avenida da Liberdade and from the Metro station at the Praça M. de Pombal, from where you can dive in the city Park Edward VII and the gorgeous Tropical Garden Estufa Fria.
Breakfast OK, our twin room very nice and clean, everything provided, from TV to wash basin...if I had to say only one negative point that's about the too frequent change of all the towels, even the untouched ones: every single day! It's not so an eco-friendly policy, but unfortunately I know many hotel managements prefer so...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Good location with walking distance to the city centre its taking around 15 min.Nice breakfast. Rooms are quiet and very clean. Very friendly staff. Nice shops around the hotel as well as daily market with antiques along the park . Easy access to the airport by metro and cheap 1.6 Euro per person - 15 min journey. Excellent for a city break or business trip.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel looks much better on the pictures then in reality. Our room was clean but looked like from early 70's. We had a room on the first floor and it was too close to outside AC units, therefore, it was too noisy at night. Breakfast was very simple (as I understand it is relatively the same in budget hotels of Lisbon). Location is not central but convenient. For us it was important that they have a free parking, but your should book the parking slot beforehand since parking space is limited.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

To be honest we booked this hotel only for their parking and it was not bad as the center was not too far away from here...a very basic hotel but thats what one should get specially with their parking facilities. You will have to hold shower in your hand as there is no hook for that.

Room Tip: There is only one view which is the street in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nacional

Address: Rua Castilho 34, Lisbon 1250, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nacional 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Nacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nacional Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nacional, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.