We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but need some upgrades; especially the bed mattress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 228 Hotels in Lisbon
SC
Level Contributor
263 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Clean, but need some upgrades; especially the bed mattress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Luxury Hotel with Excellent service, especially the concierge
Old building clean and well maintained, yet need some upgrades
Tip: Ask for smoke free room and a view of the park
Dinner at the Veranda restaurant exceeded our expectations

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Bom dia!

We're very glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We're also very happy to know that the Varanda Restaurant exceeded your expectations!

We hope to have you stay with us again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    126
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
156
331
42
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived in this wonderful hotel in the center of Lisbon Portugal. There is nothing in this beautiful city that can compare to the Ritz Four Seasons. The staff is accommodating but stiff at times. The views from our room is over the whole city. The staff at the Ritz Carlton in Penha Longa where the staff makes that truly one of the top hotels in Europe. This one is not that quality due to the staff but it perfectly located and beautiful. If you can getaway descent rate stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Boa tarde!

Thank you for your feedback.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

So that we may further improve our service, would you mind sharing with us in which specific area of the hotel our staff could have served you better?

We hope to have you stay with us again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colorado
Level Contributor
155 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived jet lagged and came to Lisbon for an achievers event for 4 nights. The service was excellent and the room was beautiful with a balcony for overlooking the city. However the best views are at the top of the hotel in the gym. You have amazing views when working out. They should have a cocktail lounge on the rooftop to overlook the city Lisbon lights in the evening. We spent our evenings in the lobby bar- drinks are expensive.
We booked a double room however I was expecting two double beds instead of two twin beds. In our entire Portugal vacation I have yet to see a double or queen bed. They use two twin beds to make a king. We had our teenage son with us - so he took a twin and my husband and I shared a twin. 4 nights of snuggling super tight. It was a nice room and I loved the balcony. The soaps and shampoos are L'Occitane! If this was American my review would not have been as good as my expectations for huge beds and huge rooms are expected. However this is Europe and beds are small as well as rooms. We had a great stay and the people were friendly. They have a spa and pool on the lower level but I did not use them.
I loved the location and we walked to the Avenue da Liberdade daily. It's a great street to walk along trees and find a cafe or restaurant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very happy to know that overall, you have enjoyed your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon.

However we are sorry to hear that you did not get the room you were expecting but we were only informed of your requirement for a room for two persons.

Should we have known that the room was in fact for three persons, we would have allocated to you, one of our King size bedroom with an extra bed.

In fact twin beds are an exception in our hotel and we actually have a majority of real US King size beds.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in Lisbon and on that occasion we will definitly make sure you can enjoy one of our King size bedroom.

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Four Seasons for 3 nights in August and from the moment we arrived we were greeted with amazing service. From check-in to check-out we received nothing less than world class service, it was truly fantastic and was certainly a great start to our first family holiday. There were always staff around to greet or assist you, but also felt that that staff were not intrusive. It is obvious that the hotel PR is of utmost importance and is extremely well organised. :)

The hotel itself oozes old school charm and has been maintained to a very high standard consider the hotels age, every item is presented in immaculate condition. The rooms were great size and luxurious in every aspect, with a fantastic view over the city.

Our 5 month old son received a finger puppet on arrival and a treasure hunt for the stay, followed by numerous special treats in our room for him, it was a really thoughtful touch by management, and will not be forgotten. It's often those small things that make a huge difference, defines the best from the rest.

We did not use the hotel amenities apart from the business centre, but yet again we received greta service. The breakfasts were amazing and sitting out on the terrace in sun mad all the difference, make sure you get up early to get a table.

Th hotel location is great, and easy drive from the airport and located within close proximity to the metro stations. Overall not far from the main areas.

We would definitely recommend staying here & if we return to Lisbon, it will be our first stop. We loved every minute.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Boa tarde!

Thank you for your great review. We're very pleased to have been able to provide you with such a great experience. Our little guests are as important to us as our regular guests, and we spare no special treatment for them!
Our staff works daily to please our customers and we know that the small details make the big differences, so we try to make everything up to par with our guests' high expectations.

It was a pleasure to have been a part of your first family holiday, and we hope to have you stay with us for many more to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

a very good hotel -just a little ourside the main tourist attractions in Lisboa - but taxis are cheap. 5-8 euro will bring you to most places.
My first time in Lisboa and I was very pleased with my stay - from the serviceminded girl at the reception, nice quality of the room and a fantastic lunch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Boa tarde!

Thank you for your review. We're very glad to know that you were "very pleased" with your stay and that you liked our service and our facilities, as well as our location.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent only two nights at the Four Seasons Hotel Ritz but we were very pleased with all aspects. We arrived in Lisbon in time for a late lunch and everything was delicious -- I highly recommend the sushi lunch when it is available. Michael in the bar/cafe went out of his way to welcome us and provide advice to improve our stay including introducing us to Ginja (a must try) and the small custard cakes that the Portuguese love (and now so do we). He also suggested a trip to the fitness center - you can work out if you like - but the view of Lisbon is not to be missed from that vantage point. We booked a day tour to Sintra through the hotel and all of the details were taken care of for us so we could just sit back and relax. Spacious comfortable rooms and overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Boa tarde!

Thank you for your great review. It is very good to know that we managed to make your stay a memorable one. All our staff works daily to provide our customers with the best experience possible, and we're happy Michael was spot-on with his suggestions for you.

We're very happy to know you enjoyed our Hotel and Lisbon, and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Obrigado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a particularly friendly and cosy hotel. the staff are helpful and cheery.
the facilities are amazing.
the running track on the roof was out of order, but great for photos.
the pool is delicious.
the laundry service however is shambolic. an 800£ black jacket came back grey and black, ruined forever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#3 of 228 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
0.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#8 of 228 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
1.4 mi away
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#5 of 228 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Britania Hotel
Britania Hotel
#2 of 228 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 1,557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
0.7 mi away
Valverde Hotel
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 228 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa

Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon Rises from one of Lisbon’s seven hills and is one of the most prominent modern landmarks of the city. Located in the heart of the city within walking distance from the historic "old town." Its restaurant "Varanda" overlooking the park is acclaimed as the city’s most sophisticated restaurant for business lunches or more intimate diners. The Ritz Spa is located on the garden level of the Hotel and offers relaxing views over the garden and the Eduardo VII Park. It features an indoor lap pool, pool lounge area and multi-functional treatment rooms. With a unique setting on the rooftop of the Hotel and offering breathtaking views over the city, the Fitness Centre provides its guests with exclusive facilities and state of the art equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
Four Seasons Lisbon
Ritz Lisbon
Lisbon Four Seasons
Lisbon Ritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.