We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Ramalhete AL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palacio Ramalhete AL to your Saves list
Palacio Ramalhete AL
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Rua das Janelas Verdes 92, Lisbon 1200-692, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 150 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here recently with two of our teenage children and it was a perfect hotel for a short break. Very well located and easy to get to the main sights from, the staff were so helpful in advising where to go and where to eat. The hotel is beautifully stylish and the breakfasts were out of this world. We loved the pool to unwind in at the end of the day. We would definitely go back and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trina:

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel, and we are very happy that you and your family have enjoyed your short break in Lisboa.

We want to thank you also for recommend us to your friends, that sure we will host them in the future. Your comments about our building and breakfast are fantastic, and we really appreciate them.

With warmest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rafaela and the rest of our team in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    48
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
171
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I got married at the Palacio Ramalhete less than 2 weeks ago - and what an amazing day!! The Palacio Ramalhete hosted the full day of wedding celebrations, from the ceremony to the reception and finally all night dancing! From the first contact we had with the Palacio, and in particular Francisco the general manager, their whole attitude was to ensure we had the best, most relaxed and overall FUN wedding day we could want. Nothing has been too much to ask of them from helping us through the legalities of two Brits getting married in Portugal, to helping us choose wine for our guests, recommending absolutely the best band in Lisbon and even finding a fantastic hairdresser!
All the staff went out of their way to ensure the day was beautifully presented (of course the luxurious setting helps) but it was the energetic & positive intent from every single member of staff that really makes the Palacio stand out. Every member of their team was on duty that day from the housekeeping staff who helped to beautifully decorate the ceremony room, the reception staff with their constantly helpful attitude, the barman who entertained and befriended all our guests, to the wonderfully kind lady who covered the night shift - which meant she had to supply my parents and I with tea before 6am on the day of the wedding!
We cannot speak highly enough of the service we received, the accommodation is amazing, the food was fabulous and every guest has made a point of telling us how impressed they were with the staff. Thank you so much for working so very hard to make the day amazing.

Room Tip: Without doubt THE hotel to stay at when in Lisbon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Mrs. Marie-Claire:

After read your comments about our services, all words that I could write here as useless. Your recommendations and words have been the best one that we can receive for our work.

With my warmest regards I want to thank you also your kind words about me, since we did contact in May and I'm completely happy that all our arrangements have been perfect for your and your friends and family.

All of our best wishes for your new life and we would be delight to host again in the future.

Francisco Rodríguez, Francisco, Daniela and all of our team want to thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grobbendonk, Belgium
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very nice hotel - 10 rooms - great service - friendly & helpful.
Just between centre and Belem. Nearby a busstop that brings you easy to center of Belem.
Don't forget the antik museum just at the hotel !
We will recommend this hotel with pleasure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are very happy that your trip to Lisboa has been so pleasant and, we are happy too about your great experience with us.

We want to thank you for your recommendation to visit the Art Antique Museum, that is located just in front of our hotel, it is one of the best in town. And of course, we are delight that you are going to recommend us as the place to be in Lisboa. That is very important for us.

Kindest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rafaela and the rest of the team in Palácio Ramalhete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This restored house is absolutely gorgeous. The sitting rooms and bar are wonderful and furnished very tastefully. Staff are all so helpful and breakfast was the best on our trip. Sadly we didn't have great weather so couldn't take advantage of the pool and terrace areas.

Location is good but it is quite a walk into the centre. We varied it by walking or busing in and taxiing home.

We had one of the standard rooms on the attic floor. This was lovely but did suffer from an on-off strange smell of drains that wasn't coming from either the bathroom or street. To be fair we didn't mention this to reception so don't know what they would have done about it. In retrospect though I wish we had spent a bit more and gone for a higher rate room and enjoyed the same level of architecture as the entertaining rooms.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your time in write your review about our hotel, using the Trip Advisor App. As a Senior Contributor in Trip Advisor your experience is a great tip for us.

We are sorry to hear that you had that problem with a strange smell in your bathroom, but for us is very important to notice this at the moment. Maybe we couldn't do anything because it was not a problem in our hotel, but at least we had done our best to find a solution to give you a better stay even.

We hope to host again in the future and then you could stay in one of our Executive rooms or Suites, and feel one more time our arquitecture and charm.

Kindest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rafaela and the other members of the team in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have recently attended a wedding at Palacio Rahalhete and so have had the opportunity to take over the whole hotel, and see every room. They are all amazing!! Spacious, beautifully decorated, immaculate and amazingly attentive service.
Great dining, indoor or outdoor, private swimming pool and the most attentive and accommodating staff that I have ever encountered. I cannot recommend Palacio Ramalhete highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Jake:

I have been a real pleasure for all of us to host you and your brother and friends during the wedding that your family held in our Palacio Ramalhete last weekend.

All of you have been a wonderful guests and we have enjoyed very much be an important part of your celebrations, For us is a honor to be choose as the place to be, during that important day.

We wish you a nice trip back home to Australia, and sure we might see again in the future.

All the best!!

Francisco, Daniela, Rafaela and the other member of the team in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Ramalhete has the best of both worlds—you get the professionalism and services you might expect from a boutique hotel while getting charm and warmth you expect of a B&B. Breakfast was a daily delight and the cappuccinos well-made. Check in was quick, check out was fast and easy (even at 3:45am). The location was the best part, though. Just remember to get few day passes for the metro. It's much easier to hop public transportation.

We couldn't have found a better place to stay in Lisbon. The staff are relaxed, polite, fun and efficient. They gave us great restaurant / bar recommendations daily.

Absolutely top-notch for exploring Lisboa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Valerie:

Thank you very much for your lovely words about the charm of our small hotel, and that is the essence of our business, to be on the top of our guest's expectations.

On behalf of our staff I want to than you also your your kind words about your description about our know how in the service and way to work, that is the most value tips for us.

We hope that you have have a nice trip going back home, even waking up so early to drive to the airport, and we appreciate your recommendations to your friends and relatives.

Hoping to see you again in the future, with kindest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rafaela and the other members of our staff in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Palacio, everything was perfect. We stayed in the Dove Room. The room was very large, beautiful and bright, extremely clean, had great A/C, and the windows are very soundproof from the street below. The breakfast is an amazing spread of really good meats, cheeses, cereals, toast and jams, and they will make you eggs at request. It's set on a semi busy street during the day, but it gets very quiet at night. There are great restaurants walking distance from the Palacio. Some are Come Prima, Antiga Paderia, and our favorite Clube de Jornalistas. It also has a really nice little pool area that sets up high on the roof top, and was a perfect place for relaxing at the end of a long day of touring.
What really sets the Palacio apart from other places is not only the beautiful establishment, but the amazing staff that they have there. Everyone from Rafaela, to Daniella, to our new friend Lachlan, were so nice and over the top helpful on everything. Simply put, one of the best hotel staff we have had in our three weeks of travel! The staff that was chosen, is an incredible group of people and they really make your stay fun and make you feel at home. I would highly recommend the Palacio to anyone looking for that perfect place in Lisbon, and we will definitely come back here in the future!!! And thanks Palacio Ramalhete for making our stay perfect!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of Daniela, Rafaela and Lachlan I want to thank you for your wonderful words about our services and the way our staff has done it for you and your partner. Reviews as yours confirm us that our effort and way of service is the best path to get the most important for us: our guest's satisfaction!.
All your comments about our Executive room (Dove room), the quality and variety in our breakfast, and also that our recommendations for very nice restaurants will help other visitors to choose us and plan their trip lo Lisbon.
We hope that you have had a great flight back home, and we wish to see you again in Palácio Ramalhete!!

Kindest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rafaela and the other members of our staff in Palácio Ramalhete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacio Ramalhete AL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Ramalhete AL

Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 92, Lisbon 1200-692, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio Ramalhete AL 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Lisbon’s most stylish neighborhoods, Janelas Verdes, Palacio Ramalhete is a beautiful example of 18th century Portuguese architecture, where all original features have been preserved to maintain its timeless charm.Having undergone a caring and thorough renovation, our aim was to offer our guests a taste of the authentic Portugal, tradition combined with the comfort and modern luxuries to make your stay as pleasant as possible.Our 12 rooms and suites, each with their unique features and motifs, will captivate your imagination and take you on a journey of discovery, starting from the Palacio to the narrow and colorful streets of Lisbon.Through commitment to service, privacy and wellbeing, combined with the uniqueness of the surroundings, our staff will do everything for your stay to be an unforgettable one.Lounge by our pool, tan on our sundeck , have a drink in our bar, relax in our spacious 300m2 common areas or just enjoy the sanctuary of your over sized room, enter into the mood of the Palacio Ramalhete, where all your needs and wants will be catered for. An oasis of peace in the center of Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palacio Ramalhete AL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio Ramalhete AL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.