We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel.. a 5* experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument to your Saves list
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel.. a 5* experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed in July 2014 as a couple… From the moment we pulled up in the taxi to when we departed it was 5* all the way. A beautiful hotel (we had a lovely room overlooking the gardens) which was spotlessly clean. Lovely gardens and 2 pools. The breakfast was great and we were able to sit outside. The staff bend over backwards for you. Very happy and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    169
    41
    12
    8
See reviews for
180
422
30
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Feel like royalty and get a true taste of old Lisbon in all its glory by staying at this exquisite hotel. Luxurious rooms and lush surroundings are truly glamorous, and the restaurant is a 5 star experience from start to finish. Despite the museum quality furnishings and well groomed gardens, the friendly and attentive staff and atmosphere somehow feel cozy and not stuffy. The Pestana gives everyone the opportunity to feel regal and is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

After a great stay at this hotel in 2013 my daughter and I decided to come back again this year. We stayed for a week in July and again we had a great time!
Pestana Palace is such a nice place! It's an old palace with a beautiful garden and a nice pool where you can relax after or before visiting the city. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is absolutely perfect!! We had breakfast outside on the nice terrace a few times, a lovely start of the day. The service of Carlos and the other staff at breakfast was excellent.
We enjoyed the hospitality of the whole staff but especially the warm welcome of Rui at the front door every day really gave a personal touch to our stay.
The hotel is not very close to the city center, but that is no problem. The shuttlebus of the hotel drives to the center a few times a day and also taxis are quickly available and not expensive at all.
Thank you all at the Pestana Palace for our lovely and relaxed stay!!!
We will definitively come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Pestana palace is lovely. The pool was refreshing and lovely. the service was exceptional. I would love to stay at this hotel again in the future. There is a lovely bar with nightly piano music and a delicious breakfast featuring wonderful fresh pastries and fruit as well as the usual European breakfast fare.

Room Tip: the hotel is not in the center of the city but it is easy to get to the center by tram, bus or taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stunning converted palace in quiet area of Lisbon. Loved the relaxed feel, gardens and pool. It caters for various interests - if want to chill and relax or explore the city. I stayed a week with friends and we had a truly beautiful time. The spa is excellent - am used to Asia spas but the quality here was on par (but more expensive) - fantastic healing massages.

Only gripes are no irons or kettles in the room and hotel food is very very expensive compared to what is available locally. The lovely bar is sort of ruined by a large tv - suggest it be removed. Breakfast is lovely.

Would definitley go back. THe food in Lisbon is fantastic - try the updated food market for sentational food options.

Room Tip: I had a garden room - lovely terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed 10 nights at this truly elegant hotel and it was just what we needed for a quiet, peaceful and de-stressing holiday. I'm going to start off with the positives and then some of the negatives!

Pros:-

* Stunning location with beautiful grounds and historic presence
* Helpful and courteous staff
* Short walk to transport (trams) and local mini markets and about 1/2 hour walk (or 5 min taxi ride) to the main sights in Belem.
* Long breakfast service (6.30 - 10.30am) so you can get up a little later on if you want and although we got abit bored of it by the end has a pretty good selection of different foods.
* Our room was very spacious and we loved the decor in keeping with the rest of the hotel.

Cons:-
* WiFi network was sporadic at best, which at times was inconvenient when we wanted to go online.I think for a 5 star hotel there's no excuse not to have a good connection nowadays.
* If you want a strong cup of tea, don't get your hopes up. At breakfast we ending up asking for 3 extra one cup teabags for our pot of tea for two and it still wasn't great! If your tea withdrawal symptoms are bad I reccomend going to the Starbucks in Belem!
* I know we were on holiday and tv wasn't a priority, but the tv in our room was tiny, picture quality was appalling on some channels. My husband tried to watch the world cup on it one night and because the TV was literally glued to the top of the cabinet on the opposite side of the room he had to drag a chair right in front of it to watch it!
* Obviously we knew it being a 5 star hotel the food wouldn't come cheap, but if like us you don't have money pouring out of your pockets then best you go out for lunch/dinner. On our first day we had one starter to share, two mains and a drink each for lunch which came up to almost 80 Euros. We quickly found a local cafe that did take away baguettes for a couple euros each and just brought them back to eat in the gardens. No one batted an eyelid!

Other than those small niggles we had a Iovely stay and would recommend this hotel, if you want a peaceful stay somewhere special.

Room Tip: We went for the cheapest tariff (176 Euros a day) and got a very good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Arriving at this hotel you knew that this place was special. The porters and concierge were attentive. Check in at reception was handled efficiently and we were actually shown to our room by the receptionist who explained where certain things could be found throughout the hotel. The receptionist also kindly booked us for dinner both nights - one at the hotel and the other at a traditional Portugese Restaurant with entertainment. We thoroughly enjoyed both.
Our room was large and had most things that you would expect, although an iron would have been nice. We were able to enjoy the outside pool, as the weather was lovely but the water itself was fresh. There is an inside pool but we did not venture into it. I utilised the spa services at the hotel and was happy with the treatment received and the price was reasonable. Dinner at the hotel was unbelievable - the food was enjoyable but the staff made it even more special - a big thank you to those who gave us great service and some wonderful advice on Portugal. The National Museum of this hotel was fascinating to see and enjoyed. The staff at this hotel is what makes this place special - how they remembered your name so quickly and always addressed you by it made us totally impressed. Both my husband and I are so glad that we decided to stay here and are recommending it to all our friends.
This hotel is not modern and has remained in the era it was built, with no real signs that it is wearing. A beautiful property.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#23 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.