We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful and relaxed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument to your Saves list
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful and relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent half of our honeymoon in that beautiful oasis. The room was decorated with flowers and equipped with a bottle of fine sparkling and chocolate pralines upon our arrival.
The room service came so many times a day that I lost count. Every time I went back to fetch something from the room it was all made up and beautiful.

Breakfast was excellent and versatile. Service was very polite but relaxed.

Pool area was absolutely beautiful and the tropical garden in the middle of the premises was magical for a little evening sit or walk.

They make great Port-tonics as well.

A special treat is the Chinese pool house which at the time was unfortunately not catering but opened for everyone to sit and read in the shade and very welcomed cool breeze as it was 42 degrees during the heatwave!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    153
    36
    11
    6
See reviews for
168
389
28
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is a very elegant mansion. It has beautiful rooms decorated with care and good taste. I will spend my birthday there this year due to its nice restaurant, outstanding rooms and impeccable service.

Room Tip: Try rooms in the end of the ales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at The Pestana Palace Hotel for 7 nights with our 3 teenage children. The Hotel is amazing - so peaceful and with lovely gardens. Our rooms were clean and comfortable.We were a little disappointed as the turkish baths were not open at all during the whole week and the indoor pool was closed on our last day.Having said that it didn't spoil our stay at all as the outdoor pool and the gym gave us plenty to do . Breakfast was very nice and the staff helpful. Would definitely recommend as so nice to be out of the centre of the city but within easy reach. We just walked outside down a few streets and found many local and not touristy cafes, bars and restaurants. Great holiday - thanks

Room Tip: We had a lovely rooms on the ground floor with garden views and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our first visit to Lisbon and we only stayed 1 night but it was wonderful to stay in such beautiful and calm surroundings yet be in the heart of a capital city. All the staff were helpful and showed a pride in their hotel. Desk staff made recommendations for a walk in the city and booked dinner for us. We also requested to see the suites and they were proudly shown off to us. Great value for money too when you compare it to what you get for the same money in any other European capital.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear loneranger56,

Thank you for choosing Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument on your first visit to our beautiful city and for sharing your experience with us.
We are very happy that you had the opportunity of seeing the Royal Suites, they are magnificent in the details and transports us to the elegance and refinement lived in the late XIX century, as indeed the entire Palace.
Right on the Target! In fact it’s a huge pride working at the Pestana Palace. Thank you very much for your kind words about the Staff.
You will always be welcome to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Pestana Palace. We were up graded to a fabulous room, it was Huge! My memory of our last two visits was that the Staff are delightful, friendly, helpful, never condescending, and eager to please. The Breakfast in the most beautiful of rooms was amazing. Now, there is the addition of a chef who will cook you a delicious Omelette.
The grounds are impeccable, and so well maintained. I used the Gym twice, and the staff were friendly and fun. There were lots of towels, and a water fountain. We requested a three hour late check out, and it was granted without fuss or bother. If you are pondering a stay a the Pestan Palace? GO!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear John C,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We were very glad to know Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument was your choice for the third time! Thank you very much for your kind words about the helpfulness of our staff – they will be delighted to know! It is always good to know you also enjoyed the breakfast at Valle-Flor Restaurant and especially, the omelet – the chef will be pleased to know! Our gardens are, indeed, one of our treasures and we always try our best to keep them beautifully maintained, it is great to know you appreciated them.

All in all, thank you very much for your great review and for recommending Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument on Tripadvisor!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

All the best,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed 5 Nights at this hotel in July-13. It was one of the best stays I have ever had. The hotel is a very, very beautifully restored villa/Palace. The attention to detail in the restauration is breathtaking. I have read about the frescoes of Four Seasons Milan in numerous Magazines (and stayed there as well), but the Pestana Palace is in no way second to this but largly unknown! I was upgraded to a very nice suite with my own terrace overlooking the beautiful garden and main building. The staff was the friendliest and attentive I have ever met. They knew and used my name from the first day (nice touch, it works...), Other reviews have complained about slow service. I did not experience this until the last breakfast, when I ate later than normal (abround 10) and the staff seemed overwhelmed by the sheer number of guests. And wi-fi in the room was unstable. In summary, this is an unrecognised gem with service to match!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Espadaman,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your review is not only very useful for future guests, but also very important to us.
We are very happy to learn that you consider this one of the best stays you ever had. It is very good to know that you enjoyed our ‘attention to detail’, the suite and the friendliness of our staff – we work hard to provide the best service possible. We will make sure to share your opinion with all the team, which will surely be very proud of your words. We do also consider your comments on breakfast service and wi-fi in the room, and we apologize if, for some reason, the service was longer than usual.
We hope we can become a ‘recognized gem’ in the future!
We really look forward to have the pleasure of seeing you again in Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The service is what you experience first and it was only the best. My girlfriend and I stayed there for two nights and wished we extended. We went into Lisbon (the Palace provides a free shuttle into town), and to get home is a 6 euro charge. The downtown is bustling with action, and each night we ended with a nightcap at the hotel bar - and the bar service was 5 star as well. A must stay if you are in Lisbon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear OneCigarGuy,

Thank you so much for your review! We were very glad to know that Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument provided you a great experience in the beautiful city of Lisbon. We highly appreciate your opinion on our service – we truly put an effort on providing our guests an excellent stay. We will definitely share your kind comments with our team, whom will, beyond doubt, be very pleased.
We really hope to be, once more, your choice in a future visit to Lisbon!

Kind regards,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.