We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a spectacular view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a spectacular view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

While the exterior of the hotel was not impressive, once inside, it was beautiful with a great attention to service. The room was lovely and had a spectacular view of the city. We had a car and driver take us on private tour, recommended by the hotel, which made the location irrelevant as to convenience. We dined at the hotel on the terrace and it was beautiful to see the city from here. If you do not have a driver, it is a bit of a walk down the hill to get to the main part of the city. Without the driver, I would have considered a different location although taxis are readily available. The rooms were very beautiful with a great bathroom and lots of closet space and a sitting area. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and we dined on the terrace overlooking the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Olá!

We're very happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel. We try to make the best recommendations for our guests and we're happy to know you found them pleasant and that we made a difference in your stay.

We hope to see you again soon,

Obrigado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    99
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
125
270
33
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is easily the nicest and best hotel in Lisbon. Not a huge place but very well set up. We stayed on the 6th floor which can be a problem with the small and slow elevators, but was never really much of an issue. The view from the hotel is stunning and is good on either side of the hotel.

I would highly recommend a day trip to Sintra, where you will be able to tour the castle Pina and see some Old Portuguese shops

Very nice hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Olá!

This is what we are all about; details and people. Lisbon and its surroundings have a lot to offer and we're glad you enjoyed the hotel as well as had the chance to visit the romantic village of Sintra.

We hope to see you soon!

Obrigado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel looked rather old fashioned, in particular the lifts and carpeting but apart from that, everything else was great. The room and bathroom were enormous. We had no problem with hot water but many of our friends staying on the higher floors did complain of not having hot water in the evenings. Although our room was situated on the first floor, our room was extremely quiet and we slept really well. Great view from the gym. While the hotel is not located in the heart of the action, it is about a 10 minute walk to Avenue de Liberdade, which is a beautiful tree-lined high-end shopping avenue and a 10 minute walk to El Corte Inglais, a huge department store. No free wifi and complimentary bottled water/ kettle in the rooms was a minor downer but this appears to be the norm in a lot of European hotels. Overall, we had a fantastic stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room on 1st floor didn't have any issue with the hot water supply but higher floors did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel several times and it was always perfect but now,there is a new vibe in the hotel that is great!!
I love the breakfast at the Ritz, in the room is fantastic but definitely, downstairs is better.

Room Tip: the suites facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Olá!

We are glad to know you enjoy the hotel and you keep coming back!
The breakfast is definitely great, and a local reference.

See you soon!

Muito obrigado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent. My trip was perfect in every way especially regarding the hotel. Service was excellent and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The hotel itself is beautuful inside and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Olá!

We are very glad to hear we could be a part of your excellent trip to Lisbon! We are here to serve you in the best way possible and it's good to know we've done just that.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We recently stayed five nights at the Four Seasons in Lisbon. We were there for a company sponsored event and the hotel staff was complemented by local event company staff on site for our convenience. Both staffs were outstanding!

From the entry point the hotel makes its statement regarding service; multiple door-men were on site holding doors upon every entry. The lobby is open and airy, a brilliant reception area. Four elevators in the lobby allow for adequate transport to and from floors.

Our room on the seventh floor was quite nice. The balcony overlooked part of the city as well as a park which housed an outdoor book fair. The room was large enough for two people to be comfortable and included a short sofa (love seat) and small desk, as well as a brilliant king bed every bit as comfortable as our bed at home. The bathroom was very large with two sinks, a shower, a soaking tub, and the toilet in a small closet. The bathroom was beautiful but at the same time disappointing. The shower had dark mold growing on the ceiling and red mold growing in the grout; does Portugal know about bleach? In addition, hot water was an issue; one sink was excellent, but in the other the hot water only ran cold. Further, on two days the hot water disappeared all together; in the afternoon we went back to the room to freshen up and there was absolutely no hot water. This was such an issue a colleague asked one evening "Are we staying in the "Two Seasons"?" Fortunately there were no hot water issues in the mornings.

The hotel managed buffet breakfasts each morning and the food and staff were excellent. In addition, the opening night buffet dinner was managed by the hotel and it was well done, very nice.

We visited the hotel bar a couple of times and it was top notch. Prices were as to be expected from a hotel bar which was nice. I felt they were understaffed though as service was quite slow. The servers/staff were every bit as accommodating and personable as I would expect, but the time it took to deliver orders seemed very long. Given the hotel knew they were booked it would seem they would staff up to address this, however in their favor it is likely the have no idea how busy the bar will become with any given "full" night.

The hotel is situated close to shopping, dining, and sites in Lisbon. We were able to walk to two nice shopping malls as well as into beautiful parts of the city. Obviously you cannot walk everywhere from this hotel, but you can walk to many places and feel quite safe.

One of the highlights is the gym on the top floor. Treadmills line full length windows providing a fabulous view of a lot of Lisbon and one person told us the sunrise and sunset is stunning from this vantage.

My only other disappointment was wifi; I will never understand how wifi is not a standard in rooms in this day. 18 euro per day for wifi is unreasonable, in my opinion.

I can't speak to value as this was a work sponsored trip. We tried to extend our stay here but they were completely booked so I don't even know the room rate.

All in all this was a fabulous stay in a beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Huge rooms, looks a bit jaded from the outside and in certain areas but the rooms n service totally made up for it.
Was traveling with an infant , the staff did its utmost to make my family feel comfortable.
Slightly quite location from the bustle of downtown lisboa but close enuf to get to most spots

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa

Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon Rises from one of Lisbon’s seven hills and is one of the most prominent modern landmarks of the city. Located in the heart of the city within walking distance from the historic "old town." Its restaurant "Varanda" overlooking the park is acclaimed as the city’s most sophisticated restaurant for business lunches or more intimate diners. The Ritz Spa is located on the garden level of the Hotel and offers relaxing views over the garden and the Eduardo VII Park. It features an indoor lap pool, pool lounge area and multi-functional treatment rooms. With a unique setting on the rooftop of the Hotel and offering breathtaking views over the city, the Fitness Centre provides its guests with exclusive facilities and state of the art equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
Four Seasons Lisbon
Ritz Lisbon
Lisbon Ritz
Lisbon Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.