We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning,Stunning,Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Save Saved
You added Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 219 Hotels in Lisbon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Stunning,Stunning,Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Pestana Palace. We were up graded to a fabulous room, it was Huge! My memory of our last two visits was that the Staff are delightful, friendly, helpful, never condescending, and eager to please. The Breakfast in the most beautiful of rooms was amazing. Now, there is the addition of a chef who will cook you a delicious Omelette.
The grounds are impeccable, and so well maintained. I used the Gym twice, and the staff were friendly and fun. There were lots of towels, and a water fountain. We requested a three hour late check out, and it was granted without fuss or bother. If you are pondering a stay a the Pestan Palace? GO!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear John C,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We were very glad to know Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument was your choice for the third time! Thank you very much for your kind words about the helpfulness of our staff – they will be delighted to know! It is always good to know you also enjoyed the breakfast at Valle-Flor Restaurant and especially, the omelet – the chef will be pleased to know! Our gardens are, indeed, one of our treasures and we always try our best to keep them beautifully maintained, it is great to know you appreciated them.

All in all, thank you very much for your great review and for recommending Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument on Tripadvisor!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

All the best,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    133
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
156
352
27
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed 5 Nights at this hotel in July-13. It was one of the best stays I have ever had. The hotel is a very, very beautifully restored villa/Palace. The attention to detail in the restauration is breathtaking. I have read about the frescoes of Four Seasons Milan in numerous Magazines (and stayed there as well), but the Pestana Palace is in no way second to this but largly unknown! I was upgraded to a very nice suite with my own terrace overlooking the beautiful garden and main building. The staff was the friendliest and attentive I have ever met. They knew and used my name from the first day (nice touch, it works...), Other reviews have complained about slow service. I did not experience this until the last breakfast, when I ate later than normal (abround 10) and the staff seemed overwhelmed by the sheer number of guests. And wi-fi in the room was unstable. In summary, this is an unrecognised gem with service to match!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Espadaman,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your review is not only very useful for future guests, but also very important to us.
We are very happy to learn that you consider this one of the best stays you ever had. It is very good to know that you enjoyed our ‘attention to detail’, the suite and the friendliness of our staff – we work hard to provide the best service possible. We will make sure to share your opinion with all the team, which will surely be very proud of your words. We do also consider your comments on breakfast service and wi-fi in the room, and we apologize if, for some reason, the service was longer than usual.
We hope we can become a ‘recognized gem’ in the future!
We really look forward to have the pleasure of seeing you again in Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The service is what you experience first and it was only the best. My girlfriend and I stayed there for two nights and wished we extended. We went into Lisbon (the Palace provides a free shuttle into town), and to get home is a 6 euro charge. The downtown is bustling with action, and each night we ended with a nightcap at the hotel bar - and the bar service was 5 star as well. A must stay if you are in Lisbon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear OneCigarGuy,

Thank you so much for your review! We were very glad to know that Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument provided you a great experience in the beautiful city of Lisbon. We highly appreciate your opinion on our service – we truly put an effort on providing our guests an excellent stay. We will definitely share your kind comments with our team, whom will, beyond doubt, be very pleased.
We really hope to be, once more, your choice in a future visit to Lisbon!

Kind regards,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RISHON LEZION ISRAEL
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A true palace with beautiful rooms, large bedrooms, amazing garden and large inside pool. The staff ws friendly and helpful especially Patricia, who helped us with patience ans kindnes when our rented car had to be fixed. We enjoyed breakfast. The palace itself needs a little navigating but worth every effort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator or a staircase. otherwise u walk a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear couple59060,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinions with this community. We highly appreciate them – not only are they useful for our future guests, as they are of extreme importance to us. It is very good to know that you enjoyed our rooms, the inside pool and the beautiful gardens.
We were also so glad to know our team, especially Patricia, took care of your every need. We will make sure to share your kind words with all our team – they will be delighted for sure! We work every day to make our guests feel special and at home.
We truly hope to have the pleasure to see you again in Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Kind regards,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days as a base for a relaxing holiday with lots of time by the pool and day trips to all the Lisboa city sights plus Sintra and Caiscais. The staff were great and added a nice human touch to compliment the lovely gardens and wonderful decor / furnishings in the hotel. We wanted the dual benefit of 1) being close enough to the city attractions without being in the middle of all the hustle and bustle and 2) a great pool area so that we could quietly relax in the garden surroundings when not sightseeing. Pestana Palace was perfect for us in both regards.

Accomodation was on a B&B basis and our room (2228) had lovely garden views. The room was ideal and kept very clean by the staff and very cool by the air conditioner! The breakfast had a great buffet selection and an outdoor seating option as an alternative to the formal / ornate dining room.

We knew the hotel was on the outskirts (that was an advantage for us) but it has a courtesy shuttle mini bus that does a Lisboa circuit four times a day plus a taxi was always just 'two claps' away from the hotel doormen :)

The hotel has its own fine dining restaurant but we preferred to work from their recommended restaurant list and double check with TripAdvisor before asking reception to book us a table. A few restaurants are walking distance (Solar dos Nunes) but majority were a short taxi ride. Our favourites were Casa do Leão, La Paparrucha, 5 Oceans and Sacramento. We also went to Faia for the Fado but I personally thought it over-rated based on our experience.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Pestana Palace and Lisboa and we're missing it already :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Seamie_Mac,

Thank you very much for publishing your comment on TripAdvisor.
Your review is very important for us and very useful for future Guests.
We loved your feedback and we are all happy to learn that the hotel was “perfect” for you. We will share your opinion with all Team that surely will be proud with your words.
Thank you for posting your nice photos.
We really hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just returned last week from a fabulous trip to Portugal and a six (6) day stay at the incredible Pestana Palace Hotel and National Monument. Such a beautiful setting for an enchanting stay in Portugal. Set in the heart of a Lisboa neighborhood I found the entire visit inviting and quite welcoming. The service and staff of this establishment is exceptionally attentive, pleasant, and helpful. Accomodations were excellent in all respects. I found the entire experience quite remarkable. Please place this national monument on your "Must Visit" list when set to land in Lisboa, Portugal. Breakfast is a smorgasboard of delectible treats served in grand style. This hotel is pure luxury in every aspect.

As a little extra I had the good fortune of meeting up with a professional "A" class Taxi and Tour guide whom I met outside the palace gate. I have a high degree of confidence that Peter Mendes is not associated to the hotel though he enjoys a healthy respect from the hotel staff. Peter Mendes could not have been more obliging and respectful which thoroughly enhanced my experience. He demonstrated incredible knowledge of his trade, respect for my time, and generosity of spirit which culminated in a fabulous first time visit to this wonderful country.

Give yourself a treat and see the sites of an incredibly beautiful country by car with a well versed tour guide. it is a once in a life time opportunity to see and experience the local culture and flavor of the country. Doing so from accomodations at a grand palace is a perfect combination.

Thank you Pestana Palace and Peter for making my trip so rich with memories!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Kit C,

Thank you for being our Guest.
We are very happy you had a wonderful stay in this “incredible” Hotel and a “fabulous” trip in Portugal.
It is so nice to hear about your stay! It is very good to know that you enjoyed our service, rooms, breakfast and the city.
Mr. Peter Mendes don’t work for the Hotel, but we know him and he is very professional. We will share your comment with him.
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
We wait for you to offer more Memorable Moments in Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful old hotel. Rooms were nice. Bed was a bit firm and i think it had rollers. Location not great as nothing near there. Has some eally cool seating rooms and pretty cool pool. They seemed to get backed up at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Rocker5978,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.
We take your opinion very seriously and we appreciated for your kind remark about our service. We apologize if for some reason the service was longer than usual.
Yes, it is true that we are not in the city center, however we provide to our Guests a shuttle, with different times throughout the day, passing in various points in the city.
Based on the positive notes of your stay, we wait for you in the next time you visit Lisbon.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.