We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Lisbon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Lisbon to your Saves list
InterContinental Lisbon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Castilho, 149, Lisbon 1099-034, Portugal (Formerly Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The location is quite possibly the best location in town - a walking distance to the starting point of many tours and the loveliest part of town (marques pombal). The fact that the hotel was so reasonably priced was baffling, the service was exquisite, the rooms very spacious, clean and had all the amenities of a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    451
    73
    29
    17
See reviews for
215
712
69
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Pre paid for our ten day/nine nights, business/vacaion stay in Lisbon. Checking in asked if our room would be high floor, nice view? No! But for a 30E upgrade (old story) we would get a better room, nice view, Hermes toiletries, robes and slippers, coffee and bottled water.

What we got:
A very clean (keeping in mind this is a complete oxymoron in terms of hotel rooms)14th floor room, with a sweeping city view, the Rio Tejo and beyond, fabulous! An expresso machine that brews great coffee, a king size bed with beautiful contrasting decorative pillows, a desk and chair, a posh club chair with ottoman and side table, very tasteful modern appointments and details throughout the room, a spacious bathroom, large very plush towels, a combo hand held/over the head rain shower within a half glass door enclosure, unremarkable Hermes toiletries, one robe, one pair of slippers, one 0.50 cl bottle of still mineral water and one 0.25 cl bottle of sparkling water.

Called front desk and asked for an additional robe and pair of slippers, mouth wash and more water. Got the robe, slippers and mouth wash. As a matter of fact, we currently have three of each, along with seven, yes, seven sets of Hermes shower jel, hair conditioner and shampoo bottles sitting on our bathroom counter. The water is a totally different matter and the sole basis for my rating of this establishment.

The person at the front desk informed us that our upgrade was limited to the one 0.50 cl bottle of still water and one 0.25 cl bottle of sparkling water, no exceptions! ????? 5 stars? Come on! A verbal ping pong ensued up to the point of requesting to speak to the hotel manager, who was unavailable. To deal with this kind of complaint, I suppose. Eventually, we had a call back from the front desk informing that someone would be coming to our room to speak with us directly. It was the Executive Housekeeper accompanied by another housekeeper. Together they were carrying a single bottle of each of the waters requested, informing us that an exception had been made by management allowing us to receive the additional waters every day for the rest of our stay! We were rendered speechless by the tactful handling and overwhelming generosity accompanying our unreasonable request. Might I add that one can purchase a 0.50 cl bottle of the same brand of water for 0.65E at the convenience store around the corner from the hotel. We have been paying 0.95 - 1.00E for the same quantity of bottled water at most Lisbon restaurants.

Regrettably, one night we were too tired to go out for dinner and chose the hotel's restaurant. Made the same mistake for breakfast.

The hotel's staff is attentive, courteous and friendly. None of the three concierges I have dealt with seems to have a clear understanding of what a concierge is supposed to do or proper trainig for the job.

I don't get it. Why is this a five star hotel?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

After reading up on this hotel on trip advisor took the advice and when we checked in requested room even # facing park and water also high floor. We had to pay 30E each night extra but it was worth it. Service from check in to check out ,room make up, linens towels pillows very nice .We thought breakfast buffet was very good a lot of variety and service was good . Dinner in the Bar had a special 16.50 for soup, entrée and glass of wine It was also very good and the bartender was very cheerful spoke English very well and made it an enjoyable time esp since we were jet lagged and did not want to go out to eat . .did not have time to walk in park but tour drop us off in town and we ate at Hard Rock (needed to get t-shirt) taxi ride back was 5euro-too long a walk back and price not bad-on the whole if we ever went back would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: stay at even room overlooking park and water even if you have to pay more! dinner in bar is very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel was ok to stay at but rooms are getting older already and pretty dark inside the hotel, location i did not like took long to come in nice part of the city. You need a taxi and can not walk so location was ok. Would more say 4 star hotel what can be renovated then 5 star. Breakfast was ok Iit is ok if you just come and not spent time in the hotel otherwise must be nicer options in Porto. Was here for conference was under impression think service was as well quiet slow.

Room Tip: Higher room i had suite was quiet big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham AL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Loved this hotel Pros: Rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. Be sure and take advantage of the free pillow menu. Linens and towels were luxurious. Both restaurants in the hotel were excellent and the service was friendly. Everyone we came in contact with spoke English. While the location is in the heart of the business district, you will have to walk or take a cab if you want to enjoy other restaurants. Note: Lisbon is beautiful and very hilly. You will get a workout if you like to walk. Also, fastest elevators I have ever encountered in a hotel. Very short wait times.

Cons: Only one and it is MINOR. Be prepared if you use the hair dryer provided. It is very heavy and has a dead man switch. If it takes a long time to dry your hair, you will get a workout there as well!

Room Tip: Even number rooms have a better view of the city. Ask for one that has a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Spent a weekend here at the end of May. This is a lovely hotel and we had a room on the 17th floor which had fantastic views looking out across Lisbon to the river and Atlantic. The rooms are lovely and have every comfort. Although the hotel is big it has a personal touch. it was my husbands 65th birthday. We didn't announce it but a very nice lady commented when we checked in. On our last evening they delivered to our room champagne and a chocolate cake. Many thanks to the hotel for their kindness. it is also convenient to get down town. A short walk through Parc Edward to the metro or go down to Parc de Pombal. We would definitely recommend this hotel and go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Following our AMAWaterways Douro River cruise we spent three nights at this property. This hotel is exceptional in all ways. Check in a breeze with a river view room on the 8th floor. Lobby is very nice with abundant comfy seating. There is a bar located off the lobby which also has a light dinner menu. The breakfast restaurant was also off the lobby. With many trips to Europe, I don't believe I have every had as nice a breakfast as this hotel provided. Choices were unlimited, lots of fresh fruit and, of course, the wonderful Portuguese rolls.

Our room was most spacious and very nicely appointed with a king bed, TV in an armoire, writing desk and easy chair with ottoman. Size was not typical of most European rooms. There is a minibar I would warn people of as the pricing is exorbitant. There is a complimentary coffee maker in the room with several selections including tea. The bath very well done with good tub/shower and roomy double sinks and storage.

The Concierge was gracious, friendly and most helpful with restaurant recommendations within walking distance. Great little gift shop off the lobby that "got me" the last evening. The hotel is located right across the street from Edward VII Park and quiet. A non smoking property and appeared to be used by some airline personnel. We had absolutely no complaints and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lisbon

Address: Rua Castilho, 149, Lisbon 1099-034, Portugal (Formerly Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#22 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Portuguese capital, the Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa celebrates the life and history of Lisbon. Located just 7 km from the country’s main international airport, the hotel offers a range of unique experiences inspired by a totally new style of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Lisbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.