We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy Caffe Ristorante, Saldanha, Lisbon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Italy Caffe Ristorante

Italy Caffe Ristorante
Av. Duque de Avila 26, Lisbon 1000, Portugal
+351 210 935 161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #336 of 2,352 Restaurants in Lisbon
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Italy Caffe Ristorante, Saldanha, Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

One of the best Italian meals we've eaten. Staff are brilliant, attentive, super efficient and enthusiastic. The food was a delight. Fried calamari and zucchini, and pasta finished off in a huge wheel of pecorino cheese, in front of us - delicious!! We ended up eating there 7 out of the 8 nights we stayed nearby. The complimentary Limoncello was unexpected and a lovely touch. Can whole heartedly recommend this restaurant to all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    46
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Went out for portuguese and ended up for italian.Very friendly staff,even when they got one of our mains wrong they made up for it.Good quality and the atmosphere is great.We would definitely visit again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,022 reviews 1,022 reviews
745 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
552 helpful votes 552 helpful votes
“Italian Lisbon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We wouldn't normally do this but it was tempting to eat from a none native cuisine and we were very pleased. Outside seating, a big pen kitchen and pizzas just lika mama make. As always nice smiley friendly Portugese staff its in their blood and Oh the gnocchi mmmmmmmmm

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprised to find decent Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I were in the mood for Italian food and after searching Tripadvisor decided on Caffe Italy. It was a great choice. Not very crowded but it was Tuesday.
We both had pasta.. it was absolutely delicious. we had the house wine which was inexpensive but very good. Most wines in Portugal were very good. the service was very good but encounter a waiter whose English was not very good but he did his best to make sure we enjoy our dinner. worth a stop if you're in the mood for Italian in Lisbon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Extensive menu with nice decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The outside tables on the pedestrian-only thoroughfare beckoned us, and upon entering we discovered a large restaurant that had an open kitchen at the end. The decor is modern and the tables were covered with crisp, small checkered red and white tablecloths. The staff looked smart and professional in their white shirts and black waistcoats and trousers. However, the greeting we received was casual and not entirely welcoming by the young server, but in all fairness it was fairly early in the evening and maybe they were not fully prepared at that time. The following service we received was quite attentive.

I found the background contemporary music a little out of place with the formal appearance of the staff, and perhaps a more traditional Italian repertoire, or a least a mixture, would have been more à propos, but that's a minor detail.

The menu is varied and while my partner had the spaghetti bolognese, I had the macaroni preto verde. Within minutes of ordering the food it arrived, and although not plentiful it was very satisfying and tasted great.

Our meal consisted of the pasta dishes, a shared green salad, half-bottle of wine, and a shared dessert of profiteroles for a total of 33 euros. It is a restaurant we would eat at again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italy Caffe Ristorante also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Italy Caffe Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italy Caffe Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.