We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Lisbon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Lisbon to your Saves list
InterContinental Lisbon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Castilho, 149, Lisbon 1099-034, Portugal (Formerly Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Longmont, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really liked this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our room was on the 17th floor overlooking the park and very quiet. The bed was so comfortable that I had trouble leaving it in the morning. Breakfast was worth getting out bed for - a variety of fresh fruit, cheese & meat, pastries, cereal, juices, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, etc. After one day of sightseeing we were too tired to go out or go to the main dining room so we had a light supper in the bar area. Nice to have this option. The rest of our dinners were at local restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel service was 5 star. This hotel is within walking distance of a wonderful museum - the Gulbenkian Museum. Take a taxi home because it is all uphill. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    495
    84
    34
    20
See reviews for
237
805
79
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I originally planned to be in Lisbon for only one night, and the search was on for just the right hotel. I had to be sure I would feel safe alone, and it had easy access to the airport and downtown, Baixa, area. I wanted somewhere luxurious, yet affordable, and this looked like just the place!

I LOVED my room! The room was warm and cozy, but not small by any means. The view, well it was so extraordinary that I really didn't want to leave the room! I was on the top floor and the view went over the city to the river, with even a bit of the 25th of April bridge in view. It was beautiful at sunset, at night and at sunrise. Gorgeous view and I did find I had a hard time sleeping because I didn't want to miss a minute of the view!

I felt like a sandwich when I did wake up, and since I don't adapt easily to the time changes. There wasn't any problem getting a club sandwich delivered in the morning by room service and I really appeciated that. It was delicious and just what I needed to start my day.

The service from the time the taxi dropped me off was excellent. I'd called ahead of time, nervous about making the trip from the airport alone and the very kind concierge told me how much to expect the fare to be, from 10 - 15 euros and said if it was any more, to go inside and get one of them to help me. I really appreciated that. The fare was 16 euros, which made sense because I did arrive in afternoon traffic. I appreciated the time the staff took with me, I had some special requests and everyone, including the manager Raquel, was very kind and helpful. I appreciated that so much, when traveling alone it is hard sometimes when you don't speak the language and that wasn't a problem there. Everytime I got a taxi, the kind bellman made sure the driver knew where I was going in Portuguese. I did end up with most drivers who did speak some English, but that wasn't always true on previous visits, so it helped me to have that kindness.

I decided to stay longer in Lisbon and this hotel was booked on the additional days, so I had the opportunity to stay in another hotel too, but it was very hard to give up that fabulous view when it was time to leave!

This is a great hotel, with a great staff and great views, so I do highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for two nights prior to boarding a Wind Star cruise. Hotel is upscale in design and service. It deserves a five star rating. Very lush linens and bath amenities. The only draw back for us was that there was no outdoor area to sit and enjoy the view of the city. It is located on a hill so the walk back could be difficult after a long day of sightseeing. Skip the restaurant for breakfast, visit local cafes instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the park or river...it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a visit to Lisbon and wasn't disappointed. The hotel is very nice, rooms good and the staff very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast was a big disappointment though, very little choice and everything cold.
The location of the hotel is quiet but close enough to the main attractions and night life areas, but not too close. We chose to walk most places but taxis are very cheap and the metro is very close by so very easy to get around.
The concierge was very helpful with recommending where to go and we were able to purchase tickets to the Aquariam (would recommend) at the hotel which if you are going I would recommend you doing as the queues can be quite long.
Really enjoyed our stay here and really liked Lisbon

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is great and deserves a 5 star rating. Especially the beds are very comfortable and very spacious. The check in desk could be better located as you really have to look for it. Also this 5 star hotel should get a swimming pool as summers in Portugal can be quite warm. The breakfast is really amazing and you have a lot of choice. The location of the hotel is quite okay, a cab will take you to the main streets in about 3 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Previously a regular visitor to this hotel for business travel and was more than happy to recommend it. Stayed in September for a personal leisure trip.

Normally I chose to stay at Lisbon city centre (near Roisso) for leisure but based on the pleasant experience I had during my business trip I decided to give Tiara a try. It turned out to be a fantastic choice.

I am a light sleeper and the problem with city centre hotel is the traffic noise. Tiara hotel is extremely quiet, yet it is only about 5-10 minute walk into the shopping and dining area. The walk itself was very pleasant and not a hard work at all. The rooms are well equipped, with probably the best view of Lisbon from your window. The rooms are bright and airy, which is what you need in a city full of sunshine.

Service in the hotel has been consistently good. I was especially impressed with the breakfast. Tania was the waitress serving our table and she was very friendly and caring. This is also the case to all the breakfast staff in the restaurant. What a way to start your day with good choice of food and a smile! I also had a lunch at the hotel restaurant with friends and everyone was very happy with the food and service. I read some previous comment on the high price of breakfast. In fact during my trips in Portugal I feel it’s good value for money – a lot of bread, cooked food, cold food, various juice (love the watermelon juice) and fresh juices, sparkling wine. It’s lavish!

I have no hesitation recommending this hotel for both business and leisure purpose. This is the place that you feel comfortable and keep coming back.

Room Tip: Get an executive room with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and were delighted. Our room was clean, classy, and spacious. The staff were also helpful and knowledgeable. They also have a business center with free internet access (my husband and I traveled stayed at two other hotels in Portugal as we were traveling cross-country and in London) and all our other hotels charged for usage. The hotel is situated a bit on a hill and unless walking was difficult for someone, we didn't mind it at all because you walk down a main road which is quite pretty and has lots of shopping. It was about 10 min. to the old town. Taxis to just about anywhere from the hotel were 5 euros. The only downside to the hotel was the cost of the breakfast (10 euros for sliced meat, breads and jams) and increasingly more for other items. Besides that, we loved it and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lisbon

Address: Rua Castilho, 149, Lisbon 1099-034, Portugal (Formerly Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#28 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Eduardo VII Park, Marques de Pombal Square and the luxurious Avenida da Liberdade, InterContinental Lisbon sits at the heart of Lisbon society. With discreet refinement, contemporary design and expansive views of the Tagus river, this stylish new addition is the ultimate choice for experiencing Lisbon. Experience Portuguese heritage from the cosmopolitan flavours at L'Appart restaurant to the exemplary service of our concierge team, who will help you bring insider Lisbon to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Lisbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.