We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best moment of my stay-checking out” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument to your Saves list
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The best moment of my stay-checking out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you want to visit this old building, have a drink in the bar but I would suggest a stay somewhere else. It was a major disappointment. My urgent request at checkin had to be followed up on 3 times, no currency change to break a 20 euro was available at checkout, other than a bath phone, the room was 3 stars and in need of a major upgrade—with a bed that felt like sleeping on plywood, the robes were very cheap, transition to the rooms from the heritage protected common area felt like the jetway from airport terminal to plane, dinner was nothing special, and if you want transportation for almost half the price of the car they provide, taxis are waiting just outside the driveway entrance. Employees in the restaurant were pleasant. The best moment of my stay- checking out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    153
    36
    11
    6
See reviews for
168
388
28
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

the room was ok, though there is no heating in the floor. The beds are too hard for my liking. But the staff is faboulous, and the food was very good. The bartender is in a class of his own, and makes some fantastic drinks (though at a fantastic price one might add). Tried the drycleaning and my jacket came back in pristine condition. I also liked the fact, travelling as we were- two women, that the security at the gate was very good! All in all - recommend this place to anyone

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Galton V,

Thank you very much for your review. We take your opinions in high consideration. It is wonderful to know that you found the hotel gorgeous and elegant, and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the swimming pool and the spa. We highly appreciate the fact that you mention the team work and that you consider it extraordinary – know that it is our priority to provide outstanding service to our guests, and it is always good to know we do it well!
It will be a pleasure to have you back soon!

All the best,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excelent hotel, excelent staff, very quiet and peaceful hotel,
parking should be free to people staying at hotel
beverages should be served near the spa and the swimming pool even before summer time
marvellous and relaxing gardens
a building with an history - great attitude from Pestana to mantain alive the history of this family and this house

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear anahenlou,

Thank you for taking some time to write a review, we highly appreciate your opinions.
Indeed, the Palace is rich in history and we try our best to preserve it! The gardens really are marvelous, and add that special feeling of relaxation just as you said. Thank you very much for your suggestions, we will surely take them under consideration!
We hope to see you again soon at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

All the best,

Paulo
Guest Ambassator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great Hotel with a long history. The main old building is in great shape and the newly built extensions perfectly blend in into the "royal garden". The outside pool area is a master piece and the indoor pool is what you expect as a business traveller to do your laps. The service from Check In, Porter, Breakfast, Gym, Concierge staff - all 5 Star and very well groomed and trained.
The little Park within the property is a lovely place to relax and take a walk. As I was on a conference I could not enjoy too much the Hotel but I will definitely come back on a leisure trip. What a Hotel in such a lovely city as Lisbon. This was my first experience with the Pestana brand and I will watch out for them more often.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good - I stayed in second floor facing the Garden of the Palace. The LG rooms m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello Mr. Kraft,

How are you?
Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor and for your email.
It’s true, this building has a long history since the time of the Monarchy, passing the location of Council of Ministers (1977), until the times of Hotel, there are many stories surrounding the Palace. Inclusive, there are two small palaces near the Hotel which also belonged to the property and now one of them is a private house and the other belongs to an Embassy.
Thank you for recognizing the good performance of our service and to give five star rating in all categories. I will share your opinion with all Team.
We wait for you in a more lengthy stay, so you can enjoy all the space of the Hotel.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I am still here at the palce and words can not tell you how fantastic this palace hotel is. Everything is five stars to the staff, service , gardens, rooms and breakfast buffet. Its in a nice area. Special thanks to Marie at check in and to Rui the shuttle driver to different sites and the best porter. Thank you both again Rui & Maria. First you are given a tour of the grounds, gardens and services, then you are escortted back to your room where your bags are waiting for you. If you want a great price then hit trip advisor, or hotels.com we got a rate of $233 for a double with an upgrade plus free buffet, not even in New York City can you get a five star hotel for that price including taxes. The art work is fantastic too and the dinningrooms are a picture out of an art book. The food served at breakfast is just great. Thank you once again Pestana Palace staff for a great time in a beautiful city, Lisbo. Now if I can only find out where I put my crown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Jim D,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for your high esteem of our hotel and staff.
We will share your comments with Maria João and Rui and for sure they will be encouraged by your remarks.
Glad you had a great time. Please come back soon…your throne is waiting for you.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel really is in an old palace and while the accommodation is in new wings (which is probably a good thing) the ambience of the old palace is there to be enjoyed when dining even just for breakfast.

Further the staff are friendly and helpful and our four nights there were memorable.

While it is a taxi ride away from downtown Lisbon that is not too much of a problem as the taxis are always there and the cost is not great.

And Lisbon - wow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Nick L,

Thank you very much for your review.
We were all happy to learn that the hotel services and facilities met your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and staff courtesy the most.
Lisbon is a city that deserves to be visited more than once. We were delighted that our city had ”WOW effect” on you.
We really hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uetikon am See, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Sometimes these places are stiff. The staff can be so formal that you can't relax. This was not the case here. The hotel used to be a home and this place has that feeling. Te rooms are located in two modern wings that flank the palace...so you feel at home in all the huge public areas.

Breakfast is good. The bar area cozy...with live pianist.

Only slight downer was the size of the standard rooms. They were decent, but a tiny bit small...but perhaps that is only due to the scale of the palace. They do need to update the tv in room...they are low res.

Will go back for sure! It is astonishing the beauty.

Room Tip: Rooms above the pool can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.