We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An orrible stay in such a beautiful city” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eduardo VII

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eduardo VII to your Saves list
Hotel Eduardo VII
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Fontes Pereira De Melo, 5, Lisbon 1069-114, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Rome, Italy
1 review
“An orrible stay in such a beautiful city”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been for 5 days in this hotel and I'm completely not satisfied about it, so that I don't recommend to book it to anybody.
1) About the rooms: they're small and essential, but that's ok comparing the service to the price.
On the other hand we found two cockroaches in our rooms, so we're not only disgusted but also disappointed. This because the receptionist answered at our questions in this way: "when it's warm it's normal to find cockroaches". No, it's not.
2) About the hotel: it's near to the city centre, 20 minutes walking or just 5 taking the underground, but the building it' very old. For instance an elevator is without a door, so a bit scaring, while the other one is very small, and not safe because of broken glasses which should protect you from falling down. Even if there's a busy road there's no problem with the noise.
3) About the food: we found it disgusting. The meat did not taste as always and when my friend asked for a roast beef it was not cooked at all. But the worst thing is that we gave a paper with all the necessities of a friend who was allergic to lots of thing, well this paper has completely been ignored, so could not eat there. At breakfast even not considering that there was a few possibilities I cannot call jam what was proposed as, and that's only an example. In general we can say that the best dishes were the cakes which were probably bought.
4) About the staff: they were really kind to everyone and I can make only my congratulations to them.
In conclusion I would never come back to Hotel Eduardo VII if the evident problem are not solved first.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    153
    230
    101
    69
See reviews for
126
215
40
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
651 reviews 651 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

You can't complain too much when you only pay £95 for three nights including breakfast. The staff are polite and there is an old chap in uniform who insists on acting as bellhop who will take you up in one of the two old fashioned lifts to your room. My room on the fourth floor overlooked a courtyard and was quiet, clean but small. Bathroom was clean and the room was cleaned every day. The tv is small and ancient and fairly useless if you don't speak Portuguese, the heating works, the shower works but the wifi doesn't in the room,but you can go down to the empty lounge on the mezzanine floor where it does and there's a bigger television with more channels if that's what you want. There's a mini bar in the room, a safe and a lot of dark wood furniture. The breakfast room / bar /restaurant on the 10th floor is a great place to sit and have breakfast at one of the outer tables in a sort of conservatory. The breakfast is basic fare, the only hot item being scrambled eggs. If you're not happy the Restaurant Coringa a few yards away does decent food at good prices and stays open late. Get the 736 bus from about 100 yards away near the Marques de Pombal roundabout or take the metro form the middle of the roundabout or go to the massive park and walk right to the top for two restaurants with great views. I went here because compared to other places in Lisbon it was cheap and it was exactly as expected. If you want flat screen TVs and larger buffet breakfasts, larger rooms, pay more elsewhere. The yellow bus from the airport stops a few yards away.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will suffer from noise from the busy road outside and you might not want to be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

The Hotel was cheap, this was the main reason why I chose it, but as it was a three star rated, I thought the risk was acceptable.
The water was only luke warm, so a bath was out of the question and the shower was very poor as the pressure was so low.
The room was very noisy facing a major road and junction.
We only had breakfast, which was enough, the bread and pastries were stale, the ham was awful and resembled spam, the juice was not fresh fruit juice but warm squash.
No internet in the rooms.
I suppose that if you just want a place to lay down(too noisy to sleep) you get what you pay for.
With hindsight I will pay an extra few quid and have a pleasant stay elsewhere.
Matt Ball

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Intravelled single. I was looking for a middle priced clean hotel, not a hostel, i wanted a quiet clean room. The room was quiet, but everything was impoverished. There was fungus on the wall of the bathroom. The wooden floor was not antique but really sticky old. The sheets of the bed were clean. The toilet seat was not firm. It was an antique hotel, but truly not clean. I had to shower next to the walls with blue fungus, never did it before, so that was quiet an adventure. The reception is open 24 hours, so thats nice, and the internet is working well, even on the 6th floor. I didn t complain because i came very late in the evening and would leave early in the morning. The older person behind the reception was kind of crumpy. The younger man was more professional and nice. Unless you are a biologist, i would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Change rooms, perhaps they have better ones. There was however a couple who said exactly the same wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Good value, great location ,short walk to hop on off tour bus.15 minutes from air port, take airport bus one and get dropped of just passed the hotel .
Rooms are showing there age but clean, you get what you pay for and at $50 don't expect the Ritz.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Great old hotel close to the park Eduardo which gives great views down to the river and an outstanding photo opportunity.This is a 3 star hotel living in the 70/ 80's but has the character to be a choice hotel in a great position for the airport bus and the numerous open bus tours taking you around the sights of Lisbon.The. are rooms are dated as is most of the hotel but all are essentially clean with great service and the bar restaurant on the 10th floor has great views,good prices and servive.Don't be put off with any other reviews his is a great hotel full of character and charm.

Room Tip: lower floor room for wifi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eduardo VII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eduardo VII

Address: Av Fontes Pereira De Melo, 5, Lisbon 1069-114, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eduardo VII 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Eduardo VII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eduardo Vii Hotel
Eduardo Vii Lisbon
Best Western Lisbon
Lisbon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eduardo VII, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.