We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Lisbon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Save Saved
You added Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 218 hotels in Lisbon
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Luxury in Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed for 4 night in the Pestana hotel. What an amazing experience.

The core of the hotel is in the historical building, which is an attraction in itself. Shouldn't it be a hotel it would certainlybe one of the major attractions in Lisbon. The atmosphere there is the one of a perfectly-preserved palace of the XIX century.

The rooms in the new (modern) wing are luxurious, large and comfortable.

The swimming pool is very atmospheric (indeed it seems to have been transplanted in bloc from an african luxury lodge) and the gym is really excellent (ie with fresh towels in the running machines, water and apples).

The breakfast is served in two of the large elegant dinning rooms with views to the garden.

The only drwback could be its location (far from the historical centre and a very long walk away from the Belem zone) and you are almost forced to take taxi or public transport for moving around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    573
    124
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
146
336
27
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had 5 nights at the Pestana Palace and it was fantastic. The breakfast was delicious with an amazing selection of pastries and delicious hot and cold food (especially the smoked salmon). The staff were extremely helpful and able to respond to any requirement. Room cleaned twice daily. Pool a great place to relax beside and have a mojito from the bar. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I traveled to Lisbon, Portugal for work but brought my family. We stayed for 9 days beginning of September 2013. The hotel is as the name implies...a palace that is rich with history, kindness and hospitality. The grounds are serene and beautiful. The staff went above and beyond in every aspect of our stay. Our room was impecably cleaned each day and had turn down service every night. The desk staff were knowledgable and always helpful with directions and suggestions. The door men were very professional, always smiling and full of good advice as well. The breakfast was provided each morning in a beautiful outdoor court with bottomless cup of the best coffee ever! The buffet breakfast was the best I have ever seen, with fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, eggs, vegetables, juice selections. Nothing pre-packaged here and not a microwave in sight. This is not your run of the mill hotel. Everything was elegant but not fussy. The location is about a 20 minute drive to the city center, but a nice walk to the waterfront where you will find many restaurant choices at the harbor. There is a courtesy shuttle several times per day that drives to the city center, and will coordinate with you on a return trip back to the hotel. It was such a nice benefit to be able to spend the day in the hustle and crowds of the city center and return back to the Palace for a peaceful evening in such a beautiful setting with such wonderful staff. I highly recommend the Pestana Palace to enjoy your stay in Lisbon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

First off the hotel is beyond amazing. The core is the original building and a historical property with the rooms contained in the newer wings. Every part of the hotel is just a wonder to walk around including the original artwork hanging in the hallways and the rooms to the architecture and furnishings in the original building. The staff were amazing to deal with. Maria helped me with a problem with my reservation that I made, corrected it and sent me a welcome pack to help me plan my trip. Every single person you deal with at this property is ensuring that you are having a fantastic time and goes out of your way to help you. Full breakfast and something for everyone. The bed was comfortable but a king size bed is 2 beds pushed together with a topper to join them. Not my favourite type of bed and just to warn you as the bed was not as comfortable as I normally like. Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

One of the best hotels that I ever stayed. The staff is very helpfull and tries to do better than they already did.
A must is the breakfast in the morning. I never had such a good and big breakfast in my life before.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koege, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were on a business trip due to an exhibition close by (10 mins walk) and it was sheer heaven. Good value for money and a wonderful treat to stay in such a unique hotel which had character (I´m thinking of the chapel!). Even though it was charming, it had 5 star service and 5 star amenities. Stay here if you can, all my colleagues were impressed and we are not an easy to please crowd!
I tried the spa and pool and both were top notch. After a hard day it was a dream to come back to this place. The rooms were suprisingly quiet even though the hotel was full, no noise fromt he corridors. Room service and breakfast were efficient and the staff were friendly and helpful. Taxis came in a matter of minutes and I will certainly return here if I am ever in Lisbon again

Room Tip: Ask if they have any updgrades available. I had a ground floor garden view with a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boronia, Melbourne, Victoria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent 3 days in this amazing property. The entrance into Pestana Palace has a real WOW factor, so much so that I felt that "I don't belong here", that lasted a couple of minutes and then was in total awe of the architecture and décor of this amazing building. All accommodation is in modern wings that branch out from the main Palace Building, all meal areas are located within the old building. The grounds are relaxing and meander around the complex. The pool area was lovely. My only complaint is that we only spent 3 days there.

Room Tip: The internal facing room that we had was great because we looked over the garden. I don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.