We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, and good location for meetings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Save Saved
You added Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 218 hotels in Lisbon
new york
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“beautiful, and good location for meetings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel for business meetings and conferences, and a wonderful place to stay. Most of the bedrooms are in separate, modern buildings, connected by walkways to the main building, so it's a nice combination of gorgeous old public spaces and comfortable, modern accommodations. (That said, I got a chance to see a few of the big suites in the main building because other attendees were staying there - and they were over-the-top fantastic!!!!)

I was fortunate enough to get a room with a private patio close to the lovely pool, spa and workout facility, and loved it. The room itself was very nice: a good size, recently updated, with a comfortable bed, nice linens, and good shower. The in-room wifi was free and lighting-fast.

Customer service was extremely good at check in, at the valet desk, at the hotel bar, and at the conference facilities. Representatives frequently asked whether I was enjoying the stay, and not just as a rote thing to say - they seemed to really care whether the guests were comfortable.

The conference facilities across the street (at the "Stables") were quite good - the meetings ran smoothly from a technology standpoint, and the conference food was pretty good for a hundred person-plus banquet. The only quibble I have is that the service for the meals was sometimes a bit slow.

The hotel itself was not in the center of town, as other reviewers have noted - it was a fairly easy cab ride away, though. I might not recommend it to someone who wants to be in the middle of things, but it is perfect as a quiet refuge away from the center of Lisbon, and it is a perfect place to hold a conference because there are no immediate temptations nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Awdub,

It was very nice to read your comment. Thank you very much for your candid words.
All the staff appreciates your feedback.
We have 21 meeting rooms available and that can be converted on set up that the guests prefer. The Old Stables allow us to have a building to receive all kinds of events.
We apologize if at any time the service speed was not expected.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    553
    122
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
139
322
27
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This beautiful place is where we chose to hold our intimate wedding. My review will be focused mainly on the services provided for our wedding.

For an intimate wedding with around 24 people (including the bride and the groom and the photographer), this place is perfect. We booked the chapel for our civil ceremony, and then one of the beautiful salons for cocktail, and then the dinning room for our wedding dinner.

Initially, a staff has shown us different areas of the hotel during our first visit. He was friendly and gave us a few useful suggestions, since we had no idea how to plan our wedding.
Then we proceeded to contact the event planner through e-mail and phone, but we were actually not very satisfied, as we had to contact her a few times and she didn't seem to care about us. She promised to send an e-mail with information before some given time, but then she failed to do it a few times, and then she'd say that there were important things to take care of and was busy. Funny is, before we could finally confirm our reservation for our wedding, she even went on holidays and didn't say anything to us! I've found it quite insulting, and was almost ready to give this hotel up. But then, we were contacted by another event planner soon. He was more caring, and we could finally advance with the reservations and the details.
For the past few months, we have exchanged a few e-mails to discuss about the options and the details. He was caring, although he seemed to forget about what we wanted a few times (like which salon we wanted and a few other details).

There was a test dinner for us, to see if we will like the dinner menu for our wedding. The dinner was really great, as expected of an hotel of such level. We actually didn't know about the dress code, so we went there with jeans and sneakers, but we didn't feel judged or anything, as the staff was friendly and caring.

At the wedding day, me and my mother were preparing ourselves with our hair and makeup professionals in the suite in which me and my husband stayed for the night. The suit was nice, and we've got to take many nice photos with our photographer during our preparation (can't wait for the photos)!

After our ceremony, we've got our petals and rice rain right outside the chapel. We took group photos, and then the event planner helped us guide the guests to the cocktail salon, while me and my husband proceeded to take some more photos around this beautiful hotel. This hotel is just amazingly beautiful, a great place for a romantic, fairytale kind of wedding!

After taking some photos, we went to the cocktail room too. The guests were enjoying the cocktail food, which was nice. After a while, we've proceeded to the champagne and cake (we wanted it at the cocktail time since after dinner would be too late for some guests). And here is something that actually shocked me - the cake was not really what I've asked for! The cake I've actually asked them to make was a two level one, with each level being a heart shape, with pink color and white cream decoration. They made the cake with the right form, but the colors were exchanged. Also, I've told them that it's ok to change some of the cream decorations to simpler ones (they have said that the ones on the cake I've asked for was a bit too complex), but then they've proceeded to make some ocean star looking flowers around the lowest level, which I didn't find them very matching nor pretty. But the cake was still acceptable, and it's not a big deal to worry too much about it.
After a while, we have proceeded to the dinning room. It was the perfect place for an intimate but grand dinner. We have delayed the dinner for almost an hour before proceeding to the dinning room. I think that as a result of this delay, our soup food came in a bit cold. The soup came in warm if not already cold, which affected the taste of it. And then, the service was also a bit slow, with long time of waiting between the dishes. Also, the dishes' quality was also slightly inferior to the ones we've tried during the test dinner, which was slightly a disappointment. I've asked a replacement plate for one of my mother's dishes, since she can't eat beef, but it was almost forgotten and we had to remind the staff for that.
They have apologized for some of the delays, and they also asked for me and my husband's opinions. We've told them about this, and they were nice and took our opinions into consideration. Later, they also told us that we didn't have to pay for the extra hours, maybe to make up for this.

In the end, the wedding went very well, and the suite room for me and my husband was nice and comfortable. It was a very special and memorable day, and Pestana Palace Hotel, aside of a few details of the service (but they were still friendly and caring), was the perfect place for our wedding. I can't wait for the photos of our photographer, they must be awesome, since they are taken in such a superbly beautiful place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear MonicaValverde,

First of all thank you for choosing Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument for a day so special.
We take this opportunity to wish you all the best. We take all comments into consideration and there is no exception. We work every day with the same commitment and with the intention of providing welfare to our guests and we apologize for any inconvenience that may have been.
We are sure that all colleagues involved gave their best contribution, however we will pass your feedback to the Unit Manager to review what has happened so it doesn’t happen again.
Please accept our apologies.

Atentamente,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The main problem with this hotel is that it caters primarily for conferences and other functions but does not have the number of support staff to do this properly and service its hotel guests at the same time.
The hotel is visually beautiful; lovely public rooms, nice swimming pool and superb gardens. However, the wings are very ordinary. Our garden suite (in one of the wings) was pretty but the bathroom is very congested and the towels were like cardboard. The new wings are not soundproofed properly so the noise level at night is very disturbing. The hotel is on the flight path to Lisbon airport so forget the idea of leaving windows open at night. The room was not cleaned properly on any of the 5 days we were there.
The service was very slow in the entire hotel (although the concierge service was prompt and very effective) and a dinner for four in the restaurant (2 courses) took 3 hours! Although the food was good that evening, the breakfasts varied in quality each morning.
The staff are delightful but completely unable to cope with the number of guests requiring assistance: the bar service was particularly slow.
All this would just about be acceptable if the prices were much lower: at a (reduced) rate of EUR 663 per night for a garden suite the prices are totally unreasonable. The management of the hotel (regional director) thinks his hotel is wonderful, that the staff did everything they could to make our stay pleasant (which they did) apologised for it's shortcomings but offered nothing by way of redress!

Room Tip: Having requested a quiet room, I don't think it matters too much as the noise level is loud. Pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear 185david,

Thank you for your feedback and we take your words in great consideration.
We are very sorry to hear about your stay with us. We appreciate your review and will discuss your comment with the teams, because we value your opinion and we want to always improve.
We are a Hotel also prepared for events/conferences and we have teams set for every situation and we always try to manage each of them so as not to interfere with the operation of the other.
On behalf of all I apologize for any inconvenience.
Based on the positive facts we hope you will offer us a chance to gain back your confidence in our staff, service and product.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
2 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

a great hotel, with a great gsrden views, and guest service. the restaurant and bar pple are amazing, the bartenders are profissional and maitre d´ soberb, santos i think...congratulations, best regards
eliza

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear bitrisantos,

What a great feedback.
Thank you very much for your candid words. We are very happy that the Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument was a positive surprise for you.
The colleague Vítor Santos and the entire staff is very pleased and proud for your positive feedback.
We hope to see you soon in Lisbon.

Best Regards,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here in September as we were thinking of choosing this hotel for our 2013 wedding, and yes I agree with all reviews it is a beautiful hotel with stunning palace rooms in the main building but under the surface not all is quite so good. The food we had at the pool side restaurant was incredibly overpriced for very average food, and not a huge variety either.
We tested out the main restaurant that night for dinner and the room itself is very nice with good service but the food was so over engineered that it was devoid of actual freshness and taste. My wife left most of her duck behind, and I had a trio of meats that were not particularly well cooked ...why don't they just serve good traditional Portuguese dishes without all the French fuss and flair. We were so disappointed as we were certain this was the venue for an amazing celebration on our special day. I must state that breakfast is one of the best I have come across and if they could take their evening food standard to breakfast then it would be a fab hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear mgac56,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory stay with us. Let me just mention that we have extreme care with the food and we use only fresh food every day and we apologize if was not satisfactory.
Your candid feedback is appreciated and will be shared with the Unit Manager.
Based on the positive notes of your stay, we hope you give us another chance the next time you visit Lisbon city.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I went to this hotel when a friend of mine told me that is was one of the best hotels in Portugal. Now i am absolutely agree with him.
This hotel is a 19th century palace and the service makes you feel as the owner of the palace. When you need something you always have somebody to solve offering you a solution.
The garden is a peaceful place, where you can loose yourself. The spa is small but enough, the gym is nice and the 2 swming pool 8indoor an outdoor are delicious,
The only thing that it could not be nice fopr everybody, is that it is quite far away from the center of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Angel T,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor.
You was highly recommended by your friend and we were very pleased that your experience at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument has exceeded your expectations. We agree with everything you said, including the location, because we are not really in the downtown, but we are near to Belém which is another tourist spot.
Consider Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument your home in Lisbon and we hope to see you soon.
It was very nice to read your comment.

Saludos cordiales,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I and another couple stayed 4 nights in September. The rescue from disuse and renovation of the elegent palace has been done superbly, giving a unique set of rooms in the palace building. The staff were excellent and usually knew what we wanted before we did. They were most helpful in planning our sightseeing. The purpose built sets of bedrooms were fine though a little worn after some dozen years since opening. The hotel atmosphere and restaurant were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear PRBligh,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we will surely share with our teams.
We want the guests feel prepared and comfortable to discover the charms of Lisbon. We are glad you enjoyed our staff, we work every day to give Memorable Moments to our guests.
Please come back soon to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument.

Sincerely,

Paulo
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument

Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.