We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altis Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Altis Park Hotel to your Saves list
Altis Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Eng Arantes de Oliveira 9, Lisbon 1900-221, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Portimao, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Normally we stay in a different hotel in Lisbon and we booked this one because the one we normally use had prohibitive prices for our stay (due to a congress happening in the area, we were told). I wasn't particularly excited about staying at this hotel as the location did not seem interesting and nor did the hotel (even though, really, we just needed a clean bed for the night).
As it happens we decided to extend our stay and arrive a night early. The reservations team was very helpful and replied to my emails a few days before very promptly. I had booked our room many months ago and to extend I was first offered a much higher rate for the 2nd night but they soon sorted it so that we could have similar rate and then proceeded to offer us breakfast for both nights (which we had not booked).
This is not a central hotel but the metro is just outside and I found this very convenient. Olaias metro station is also very impressive (huge and colourful).
I can't speak highly enough about the staff. The other hotel we used had very cold and distant staff. This one had young, friendly and chatty staff. The guy that checked us in gave us option of which floor we would prefer. We prefer not such high floors even though the lower floors do not have wi-fi connection (bear this in mind...I believe it's from the 7th floor that you start getting wi-fi; you have free internet by cable on lower floors and free wi-fi in the lobby).
I also had the chance to observe and listen how the receptionists were dealing with guests requests while sitting in the lobby using the internet, and again I found them very polite, friendly and helpful.
The bedrooms are very spacious. We were on the 5th floor and had a decent view over the Tagus river but that wasn't the focus. Breakfast area and staff were also very professional and breakfast had everything for all tastes.
We're definitely going to use this hotel again for our Lisbon stays. We sometimes stay in Lisbon before an early flight and this is ideal to get to the airport. It's just a few stops away in the metro.

Room Tip: Choose higher rooms for wi-fi access and view over Tagus river (some rooms do not face the Tagus, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardoN686, General Manager at Altis Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your kind review at Tripavisor. It is very pleasant to all of us to see that our clients are satisfied with our Hotel and service. We are all very happy with it.

Hope to see you at Altis Park Hotel once you visit lisbon again.

Our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    192
    100
    28
    10
See reviews for
83
155
21
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A good hotel for business, well situated with good communications via Metro to the centre, and also with sites to park the car. The only thing is that it doesn't have wifii in the rooms (only Cable) so you don't have teh choice to connect the Smartphone to the internet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardoN686, General Manager at Altis Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your kind review at Tripavisor. It is very pleasant to all of us to see that our clients are satisfied with our Hotel and service. We are all very happy with it.

Hope to see you at Altis Park Hotel once you visit lisbon again.

Our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is very good but when you enter the first you feel that the reception and the surrounding
is small compared to the size and the height of the hotel.However the reception staff are very good and co-operative.Though the size of rooms are small they are very clean.The breakfast
was good.The interesting places like Baixa,Belem Tower,St.Jerome Monastery are not that far
from the hotel.In short the is very good to stay with family\ group and the location is near to the
airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardoN686, General Manager at Altis Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank You so much for your kind review at Tripadvisor. We are all very pleased that you have enjoyed to stay at Altis Park Hotel. We try to do our best and it is very gratefull to read so nice words about your stay with us.
Hope to meet you once you come to Lisbon again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe. UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The first decision we had to make on arriving at Lisbon Airport was - how to get to the hotel. Our choice wasn't helped by speaking with two young locals one of whom recommended a taxi (at 10 Euros) the other, who lived near the hotel, recommended the Metro.(The Olaias metro stops virtually outside the hotel door and is 1.40 Euros per person). Because we're getting on a bit in years we opted for the taxi going but, as we already had tickets, the Metro on the way back. (It is on the same line but does include some stairs).

As to the hotel one of the really good points were the two concierge we met, one was Marco; unfortunately I didn't get the name of the other but my wife had left her Smart phone charging in the lobby. We had travelled one stop on the Metro before she realised. I left her with the bags and caught another train back. I arrived at the hotel just in time to stop the concierge from giving the mobile to a taxi driver he had summoned, to take the phone to the airport in an attempt to return it. Above and beyond the call of duty in my opinion.

Another good point was the price of food. Because we stayed out all day seeing the sights we couldn't be bothered with getting changed and going out again, so we decided to eat in. We had the buffet each night. This consisted of a soup, an extensive cold buffet followed by a choice of meat or fish hot buffet plus veg. This was finished off with a choice of deserts. All for the princely sum of 18 euros. Wine was reasonably priced.also. This said, whilst the food was good it was not inspired.

It is worth noting that there is a Chinese restaurant just past the Metro entrance. We tried it one evening but it was an 'all you could eat' buffet for 8 euros. Talk about a scramble! Three televisions going, screaming kids, sit where you can etc. We didn't stay but another night it might be different.

Breakfast was included in our package and again offered a fairly extensive choice of essentails including grilled (streaky) bacon, scrambled egg and garlic mushrooms. It is interesting to note that 'Johnny Foreigner' has now adopted this dish in preference to his normal cold meats etc.

Whilst the large reception lobby has comfy seating the bedroom furniture was more 'Travel Lodge' quality than that expected in a 4 star establishment. This said the bed was comfy and the rooms were spotlessly clean.

All in all we were more than happy with the hotel relative to what it cost us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardoN686, General Manager at Altis Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank You so much for your kind review at Tripadvisor. We are all very pleased that you have enjoyed to stay at Altis Park Hotel. We try to do our best and it is very gratefull to read so nice words about your stay with us.
Hope to meet you once you come to Lisbon again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumkur, Karnataka, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

It is very near to the airport. Well maintained, clean and a great place to stay. The breakfast was ok. It has a small gift shop. The staff are polite. Near this hotel there is a small mall. There are very good eating places at this hotel.
rents in

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo N, Manager at Altis Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for your kind review at Tripavisor. It is very pleasant to all of us to see that you are satisfied with the Hotel and service.
Hope to see you and your family at Altis Park Hotel once you visit Lisbon again.

Our best regards.

Bernardo Nobre
Geral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tondela, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I choose this hotel mainly because I wanted to get quickly to the airport for an early flight. For those who want to stay in the city center, this it’s very out of place. In the other hand, you have the subway just outside the hotel and this is one of most beautiful subway stations in the world. It's called Olaias.

I spent only one night in the hotel but I can perfectly tell how comfortable and clean the rooms are. The bathroom was a little old, but functional and very clean too. You also have toiletries made with olive oil.

You will have at your disposal very friendly and professional staff.

Be aware that the hotel is in the descending path to the airport, so that you will hear the jets approaching the ground. Sleep will be disturbed if you are not a heavy sleeper.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Tejo river. You won't regret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo N, Manager at Altis Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for your kind review at Tripavisor. It is very pleasant to all of us to see that our clients are satisfied with the Hotel and service.
Hope to see you at Altis Park once you visit Lisbon again.

Our best regards.

Bernardo Nobre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTO ALEGRE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Altis Park Hotel is a nice place to stay in Lisbon, Portugal. The hotel is not located in the central touristic area but it's only a few subway stations from the Rossio station or other central stations that lead you to the historical area. The subway station (Oleias) is right at the corner from the hotel Altis. The hotel personel is very friendly and breakfast is complete with fruits and everything esle ... the rooms are clean and quiet. Certainly a nice place to stay in beautiful and friendly Lisbon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goncalo D, Gerente geral at Altis Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your kind review at Tripavisor. It is very pleasant to all of us to see that our clients are satisfied with our Hotel and service. We are all very happy with it.

Hope to see you at Altis Park Hotel once you visit lisbon again.

Our best regards.

Gonçalo Durão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Altis Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Park Hotel

Address: Av Eng Arantes de Oliveira 9, Lisbon 1900-221, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#79 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Altis Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altis Park Hotel is a 4-star hotel near Lisbon airport (10 minutes), ideally situated for events. 300 rooms, 11 meeting rooms, restaurants and garage parking. Located near the Parque das Nações, 10 minutes from Lisbon airport (5 km), Altis Park Hotel is situated on one of Lisbon's seven hills with breathtaking views overlooking the city and the Tagus River. A highly functional 4-star hotel ideally suited for your business needs by its proximity to Lisbon airport as well as having a Metro station only metres from the door (Olaias Station - red line)with direct line to Airport and Parque das Nações. The Altis Park Hotel offers a modern Congress Centre with 11 fully equipped and refurbished meeting rooms plus a large Auditorium for 280 people. The Hotel Altis Park has 300 newly refurbished rooms, Garage parking, Restaurant and Bar. Leisure and Sport on your doorstep Situated only 100 metres from the Hotel Altis Park, the Olaias Club sports complex has two swimming pools, tennis courts, squash, health club with gym, sauna, Hammam, jacuzzi, hairdresser and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Altis Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Lisbon
Lisbon Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altis Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.