We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Old School Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Four Seasons for 3 nights in August and from the moment we arrived we were greeted with amazing service. From check-in to check-out we received nothing less than world class service, it was truly fantastic and was certainly a great start to our first family holiday. There were always staff around to greet or assist you, but also felt that that staff were not intrusive. It is obvious that the hotel PR is of utmost importance and is extremely well organised. :)

The hotel itself oozes old school charm and has been maintained to a very high standard consider the hotels age, every item is presented in immaculate condition. The rooms were great size and luxurious in every aspect, with a fantastic view over the city.

Our 5 month old son received a finger puppet on arrival and a treasure hunt for the stay, followed by numerous special treats in our room for him, it was a really thoughtful touch by management, and will not be forgotten. It's often those small things that make a huge difference, defines the best from the rest.

We did not use the hotel amenities apart from the business centre, but yet again we received greta service. The breakfasts were amazing and sitting out on the terrace in sun mad all the difference, make sure you get up early to get a table.

Th hotel location is great, and easy drive from the airport and located within close proximity to the metro stations. Overall not far from the main areas.

We would definitely recommend staying here & if we return to Lisbon, it will be our first stop. We loved every minute.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Boa tarde!

Thank you for your great review. We're very pleased to have been able to provide you with such a great experience. Our little guests are as important to us as our regular guests, and we spare no special treatment for them!
Our staff works daily to please our customers and we know that the small details make the big differences, so we try to make everything up to par with our guests' high expectations.

It was a pleasure to have been a part of your first family holiday, and we hope to have you stay with us for many more to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    99
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
125
270
33
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

a very good hotel -just a little ourside the main tourist attractions in Lisboa - but taxis are cheap. 5-8 euro will bring you to most places.
My first time in Lisboa and I was very pleased with my stay - from the serviceminded girl at the reception, nice quality of the room and a fantastic lunch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Boa tarde!

Thank you for your review. We're very glad to know that you were "very pleased" with your stay and that you liked our service and our facilities, as well as our location.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent only two nights at the Four Seasons Hotel Ritz but we were very pleased with all aspects. We arrived in Lisbon in time for a late lunch and everything was delicious -- I highly recommend the sushi lunch when it is available. Michael in the bar/cafe went out of his way to welcome us and provide advice to improve our stay including introducing us to Ginja (a must try) and the small custard cakes that the Portuguese love (and now so do we). He also suggested a trip to the fitness center - you can work out if you like - but the view of Lisbon is not to be missed from that vantage point. We booked a day tour to Sintra through the hotel and all of the details were taken care of for us so we could just sit back and relax. Spacious comfortable rooms and overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Boa tarde!

Thank you for your great review. It is very good to know that we managed to make your stay a memorable one. All our staff works daily to provide our customers with the best experience possible, and we're happy Michael was spot-on with his suggestions for you.

We're very happy to know you enjoyed our Hotel and Lisbon, and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Obrigado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a particularly friendly and cosy hotel. the staff are helpful and cheery.
the facilities are amazing.
the running track on the roof was out of order, but great for photos.
the pool is delicious.
the laundry service however is shambolic. an 800£ black jacket came back grey and black, ruined forever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family stayed at the four seasons Lisbon in August . We stayed in the junior suite that was very comfortable and clean. Turn down was nice. We were disappointed in that they did not offer any pool service. There was only a carafe of water that you could help yourself to. No spritzes or regular offered treats like other four seasons that we had been to :(

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to know you enjoyed our junior suite and our Hotel, as well as the turndown service.

We have shared your concerns on the pool service with our management as we value all our guests' opinion.

We hope to see you again,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I'll have to come back to this hotel a few more times to figure out what is so wonderful about staying here. The basics are all excellent: service, cuisine, spa and gym, location, bed, and bathroom. I especially recommend the lunch buffet and the rooftop pilates/gym.

These things are all nice, but what sets the hotel apart and makes me want to return is it's distinct character. Like the Okura in Tokyo, there are parts of this hotel that seem unchanged, a time capsule from another era. It's paradoxical because the hotel has an incredibly generic 50's quality, but there is something about how well run and maintained that makes it very distinct and authentic. Authentic what? I will have to keep going back to find out.

Since this hotel seems not to have any ambition of existing in 2013, I was less annoyed at the high daily fee for wifi, I think 35euros/day. Also room service is very good, but costs easily 6 times what the same dishes would cost outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to face the park, odd numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Bom dia!

Thank you for such a great review.

We're really glad you enjoyed our Hotel and all its facilities. It's also very good to know that you liked our unique decoration and that we provided such an enjoyable experience that you want to come back, this is what we work for every day.

We look forward to having you stay with us soon!

Obrigado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our room was on a higher floor which had beautiful views of the city. Our room was very spacious with a large balcony. If you look down, you can see the swimming pool. On one of the nights we were there, they had a fashion show around the swimming pool which fun to watch a bit from the upper floor. There were two sinks in the bathroom, a separate room for the toilet and bidet, a large shower, and a separate tub. Their minibar was stored in a closet. They have a running track on the rooftop. If you go up there in the evening, you can see the lights of the city. Awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa

Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon Rises from one of Lisbon’s seven hills and is one of the most prominent modern landmarks of the city. Located in the heart of the city within walking distance from the historic "old town." Its restaurant "Varanda" overlooking the park is acclaimed as the city’s most sophisticated restaurant for business lunches or more intimate diners. The Ritz Spa is located on the garden level of the Hotel and offers relaxing views over the garden and the Eduardo VII Park. It features an indoor lap pool, pool lounge area and multi-functional treatment rooms. With a unique setting on the rooftop of the Hotel and offering breathtaking views over the city, the Fitness Centre provides its guests with exclusive facilities and state of the art equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
Four Seasons Lisbon
Ritz Lisbon
Lisbon Ritz
Lisbon Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.