We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal service. Beautiful place. Friendly people. Loved everything about it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 219 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal service. Beautiful place. Friendly people. Loved everything about it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

We brought our family of five recently to this beautiful hotel. The staff was so helpful and welcoming. They made our kids feel special. The manager kindly upgraded our family to a beautiful suite and made our vacation spectacular! Food in the bar and restaurant was amazing! Definitely worth the trip! I hope more Americans take the time to visit Lisbon and Portugal. And definitely stay at the Ritz Four Seasons!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Ola Linnie!

What a great review!
I was thrilled to hear that you and you family had a great vacation and that everything was to liking.
I too hope more people come to explore this hidden gem that is Lisbon.

Obrigada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    93
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
119
248
30
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Four Seasons is a piece of heaven in Lisbon. Wonderful rooms, extraordinary service, excellent views of the city. You will not find this service anywhere else. Special congratulations to Mr Nuno, who is in charge of the breakfast. Although it is a little far from most of touristic attractions, you can easily find a taxi that wil cost about 5 - 6 euros to take you to Bairro Alto. Definetely the best place to stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Ola from lisboa,

We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay and that we are for The place to stay in lisbon.
I have shared your review with Nuno as well as the rest of the staff.
We sincerely appreciate your review and recent stay with us.
Obrigada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Va
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed at the Ritz Four Seasons Hotel in Lisbon on holiday over Easter weekend 2012, and I found virtually no fault with the hotel.

It is located just off Edward VII Park, with wonderful views of the Park and Lisbon if your room is on that side of the hotel. It is near the Marques de Pombal roundabout, which makes using the hop on/hop off tour buses extremely easy, as the staging area is located there--literally a three minute walk from the hotel. The Rossio, with the station for trains to Sintra, is an easy and pleasant 15-minute walk from the hotel down the Avenida da Liberdade--slightly reminiscent of the Ramblas in Barcelona but not as touristy. The Barrio Alto, the Chiado and the waterfront are short, inexpensive taxi rides from the hotel.

The public rooms of the Ritz are large but comfortable and attractive--not the grand, heavy gilt and rococo of so many European 5-star hotels but luxurious and elegant in a more modern way, as are the spacious guest rooms. The mattress on my bed was a bit soft for my taste, but of course, that is a matter of individual preference. Bathrooms are slathered in marble as one would expect, with double sinks and a separate wc, shower and tub.

Breakfast in the Varanda can be buffet style or a la carte. The breakfast buffet is not as extensive as some I have seen in other hotels, but it is more than adequate and delicious, and an omlet station was available one morning of my stay but not the other two days. Nevertheless, the service in the restaurant is impeccable, as it is in the rest of the hotel. The front desk staff and concierge (Danielle?) were particularly pleasant. One had the impression they actually enjoyed being helpful to visitors.

I have stayed at one other luxury hotel in Lisbon on a previous visit, and the Ritz tops it hands down. My only criticism of the Ritz concerns using the internet service in the hotel. There is a separate, 14-euro per day charge for internet service at the hotel. When one is paying more than $500 per night for a hotel room, shouldn't the internet service be included automatically? Charging for it separately strikes me as greedy in the extreme--hotels greedy for money, who would have suspected it? If the hotel must charge for the service, then it should add it to the cost of the room from the start and include the service with the room automatically. It strikes me as unseemly to charge extra for such a common service, as the Ritz does. Would an extra bar of soap or turn-down service be charged separately?

This, however, is a very minor criticism when compared to the comfort, serene atmosphere and excellent service of the hotel, and I would not hesitate to stay at the Ritz Four Seasons Hotel on my next visit to Lisbon or to recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room parkside. The views from the ninth floor are magnificent, day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Ola!

It is great to see that you profile picture is at our very own Terreiro do Paço!

It was a pleasure to read your review and I was happy to know that you had an extraordinary experience with us.
I have read your internet comments as well and have shared them with my management team.

Thank you for your review and recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

A great hotel with fabulous views from Delux rooms of the park and city skyline including the fortress, service & decor all excellent. Pool and spa area sublimely relaxing! Lisbon is a wonderful city for a short break and staying here really made it a memorable holiday. Staff very attentive and courteous. Breakfasts are in a very grand dinning area with views of the park, a wonderful way to start the day. All in all highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only one side of the hotel (delux rooms I imagine) offer park views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Ola Patrick C,

Thank you for your wonderful words and for your recent stay with us.
I have shared your comments with our staff. It was great to know that you found the Hotel excellent all round! That is what we aim for!

We hope to see you in Lisbon again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I was on a business trip last week and ate lunch at the bar in the FS - as a regular customer of the FS brand globally - I was not staying at the hotel however - The staff were all very courteous, the hotel very clean and I had a very pleasant lunch in the bar. Sadly for those of us who dont like cigarette smoke - the smoking area was not in another room so cigar and cigarette smoke wafted across to the area where the non smokers sat - despite ECC regulations on Smoking - Ive noticed this in other hotels in Portugal too - eg Smoking IS allowed indoors ! It spoils the atmosphere for me and perhaps others and a dedicated cigar,smoking room is needed. That said everything else was very good in my short visit .I presume in the warmer months the Terrace is better - but again i wouldnt want to sit next to smokers there either !

Room Tip: Taxi to airport is only 15 mins ---- There is a great shopping store El Cortes 5 mins taxi ride ( t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Ola!

Thank you for joining us for lunch at our bar.
I was happy to read the you enjoyed our service and food.
I completely understand the smoking situation, it is one we are currently working on. It seems new legislation is to be approved and will ban smoking from all indoor and out door eating spaces.
We do hope when you next visit to have this all sorted out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I have not stopped telling my friends about the hotel since my trip last week from the beautiful rooms with a great view, to calling me by name as I walked in to check in and fairly reasonably priced for the rooms and level of service.

I would not miss the breakfasts which tasted great and you definitely do not go hungry.

The mot impressive part if the hotel was the great concierge that nothing seems to be too much trouble. They did all the normal functions of booking restaurants and tours (I would definitely recommend the hotel private tour guide for 3 hours as it is a great overview of the city with an a knowledgable guide) but the most impressive was my port tasting. Patricia was unable to find a place open on Sunday and calls 1 hr later apologising profusely but then arranges a private tasting in the bar with the, head bar man (who was so friendly and made my tasting special with all that he got me to taste).

Great place and will definately stay again when I visit Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Olá from Lisbon!

Thank you so much for your words!
We have share your review with our teams especially with our concierge team and patricia of course.

We were delighted that you found our rooms beautiful enjoyed the view and our "hearty" breakfasts!

We hope you visit us again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

this is a beautiful hotel with excellent service. The concierge is able to give you recommendations that make your stay in Lisbon wonderful with access to the real Lisbon
Loved the buffet breakfasts. The rooms were beautiful and the spa and pool a relaxing thing to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. Well worth the price

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRFSRitzLisbon, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Ola Jane B,

We appreciate your review and thank you for your recent stay with us.

It was great to read that you found a beautiful hotel with excellent service. Our staff is really what makes us special and were happy to know that our concierge was able to give you recommendations that helped you know the real Lisbon.
We often recommend the finishing your day in our Spa and it was good to see that you did just that after a long day of sightseeing.

We hope you welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa

Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca, 88, Lisbon 1099-039, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon Rises from one of Lisbon’s seven hills and is one of the most prominent modern landmarks of the city. Located in the heart of the city within walking distance from the historic "old town." Its restaurant "Varanda" overlooking the park is acclaimed as the city’s most sophisticated restaurant for business lunches or more intimate diners. The Ritz Spa is located on the garden level of the Hotel and offers relaxing views over the garden and the Eduardo VII Park. It features an indoor lap pool, pool lounge area and multi-functional treatment rooms. With a unique setting on the rooftop of the Hotel and offering breathtaking views over the city, the Fitness Centre provides its guests with exclusive facilities and state of the art equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa
Four Seasons Lisbon
Ritz Lisbon
Lisbon Ritz
Lisbon Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisboa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.