We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic experience of hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Ramalhete AL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palacio Ramalhete AL to your Saves list
Palacio Ramalhete AL
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Rua das Janelas Verdes 92, Lisbon 1200-692, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 150 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Santarem, Portugal
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An authentic experience of hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was really an unique experience. I just spent a night in the palace but it was enough to realize how the hotel is wonderful. Since the staff (Daniela and Rodrigo) always helpful to the excelent service.
Indeed, it can stand out the other hotels for its beauty and history. A palace of the 18th century which was be restaured and maintained its original features such as decorated tiles.
I stayed in the attic room, a lovely decoration and an amazing bathroom. Whereas each room has a particular style...Sure I'll go back to stay in another one!
You really have to try this hotel to know the true portuguese hospitality

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Lisa;

We are very happy that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us, and it was a shame that you only could stay one night, but sure you could find the moment to stay again for more nights and keep enjoy our atmosphere and service.

We hope to see you very soon again,

Your Team:

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the rest of staff in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    47
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
171
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My fiancee and I are getting married in Lisbon and wanted to find a venue for both the ceremony and for our families and friends to stay. You can appreciate how important this is to us. In May we visited a number of hotels and the Palacio Ramalhete was simply outstanding. Our positive experience started before we arrived because all the communication on email and on the phone was excellent - punctual, detailed, honest and done with a sense of humour - real customer service to a level that we didn't experience anywhere else in Lisbon or London. When we arrived in Lisbon, the hotel itself was simply beautiful and all of the staff were extremely welcoming. We were greeted with a drink and great courtesy. Our room was full of character, really big and comfortable with some lovely little details that really mark out hotels of quality. The bathroom was large with lovely toiletries and towels etc. Breakfast was also a very enjoyable experience as it's very relaxed but with fantastic local food - fresh fruits, cereals, great bread, cold meats, smoked salmon. The hotel really is beautiful with some wonderful rooms and lovely outside space (nice pool!!) but the stand out reason to stay here is the staff. They cannot do enough for you and I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Sam:

We have been in contact with you since April preparing all the arrangements for your wedding, and for us is a real pleasure to do it, because we know how important that day is for you, your fiancee, and also for your friends and relatives, perfectly.

These days that you have been among us let us to know more than you and our best wish is that special day will be also an outstanding experience in Lisboa and in Palacio Ramalhete. We wish you a nice holiday time during this summer and we are looking for to see again after the summer to host you and your family. We are doing our best to give the best service ever.

Kindest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the rest of staff in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Palacio Ramalhete is an amazing hotel. The room we stayed in was beautiful (The Oak Room); absolutely huge, fantastic large windows with great views, comfy sofas to relax on and a great bathroom. We arrived late at night as we had a late flight but Fransisco (the manager) had stayed to welcome us to the Palacio - I specifically want to thank Fransisco because while we were there he did everything in his power to ensure our stay was a totally enjoyable experience.
The food at the hotel is simply delicious, the breakfast of salmon, caviar, cheeses, cold meats, fruits and much more is a fantastic start to any day before exploring Lisbon!
Finally I just want to mention the staff, we met 5 different staff members and all were so helpful, friendly and professional. They delivered a 5star level of service. A stay at the Palacio will not fail to impress.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest:

You don't know how happy we are after we have read your review about our hotel. Indeed, the Old Oak room, one of our suites, is one the most beautiful in the hotel. mainly for its decoration and its bathroom.
We are very happy also that you have enjoyed our breakfast and the rest of facilities that we have.

For us has been a pleasure to host you and we wish to see you again in a future!!

With all our best regards

Francisco Daniela, Rodrigo and the rest of staff in Palácio Ramalhete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

First of all the hotel is beautiful, we loved the old tiles and decoration. All the staff were very polite, helpful and discreet. The room n°6 that we stayed in was nice because it has a small hall/living room that separates the main door from the room itself and therefore makes the room very quiet. The pool area is very pleasant...The only real small disappointment was the breakfast which we found was sparse in choice and didnt look too appealing in freshness maybe because the temparture in the room was a little high , but honestly it it didnt really matter as all the rest was great, i can only recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Mrs. Diana:

Thank you vey much for your words about how beautiful is our hotel for you, and also for the good description that you did about our standard room Os Maias.
As you have said, maybe the temperature in the breakfast lounge is a bit high (we are now in a hot summertime), but we can assure you that all products that we serve in our breakfast are fresh and with a very good quality, although you opinion helps us to be more carefully in order to satisfy all of our guests.

We hope to see you again in Palácio Ramalhete, and give you a better impression during your journey.

Kindest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other staff working for you in Palácio Ramalhete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this property during the Rotary International convention. Awesome staff. Thank you Francisco, Hanna, Daniella and Doris for making our stay memorable. Our room was 11.
Very relaxing quarters. Two suggestions. One when curtains are open you can see into the room from the common patio. So some sort of privacy blind would be nice. Two, the handle to adjust the shower temperature and water volume is a little tricky. Hard to get it right other than standing in cold or hot water while making adjustments.

Grounds were beautiful and well groomed. Breakfast included with room really good. Staff bent over backwards to get us reservations for dinner and activities.

Room Tip: Choose room eleven if available. Right outside of the patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Scott:

Thank you for your review about your stay in our hotel during this June. And thank you very much for your recommendation about the handle of the shower. Also we are going to consider your recommendation to give more privacy in our suite Old Kitchen and we try to find a way to cover the windows keeping the view and the privacy.

We have been delight to host you during this week and we hope to see again in the future. And, of course we will keep our suite Old Kitchen for you again.

Kindest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the rest of staff in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were unfortunately only for one night at the Hotel for a night out surprise to my girlfriend after a friend tip. It surprisingly revealed the most authentic Portuguese hospitality experience in Lisbon. At a XVIII Century Portuguese manor house with a very well made renovation keeping the old floors, tiles and plaster ceilings we could breed tranquility and good taste. The Room we stayed in had a small firplace and was towards the pateos with beautiful flowers and the pool! The stairs and ranging doors (typical of old houses) were singing to us like an old tree with a breeze.

The Breakfast was well served with a good choice of Cheeses, Fruits and Eggs made on request. The Portuguese Tapas board and the Duas Quintas Reserva wine we had on the afternoon of our arrival were divine. Finally the service made up by a young spirited team that does its best. A great tip for our dinner at the gastronomic Alma Restaurant just 10 minute walking distance. A big thank you to all of them! Rodrigo thanks for parking our car

Room Tip: Lower floor for those that prefer to avoid staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Franco:

Thank you very much for your words about our service and facilities. it was a pity that you could only stay one night and we hope to see again in a near future and stay more nights, where you can enjoy much better our house and service.

Looking forward to see you again in our hotel!

Kindest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the rest of staff in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFM
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed five nights at this really very nice hotel and enjoyed every minute that be have been in this historical and charming building and beautiful gallery style patio with pool. The extremely friendly and kind service people made us always feel completely comfortable, cared for us and helped us as much as one can do. We thank them very much and definitely want to come back to this wonderful place to be!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete AL, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Mrs. Silke:

Thank you very much for your time in write your first review in Trip Advisor, and we are very happy to be the first hotel where you have written your comments. Our staff is always doing their best to care about our guests, and that is our main goal. Your review is a wonderful reward for our work.

We will be delight to host you again in your next visit to Lisboa, and we hope that you can stay more days in your next trip.

Kindest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the rest of the staff in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacio Ramalhete AL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Ramalhete AL

Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 92, Lisbon 1200-692, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio Ramalhete AL 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Lisbon’s most stylish neighborhoods, Janelas Verdes, Palacio Ramalhete is a beautiful example of 18th century Portuguese architecture, where all original features have been preserved to maintain its timeless charm.Having undergone a caring and thorough renovation, our aim was to offer our guests a taste of the authentic Portugal, tradition combined with the comfort and modern luxuries to make your stay as pleasant as possible.Our 12 rooms and suites, each with their unique features and motifs, will captivate your imagination and take you on a journey of discovery, starting from the Palacio to the narrow and colorful streets of Lisbon.Through commitment to service, privacy and wellbeing, combined with the uniqueness of the surroundings, our staff will do everything for your stay to be an unforgettable one.Lounge by our pool, tan on our sundeck , have a drink in our bar, relax in our spacious 300m2 common areas or just enjoy the sanctuary of your over sized room, enter into the mood of the Palacio Ramalhete, where all your needs and wants will be catered for. An oasis of peace in the center of Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palacio Ramalhete AL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio Ramalhete AL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.