We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a pass if you have other choices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Lisbon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Lisbon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Lisbon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Antonio Jose de Almeida 28A, Lisbon 1000-044, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #111 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Take a pass if you have other choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Shabby worn holiday inn in a not so great part of town. Nothing actually wrong with the place, just not really that nice. The price enticed us but we could only stand it for one night. Subway was considerably further away than appears on any map we looked at ahead of time. Walk back at nigh goes straight through a long dark street full of hookers and no one else. Switched to a nicer hotel more central and had a much, much better Lisbon experience. Best of luck.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Mr. John S

Thank you for stay at Holiday Inn Lisbon.

We are regret that you didn’t like the location of the Hotel, however the hotel is about 600m between 2 metro (subway) stations and 1000m form another one.

Thank you for your comments.


Waiting to receive you in a near future

Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    304
    137
    34
    13
See reviews for
213
162
33
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was great value for money. It's in a great location, in the centre of Lisbon and has a roof-top pool. We splashed out and got a suite which really wasn't that expensive for what was a really nice big spacious suite. Lisbon is a beautiful city and the food was very good. I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff were really pleasant. In fact, I found the Portuguese people really friendly in general.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Mrs. Kathomso

Thank you for stay at Holiday Inn Lisbon.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our city and Food. That's how the Portugal and the Portuguese are!

Thank you for your feedback and nice words.


Waiting to receive you in a near future

Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

stayed there for 4 nights for leisure. standard holiday inn with all the likes and dislikes. our room was upgraded so it was huge. and the view from the bathroom was extraordinary. although there is one thing to avoid, and that is the breakfast. we had breakfast once, but it was terrible. the scrambled eggs had no taste. the baked beans had awful taste. there was only tomato as a vegetable...

Room Tip: rooms are average
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Mr. servicefreak34

We hope that you have enjoyed your trip back home

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Lisbon and for the comments that you chare with us.
We can inform that in the breakfast you have 7 different kind of breads, 3 different cakes, 6 different kind of fresh fruit and 3 others, stewed eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, mushrooms, beans, different cheeses, coat meats, etc. We have assorted of tea, chocolate, juices and fresh orange juice, yogurts, honey, light goods, etc

Is not easy to satisfy all but we thing that we have a reasonable choice of things to eat


Hopping to receive you in a near future

At your disposal
Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

On arrival to a very quiet reception we were required to wait at least 40 minutes whilst the computer discovered our rooms were neither prepared nor even reserved. We eventually recieved our keys only to find that my room was on the 2nd floor and my elderly step father was on the 10th floor. After a fuss they agreed to do some laundry for me (2p.m. on a Saturday afternoon) and charged me 78 euros for the pleasure. Breakfast was the usual canteen style grub, fresh enough but completely uninspired.

Room Tip: Top (1oth floor) has the pool pump and all air con units directly above. Great for the nocturnal typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Guy H

We hope that you have enjoyed your trip back home

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Lisbon and for the comments that you chare with us. We can't identify your reservation/stay in order to check in you arrive at different ours then the other room and sooner them the normal 14p.m. checkin time (could be the reason to waiting for the room - when we have availability we make it sooner)

Hopping to receive you in a near future


Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent 6 nights in a family room (2 double beds) at a very reasonable cost. Found the location good for inexpensive local restaurants and cafes - there were plenty within walking distance. We didn't eat in the hotel but the restaurant prices looked very expensive in comparison (the charge for breakfast was 14 euros). We enjoyed the roof top pool for a quick dip to cool down at the end of the day though it wasn't big enought to swim in and the pool decking area was nice for a bit of sunbathing. Great to have a kettle and a fridge in the room-supermarket round the corner was useful for milk etc and this must have saved us quite a bit of money on hot drinks.

Our room was on the 9th floor and we did not hear any noise disturbance at all during the 6 nights we stayed. Beds were very comfortable and air conditioning worked well. The bathroom was good with a nice selection of toiletires and very good quality towels.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Mr./Mrs. te-4-of-usNS

We hoppe that you had a quiet trip back home

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Lisbon and for the comments that you chare with us

Hopping to receive you in a near future

Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldas da Rainha, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a great night here in a family room. Very reasonable price and two double beds in a room that did not feel like a whole lot of other people had been there before us. Just six euros by taxi to the centre of Lisbon so it is great for getting in there fast and getting back to bed whenever you want to. Take your own drinks for the room and pool area though - the bar and minibar prices are crazy (for Portugal). For the price of an ordinary whiskey in the bar you could buy yourself a bottle in the shops.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Mr./Mrs. conel V

He Hoppe you'd a very nice trip back home

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Lisbon.

Let us disagree with you in the comments about the prices. You can't by a bottle as you say because they cost more than that. As you may imagine there is service that must be paid and there is costs for that.

At the pool it isn't allow to take food or drinks from outside. As you may know, by the Portuguease law, is not allowed glasses on the pool because is dangerous.

Hopping to receive you in a near future

Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is a bit north of the centre but worth the short bus ride. We stayed for a total of 3 nights and found the hotel to be clean, roomy and a great option for the price. The staff was also helpful. If you arrive at Lisbon airport make sure to take the Aerobus, 3.50 euro ticket to the hotel, hold onto the ticket and it allows you to use all the buses throughout Lisbon for 24 hours after the purchase!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Mr./Mrs. Coney12

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Lisbon and for the comments that you chare with us

We can inform you that now you have the new Metro station from the airport to the city centre. You can go from the Airport to Saldanha or Alameda and it will take from 13 till 16 minutes

Hopping to receive you in a near future

Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon

Address: Avenida Antonio Jose de Almeida 28A, Lisbon 1000-044, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is situated in the heart of the citycenter between Av da República and Pr. de Londres by the Instituto Superior Técnico .With several underground stations around and 10 minutes away from the International airport, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the ideal place for your stay should you travel in business or leisure. The Hotel is famous by its spacious standard and executive rooms as well as its suites with direct access to high speed and wireless internet. Each of its 169 spacious rooms, including 17 Executive bedrooms, 13 Family rooms, 2 disabled rooms, 8 junior suites and 1 Presidential Suite, are equipped with cable TV, direct-dial telephone, desk, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, Pay Tv, hairdryer, gives you a good value for money. Business center in the lobby. Rooms with High speed internet on request. The modern meeting space is ideal for business meetings and social events and can accommodate up to 400 delegates Appreciate the Portuguese and Mediterranic gastronomy at our restaurant 'Vasco da Gama'. The 'Almirante' bar is the ideal place to relax after a busy dayTogether with a parking, fitness center and a gift shop, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the right choice for the right stay. Our rooftop terrace and outsidepool (from May to September) is the perfect place for sunbathing and to enjoy the beautiful view to all Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Lisbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.