We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Decor, Movie Star-Themed Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Florida to your Saves list
Hotel Florida
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Duque De Palmela, 34, Lisbon 1250-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Northeast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun Decor, Movie Star-Themed Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

A fun place to stay for a night and to start our vacation. Bed and room were comfortable; lobby very attractive in black and white motif. Movie star-themed rooms

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

We'd like to take this opportunitty to, once again, thank you for your stay.

We are glad that you liked your stay.

Please come back.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    210
    86
    22
    18
See reviews for
109
174
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We just got back from Lisbon and stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Location is great and is very close the old town and across from the bus tourist depot. Hotel staff is very friendly, breakfast was good (continental). The building next door is under renovation so there was hammering and drilling during the 5-working days. The bathroom had a funny smell. Will rate this hotel a three start not four.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Mr/Mrs Lacatus,

Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel, breakfast and staff.

We're sorry about the constructions on a nearby building, but they are almost finished (finally !!).

We truly look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Booked three room at the Florida for four nights at a very reasonable rate. The hotel was very clean and comfortable with a very relaxed atmosphere. the breakfast seemed expensive at 10 euros, but was well worth it - huge choice, very fresh, and the view from the breakfast room was wonderful, overlooking the Marquis de Pombal square. The reception staff were fantastic, particularly the dark-haired lady with glasses - she really went out of her way to find out train times etc. for us, and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
The only disadvantage is that there is a limited number of restaurants within walking distance, but as we enjoy a walk after our evening meal this was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review.

You made the day for our team and specially Sónia, the "dark-haired lady with glasses".

We truly look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Found a deal for this hotel and from the previous reviews, I thought this hotel would be okay as I wanted a hotel in a good location. It was definitely central enough but the bathroom smelled like sewage from the drains. Same complaint from a previous review. The stench was so bad that i couldn't even take a shower as I couldn't stand being in the room. Stayed only one night and had to change to another to enjoy Lisbon. Despite the negative, the room was clean and the sleep was restful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for your review.

We apologise for not providing a perfect stay at our Hotel.

Our team is working to improve our conditions and give all guest the best stay in the city center.

We hope that, in the future, you can give us another chance to welcome you at Hotel Florida.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed 3 days at this hotel. And the price was great for a 4 star.

The location was good because it is in the most famous square of Lisbon. However this is not the most popular square in terms of tourist attractions and restaurants etc. From that point if you like bing in the thick of things then the location is not the greatest. The metro is of course only a minute or two away.

The staff were very nice and helpful. We were checked in early despite the hotel being full. The breakfast at 11 euro was pricy and was not that great.

The rooms were large and beds comfortable. The toilet / bath was clean.

No free wifi which was a huge negative coming from a Madrid hotel which gave not only the wifi but free lap top as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear Sharda,

Thank you so much for your review and comments. We are truly grateful that you did enjoy our hotel service and staff.

Regarding the breakfast and wi-fi comments, we'll work harder to improve them and to serve you better the next time.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We split our stay, 2 days at Florida, one night away, then a third night at the hotel. The second room (622 be aware!) was smelly, had a noisy aircon and the builders started throwing rubble down a plastic chute at "goodness o'clock" the next morning. We arrived at the room.. it smelled of drains, complained & was offered an alternative. By which time (after opening the window) the smell had dissipated & we thought it would be OK. OOOPS big mistake. When we arrived back after a night out in Lisbon the smell was terrible & the aircon started made a banging noise every 30 mins -- we spent a lot of time waiting for it to go bang. Bad night. A shame as it is the 2nd visit to Florida (we were there last year) generally good, friendly & clean with a fab position. Book it but ask for room other side of building site & NOT 622!

Room Tip: Ask for room otherside of building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear Guest (CityBreaker57),

Thank you for your review.

If, on one hand we are glad that you had a very nice first stay, on the other hand we feel sad that the second part didn't work so well.

We are now working on improving everything you mentioned on that room. Regarding the construction noise, it was coming from another building (not ours) and, fortunatelly they are almost finishing the noisy works. Your review was very helpful as we got these constructors to start working later in order not to disturb our clients.

Please accept our apologies for not having a perfect stay at this Hotel.

We hope that you can give us another chance to welcome you at Hotel Florida.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

fantastic fully equipped spacious big room with coffe maker. Very helpful staff, extremely close to metro & restaurants. Superb value for money. The interiors are done up in the most fascinating antique yet contemporary style Black & White. The rooms & interiors are themed after Old hollywood movies & actors.

Room Tip: Close to the metro & Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Costa, General Manager at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear Guest (Monalisa777),

We are delighted with our review and specially with the feeling that your stay at Hotel Florida was perfect. That's our goal.

Thank you for supporting us.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

David Costa
GM
Hotel Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Rua Duque De Palmela, 34, Lisbon 1250-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#72 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#79 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Florida 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm and Intimacy at this Stylish Lisbon Hotel With a convenient location near many attractions, Hotel Florida is a premier Lisbon boutique hotel choice. The hotel offers easy access to all parts of the city as it sits steps away from an underground station. Delightful and welcoming, guests will enjoy a true sense of retro style and design. Explore the historic city and return to delicious dining, comfortable and spacious guestrooms, and great service. Hotel Florida is a top Lisbon hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Lisbon
Best Western Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.