We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I was looking for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neya Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Neya Lisboa Hotel to your Saves list
Neya Lisboa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dona Estefania, 71 - 77, Lisbon 1150-132, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything I was looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Having spent the last year or so learning Portuguese, I decided to spend a few nights in Lisbon to get to grips with the city and all the culture it has to offer. Despite spending most of the days out and about in the city and hitting the 'tourist hotspots', it was very comforting knowing I would be coming back to a clean and cosy hotel. The staff were very helpful in answering questions and giving local tips of the city, and always had a smile!

The only downside would be the distance from the heart of the town, and Lisbon is a very hilly city! It lies between metro stops, so expect a 10-15 minute to the nearest, or alternatively there is a bus route which stops slightly closer. On a brighter note this gave a chance to see a part of the city I otherwise may have overlooked, as well as some welcome stops in a few very nice cafes/ "pastelarias".

All in all, a delightful stay in a clean and comfortable hotel which fitted the bill perfectly for me- just bear in mind it is a little out of the main hub of the city

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorite, Gerente at Neya Lisboa Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Edward,

thank you very much for your nice words, it is very good for us to know that you had a good time with us.

Thank you once again and see you soon in Neya Lisboa Hotel!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    253
    45
    13
    1
See reviews for
71
260
45
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel was well-placed for our trip as the Metro is only a few minutes' walk away but it was quiet enough that nightlife didn't impinge on our rest. The breakfast was very good, and the bed was comfortable. I also thought the bathroom was very smart! I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay here again if ever I came back to Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorite, Gerente at Neya Lisboa Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your kind review, we are very glad to know that you spent a good time with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you want to come back, we really want to welcome you with our repeater customers attentions.

See you soon in Neya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I work 5 days a week on average in Lisbon, commuting from the UK, I'm a professional working at Lisbon Airport, I have been staying at the Neya every week since December 2012, I find the Hotel perfect for me, it's a walk to the main tourist locations in Lisbon and very close to the excellent Metro service. The Hotel it's Facilities, cleanliness and friendliness are exceptional. I cannot recommend it highly enough, The only down side is the lack of a swimming pool, but this is a minor criticism although there is a jacuzzi . The fact that I've been here for 9 months and will continue to stay here for the foreseeable future should indicate the regard to which I hold this Hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the Rua Doña Estefania for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorite, Proprietário at Neya Lisboa Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your review and of course for your fidelity. It is a pleasure for us to receive you week by week.

We hope to keep you among us for a long, long time.

See you in a few days!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a nicely designed medium-sized hotel in a primarily residential area of Lisbon - just at the edge of the city centre. I stayed here for a week while attending a conference at the Instituto Superior Technico, which is just up the road.

Design: Dark colours, sophisticated looking, contemporary lines. Very pleasing all round.

Rooms: Great size for one person, large comfortable bed and a selection of pillows. Despite being arranged in clusters, my room on the 6th floor facing the back of hotel was very quiet, and I was even right beside the elevator. Each room has individual air con. Could only open the window (door style) a couple of inches, which was a disappointment, because I would have preferred to sleep without aircon, but that wasn't an option because of the window. Great drawers and hangers and a safe and mini-bar. Bathroom has a fantastic shower with spouts for all options (nice if you don't want to wash your hair). Basic but not fancy shampoo, liquid soap, shower cap etc. Very nicely presented all round and comfortable, and they are attentive to eco concerns.

Breakfast: Gets you through the day but nothing fantastic. There are cereals, bowls of chopped fruit, yogurt, and mini pastries. Hot selection had three chaffing dishes: slightly wet scrambled eggs, kinda greasy diced sausage and a veg - fried mushrooms or zucchini/courgette. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate out of a self-serve machine. After trying the pastries and hot stuff I just stuck with the bran flakes, fruit and yogurt. While I'm a healthy eater, I do enjoy indulging in a fuller breakfast when at a hotel, but it just wasn't that appetizing.

Service: I keep reading about the amazing service, but I didn't really ask for anything so I'm not sure what other reviewers are talking about. I did ask for half-an-hour late checkout and was granted it, but only after being told it really might not be possible. Staff pretty much kept to themselves and talked to each other. Inconspicuous and respectful rather than outgoing. But this was good for me.

The WIFI was sketchy the entire time - logged on fine for one day, on and off the next, nothing for the following two days, etc. Didn't complain because I've seen this type of thing too often - they're not equipped for a full load of connections.

Location-wise at first the surrounding streets felt a bit quiet or run down, but once I settled in the area felt very safe. Picoas metro station (yellow line) and Anjos (green) are under 10 minutes' walk away, various buses nearby. Well located if you prefer to be in a less pricey area that is not in the thick of things.

For all the little things I've pointed out, I'd still go back because everything felt fresh, comfortable, clean, and easy about this place, and it was good value.

Tip: if you walk 10-15 minutes towards Intendende metro station (one below Anjos on the green line), you can catch the famous tram 28 uphill to Castelo on Rua Maria Andrade, just up from the intersection at Av. Almirante Reis. Google this and you'll see roughly where the stop is: Multimac-máquinas E Equipamentos De Escritório Sa

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorite, Gerente at Neya Lisboa Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Madamme,

thank you very much for your review, it is very important for us to know about our customer´s opinion as we only want to keep improving day by day.

Thank you once again and see you soon in Neya Hotel!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night on the 26th August and another night on the 1st September. We didn't spend much time at the hotel so can't comment on a lot of the facilities. But the rooms were quiet, clean and suited our needs. There are metro stations nearby (about a 10 minute walk to Saldhana and Anjos).

The breakfast was nice and plenty of choice. We had dinner on one night that we were there and this was only OK but we were hungry and tired so it suited our needs.

The only criticism I have is the service in the bar was very very slow - I cannot fault the hotel staff as it seemed to be the same waiter in the bar and restaurant which happened to be busy on the night we arrived. There was another staff member who did not seem familiar with the bar so he couldn't help us. Also - it would be helpful if there was a treatment list for the spa as well as a treatment price list. In our room I finally found a treatment list but the prices were missing from this. As we were short on time, it would have been nice to know the prices/treatments before our arrival. I did check the website, but this appeared to be missing or not easily found. People would be more inclined to book treatments (well I know I would) if they are aware of prices and options beforehand.

For the price you can't really go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorite, Gerente at Neya Lisboa Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your review, it is very important for us to know about our customer´s opinion as we only want to keep improving day by day.

Thank you once again and see you soon in Neya Hotel!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Me and my friend spent over a week at NEYA's and it was incredible!
Our room was so beautiful and comfortable, WIFI was very good.
The hotel is very near to several metro stations, perfect to get in and out of the city.
We absolutely loved the hotel restaurant, totally reasonable prices and delicious food! The waiter was so friendly and professional at the same time.

Big Thanks to the Reception & Security guys! They were so nice and helpful in every situation and gave us maps and great advice about restaurants, events, beaches etc. around Lisbon!
We were completely satisfied with the Hotel and it's staff, nothing to complain about and we will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorite, Gerente at Neya Lisboa Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Ms Ly,

thank you very much for such a nice words, we are very glad to know that you spent a great time in our hotel and have received a helpfull service from our staff.

Thank you once again and see you soon in Neya Lisboa!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I recommend it to every tourist coming in Lisbon. Warm and nice place. Silent rooms...very very clean. A perfect place to stay. Very easy to get there. Metro station near. In front of hotel you have a bus station. Coffe shop near. In one word a must stay hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorite, Gerente at Neya Lisboa Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Google Translation
Cara Sra. Cleriana,

muito obrigado pelos seus amáveis comentários, ficamos muito satisfeitos de ver que teve uma boa experiência no nosso hotel.

Esperamos ver-lha novamente no Neya Lisboa Hotel.

Ate breve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neya Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neya Lisboa Hotel

Address: Rua Dona Estefania, 71 - 77, Lisbon 1150-132, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Neya Lisboa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neya Lisboa Hotel, a physical and mental retreat where every detail was thoroughly considered to provide you with a unique stay in harmony with nature. We are strategically located in the heart of Lisbon, but a good way from urban agitation. You will enjoy a carefully created atmosphere which will provide customers with a deep sense of calm and relaxation.The concept of Sustainability gains a new meaning with us, by implementing in all our activities strong policies of environmental and social responsibility. This combined with high-end gastronomy, personalized services, SPA and a Business Center make Neya Lisboa Hotel a haven for those wishing to have unconcerned tourist experiences or formal business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Neya Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neya Lisboa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.