We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old hotel; nice room; nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Save Saved
You added Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
washington D.C.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful old hotel; nice room; nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A beautiful old hotel; Stayed in the new and renovated wing, which was fine-not great--but fine. The grounds are really beautiful and they have a nice swimming pool and spa. Food was crazy expensive though. The hotel is a bit out of the central area of Lisbon, but not too far and you can walk. I enjoyed this hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    532
    125
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
131
296
26
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotselaer, Brabant, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Fantastic hotel! We stayed 2 nights which was too short to enjoy all the facilities of the hotel since it was the first time that we visited Lisbon where there is so much to see. The interior of the main building is fantastic, the rooms in the other parts of the hotel are nice and clean.
Very professional staff being used to please royalties, famous and business people and pop stars.
A fantastic breakfast with all you can dream! We didn't had the time to enjoy dinner at the hotel so we can't rate it.
A nice and quiet terrace to enjoy a last drink in the evening after a busy day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just finished a 2 week holidays trough Spain and Portugal, staying at 5 of the top hotels.
The Pestana Palace was my favorite.
Large, well appointed grounds, beautiful room ( asked for a view to the garden).
The interior of the Palace is awesome, they even have a chapel.
The restaurant is exceptional. A big thank you to Nuno, he was genuinely friendly and helpful. Staying at this hotel and not eating would be a mistake.

Reception staff were beyond brilliant, we even made a booking error which they corrected with-in minutes. The welcome was very warm and perfect. ALL contribute to our stay being a wonderfull experience. I have to make however a point of how good is Luiza, Rui, Antonio, Petro and Joaquim.

I will get back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koksijde, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed two nights here with 3 little childeren(4,5 and 8 years).
the place is the best!
The rooms are very nice and clean and are in a seperate wing with all modern comfort(suites are in the palace itself).
Staff is very friendly and most helpful the best!
The gardens are very nice with an outdoor swimmingpool(towels for free and plenty) and an indoor heated(28°C) pool with jacuzzi,hamman,sauna and gym.
There is a very nice restaurant in the garden, you can eat here all day untill 7 pm i believe.
The restaurant in the palace is one of the most beautiful of rooms and is very good, breakfast is here as well and is excellent, ask the chef for any omelet he will make it for you.
Very nice bar with vary friendly and helpful staff, you can eat here as well and i can recommend the pasta, delicious!
Wifi free and works flawless.
Location a bit out of the center but not far from Belém.(shuttle bus provided)

What can i say more, perfection just go there!

Room Tip: families can ask two rooms that interconnect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent half of our honeymoon in that beautiful oasis. The room was decorated with flowers and equipped with a bottle of fine sparkling and chocolate pralines upon our arrival.
The room service came so many times a day that I lost count. Every time I went back to fetch something from the room it was all made up and beautiful.

Breakfast was excellent and versatile. Service was very polite but relaxed.

Pool area was absolutely beautiful and the tropical garden in the middle of the premises was magical for a little evening sit or walk.

They make great Port-tonics as well.

A special treat is the Chinese pool house which at the time was unfortunately not catering but opened for everyone to sit and read in the shade and very welcomed cool breeze as it was 42 degrees during the heatwave!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is a very elegant mansion. It has beautiful rooms decorated with care and good taste. I will spend my birthday there this year due to its nice restaurant, outstanding rooms and impeccable service.

Room Tip: Try rooms in the end of the ales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at The Pestana Palace Hotel for 7 nights with our 3 teenage children. The Hotel is amazing - so peaceful and with lovely gardens. Our rooms were clean and comfortable.We were a little disappointed as the turkish baths were not open at all during the whole week and the indoor pool was closed on our last day.Having said that it didn't spoil our stay at all as the outdoor pool and the gym gave us plenty to do . Breakfast was very nice and the staff helpful. Would definitely recommend as so nice to be out of the centre of the city but within easy reach. We just walked outside down a few streets and found many local and not touristy cafes, bars and restaurants. Great holiday - thanks

Room Tip: We had a lovely rooms on the ground floor with garden views and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace
Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Escapio, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.