We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Laura Alves 9, Lisbon 1069-169, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #109 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night on New Years Eve.

Room excellent except too hot and air con did not seem to work properly.

Breakfast adequate. Having walked around Lisbon I was suffering from a bad ankle. When we entered for breakfast the chap on the desk made the service lift available for me to get back to our room so I did not have to walk up to reception and get the normal lift which was a very nice gesture. All the staff were polite, pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back.
We regret any inconvenience caused with the air cond.
Hope you get better and had a pleasant trip back home.
Kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    186
    80
    16
    11
See reviews for
86
118
37
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizone
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I agree with other who rate this hotel excellent and can add little to their comments. Our three nights there was a great value for the price paid. Rooms clean, good tv, nice staff, and bed was comfortable. I like that it had faux wood floors which make it easy to judge how clean they were. We had one small problem and it was resolved immediately by a manager in a most professional manor. To me there were two small negatives-- The bathroom extras were almost none existant. Soap and shampoo were both in push containers (not worthy of four star property) and the bed pillows were of poor quality even if there are firm and soft on each bed. Good area, near metro, and found a couple of good ones in area, there was an excellent fish restaurant just a block away (sorry but not have name, but think it is nearest restaurant to hotel). If you can get a good rate take it you will not go wrong. I base excellent given the quality for price paid. It is not the Ritz, but it is probably 75% or more less. Would, for sure, choose this property in future.

Room Tip: Ask for front as view is a little better, however planes taking off from airport might be problem fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your feed back.
The comments of our Guests are very important to improve our Service,
Please apologize anything that was not your expectations.
kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was 3 days for vacation in this holiday inn. I ve got a very good price.
My stay was plesant. The rooms had a good size and they were newer than I thought.
Everything was clean.
The check inn agent was also very nice.
Its is next to the airport but not direct in the center.
Taxi from airport is 8 Euro, to the center also around 8.
The negative things:
No upgrade for platinum member.
Internet very bad connection (but free due my status)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We reserved a room at this hotel only because we get priority club points, and it also fulfilled two p.c. promotions, giving us a lot of extra points.
I was very hesitant, since we always insist on staying in a city center, as we like to eat dinner and walk around til late, and like to be able to walk right back to our hotel.
We were pleasantly surprised, as check in was quick and the young man (Jose, I believe) was pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The price couldn't be better, very inexpensive for Europe, and the area wasn't bad at all.
Granted it wasn't in the center, but neither was it a poor, remote area.
There was a supermarket nearby, where we shopped.
There was also a wonderful Chinese buffet nearby and after being at the trade show, eating in town, and being out, we relaxed there.
The hotel was quite nice.
The highlight was that after two nights, they moved us to an upgraded room because of platinum and what a room! Large bedroom, hall with fridge, large bathroom and another room with tv, sofa, table and chairs, and coffee, etc. Plenty of space for our luggage so it wasnt cluttering the floor. We didn't want to leave!
The beds were so comfortable, and we had everything we needed.
A 5 minute walk brought us to the bus where we hopped on a 10 minute ride right into the center.
We felt very safe doing this even late at night as the area had many things still open and plenty of people walking around at all hours.
No sweat at all, and the walk was nice. We did this many times, and even early in the morning, in order to catch tours on two different days.
Inside Lisbon will also pick you up at H.I.C. for their day tours, and drop you back.

Room Tip: If you're platinum, ask for an upgrade. They were very good on following through with their pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nicely appointed four star hotel which is located close to the airport and public transport but a very long walk from the city centre. The rooms were exceptionally clean and because the floors are made from hard wood, any allergy sufferers may find this a great solution to questionable carpet. Room check in and out was a quick and painless and the reception desk staff were always available to set-up tickets for tour buses to out of city. Tour buses pick up at hotel front. If you're into Bull fights (I'm not) then the hotel is across the road from Lisbon's major arena.
Hotel bar was modern, comfortable and average prices.
If you are comfortable with traveling on the subway/buses then getting downtown is very simple and bus # 727 will take you from near the hotel all the way to Belem (a must) and back for 3.50 euros. A nearby restaurant to the hotel, Valbom, was terrific value and quality (see restaurant review)

Room Tip: As this hotel structure is built in an arc, the outside rooms ending in an even number are larger th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

i stayed at this hotel 30´th october 2012 the rooms could not fault, staff and service excellent the only down side was the meals they need to improve and bring up to the hotel standards i rate the evening meal poor and bland cleanliness excellent i would stay there again but eat out.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good no balconies what i could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Marvin,
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay.
I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided and I am pleased that you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms.
I would like to apologize for the meal insatisfaction. I assure you that it will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate department.
We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.
kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The main reason that make me not recomend the hotel is something that might be related not only to this hotel, but others from Holiday inn, so be aware. Eventhough I am a priority member, I had made the reservation almost six months in advance and I had received an email a week before my stay confirming the reservation, on the evening before I received an email from the hotel saying that my reservation could be canceled because they were not able to charge my card. Of course they couldn´t because in six months, my card has changed its number. Question: why they tried to to that just in the last moment? And what if I were in a flight and could not read the email? Answer: Arrive in Lisbon without any hotel! Big problem!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon-Continental, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Francisco,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay.
I am sorry your stay was negatively affected by our reservation issue. I hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.
If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Kind regards
Alice Bancaleiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental

Address: Rua Laura Alves 9, Lisbon 1069-169, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#65 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#76 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay close to central Lisbon when you choose the Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental hotel.A curvaceous high-rise building on a lively boulevard, the contemporary Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental is a 10-minute taxi ride from Lisbon Airport. We're just a minute's walk from Campo Pequeno metro station for direct subway trains to Lisbon city centre. Settle in and surf the web with wireless Internet in your smart Guest room.Have a productive stay at Holiday Inn Lisbon-Continental, with 9 modern meeting rooms for up to 200 people and a 24-hour Business Centre. We're close to the banking district, Instituto Superior Técnico engineering school, and major companies like Ernst and Young. Lisbon Congress Centre is a 15-minute metro ride away, and the hotel offers ample parking and easy access to the IP7 motorway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.