We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Oriente Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tivoli Oriente Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Joao II - Parcela 1.14 Lote 3 | Parque Das Nacoes s/n, Lisbon 1990-083, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Basic business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is OK. Service seems to be good. The decor is nice, but already a bit outdated. I was upgraded to a superior room from the 13th floor and the view is the best part. I should be a double, but the bed is only 110-120 cm wide.

Breakfast was good.
You get a free Wifi if you join their loyality program.

Room Tip: Easy access from the airport: Just take the metro (pink line) and get of on Oriente. Hotel is outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    189
    68
    17
    5
See reviews for
80
71
25
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at the Tivoli Oriente for 5 days of which 3 were a business course. And that course proved to be the difference in a rating between 4 and 5 stars. Just the stay was very comfortable. A superior room offered a lot of value for money. For a mere 145 euro I got a great view over the bay and the Parque de Nacoes, a clean recently decorated room, a friendly and helpful staff and a very nice breakfast buffet. Also the location of Tivoli Oriente is perfect. Close to all public transport (train, metro and even the airport), a big shopping mall, plenty of entertainment and all the amenities of Parque de Nacoes. Metro took about 20 min. to reach downtown. So what took the cream out of my donut? Definitally not the amazing lunch we enjoyed with our class, but the room where we followed the course proved, made me long to be outside in the sun on a terrace somewhere. I think the room lacked a decent airco, which made it very hard to concentrate and you could also hear the rooms next door quite loudly.
So just visiting this hotel would have been just fine, but if you are thinking about hiring a meeting room there, you might wanna check it out first, before you book it. Enjoy your stay at Tivoli Oriente and don't forget, order your room with a view of the bay (a trainstation is not nearly that much fun)

Room Tip: Internet in the rooms is 15 euro per 24h, but in the lobby and parts of the first floor(classrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is a modern well decorated hotel located about 10 minutes drive from Lisbon Airport and the taxi costs about 8 Euros. The rooms are on the small side but adequate. The bed and pillows are good and reasonably firm affording a good nights sleep. Although I did not eat in the restaurant it looked very good. The television in the room had BBC and CNN as well as the local programes and other internation channels. I was not too happy to find I had to pay for coffee and tea in the room since that is normally free in other hotels. It is also necessary to pay for WIFI in the room however at Reception they have 3 free computers and a printer so that is useful. I did not have time to walk around but it appeared there was nothing much to do nearby. Reception were very efficient and organised a taxi to the airport within a few minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Business traveler stayed two nights in September, 2012. My meetings were near the airport, so this hotel was perfectly located for me.

LOCATION:
Five minutes walk from the hotel to the Metro stop located in the lower level of the Oriente Train Station (red line). Easy to use fare card kiosks, with English instructions available, (or on-site attendants, but there may be a line). 24 hr metro ticket was only 5.50 euros. 10 minute metro ride to the airport stop (final station on north end of red line).

Right across the street from Vasco da Gama shopping mall (which also contains a grocery store on the lower level and a very nice food-court on upper levels.) I recommend the grilled steak, fried egg and french fries plate from LaParilla in the food court. Why go for fast food when you can get a great steak and sides for only 5.50 euros?

There is also a dry cleaner shop in the mall, so if you need some clothing cleaned or pressed, I would recommend taking to them if you want to save a few euros over what the hotel charges for laundry services. Some articles of clothing they can return within an hour. Note: the hotel does not have an iron or ironing board in the rooms, nor do they have any to loan-out during your stay.

ROOM and AMENITIES:
Stayed in room 622, which faced the Vasco da Gama mall and Tagus river a couple of blocks away. No noticeable street noise or train noise. Room was a good size; bed was a bit firm, but overall comfortable. Flat screen TV had probably 3-4 English speaking channels. Would have been nice to have free wifi in the room, but it is fee-based (unless you use the computers in the lobby). A/C worked just fine, which was especially nice as it was a bit hot outside during my stay.

Bathroom was spacious; large tub with good shower/water pressure. Occasionally had to re-adjust the water temp as it tends to get hotter. Large, soft towels.

Free breakfast each morning, based on what type of rate you pay. Plenty of selection and quite tasty, even for an American's palate.

Lobby and restaurant staff all spoke English, which was a plus for me since I only know a handful of Portuguese words.

If I ever find myself in Lisbon again, for business or pleasure, the Tivoli Oriente will definitely top my hotel list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ederveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel is situated in the Expo Parquet area and is compared to the rest of Lisbon very modern.

The hotel is also modern and offers a very nice view over the water when on the right side. Rooms are clean, modern and kept up well. Only letdown is the price for wireless internet, which at €15/24hrs is pretty costly. I think hotel offers valu for money tho.

Breakfast is good, what you would expect in such an hotel.

Staff is very professional and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This is a good hotel, well placed both for business or pleasure trips. The rooms are nice but not very quiet because of the proximity to the railway station Gare do Oriente. The front rooms are probably better, having nicer views and less noise. Anyway, I would recommend it for a not too costly option to stay in Lisbon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A 2 week business trip & the hotel booked by the company I was visiting sounded promising. On arrival the building gives the impression of a 4 star hotel, fortunately it is ! The reception is functional with free iced tea. English is spoken by all reception staff so that is good. The 2 restaurant/bars are very pleasant & the food is a good standard. Room service was fine & the rooms were clean & spacious. Wireless internet is available at a price (unfortunately it went off for the last 3 days of my trip) but there is free internet access in the lobby. The staff were very helpful & the laundry service was excellent. The hotel is located at the site of EXPO98 & has all the amenities you need - 5 min taxi ride to the airport, 2 min walk to the main railway/metro station, 2 min walk to the large shopping centre & a 15 min, 9 euro taxi ride to downtown Lisbon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tivoli Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Oriente Hotel

Address: Avenida da Joao II - Parcela 1.14 Lote 3 | Parque Das Nacoes s/n, Lisbon 1990-083, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#71 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Oriente Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning view out over the river and Parque das Nações, this 4 star hotel reflects the energy, art and friendliness of Lisbon today. Excellent for business meetings or weekend breaks, this hotel can be easily reached from any part of the city or further away by using the Gare do Oriente train station, and it is 5 minutes from Lisbon airport. Enjoy the indoor swimming pool, the bar and the panoramic restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tivoli Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Oriente Lisbon
Hotel Tivoli Oriente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Oriente Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.