We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SANA Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SANA Rex Hotel to your Saves list
SANA Rex Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Castilho, 169, Lisbon 1070-051, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
York, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

I also had the interesting experience of arriving at the hotel and having to move to another hotel in the chain. But it was also a very good hotel for the money, I held them rigidly to the agreement that they had and they paid for taxis to the other Sana hotel and paid for the one the next day. They had a problem with the building work going on in the hotel and it was not an untruth. I do wonder if the problem is turning up at the hotel after 9pm.

I was back at the Sana Rex the next day and (deliberately) arrived before the new room was available so that I would not lose out on any time on exploring Lisbon. Having been messed around by another type of hotel in Madrid last year I was not going to suffer here.

The staff could not have been more helpful and were very tolerant of my attempts at Portuguese. The Portuguese were generally very helpful in attempts to comunicate. All the hostel staff were really nice that I had anything to do with.

The hotel is modern, very clean and the food was excellent. Though the first Sana hotel had mushrooms for breakfast and this one does not do them. The breakfast room is unusual in that it has mock wooden pillars, a bit like a pretentious British pub.

Yes, it is a steep hill to the hotel, but the exercise is worth it. Get a Lisboa Card and it saves you time buying travel tickets around Lisbon and gives you big discounts or free entrance to many of the attractions and trips. Sadly this cannot be obtained from the hotel. There are two 5 star hotels next door it is a classy area.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Not being available on the first night
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    90
    58
    20
    5
See reviews for
40
89
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

Despite the ongoing,and rapidly progressing renovations, this hotel and staff were exceptional. We were given a quiet room facing the back on the 8th fl. They supply an enormous choice for breakfast, both hot and cold, better than I expected. Our room had just been re-done and everything smelled brand new, the bottom 5 floors were being done when we left, as was the lobby. The staff was terrific,from directions, suggestions, to even mailing postcards and getting our cab to the airport. It's also a great location directly across from a beautiful park that was blooming in the perfect weather we were blessed with for mid-March. Metro and bus service a short walk away. We would definatly stay there again.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2006

We recently had the misfortune of booking a room in the Sana Rex for one night in October 2006 through [-]. We called to get directions only to hear that there was a 'problem' with our room and we should still come to the hotel for an explanation and alternative accommodation. This was an extremely busy weekend in Lisbon with most hotels being booked out so we could not find any alternative 3* or greater hotel. So we went to the hotel trusting the manager promises. We arrived exhausted at around 7pm only to find that the manager had no explanation for the loss of our reservation, no reason why he had not called us to inform us earlier (this is after all why a contact number is given at the time of reservation) and despite assuring us that the alternative was a hotel of equivalent standard that he would pay our taxi transfer to the new hotel we found that neither were true. After going to the alternative accommodation (where he lied and told us he had negotiated a very special rate when the rate was in fact their normal rate), some 2hrs of arguing with both hrs (who were not able to do anything) and being unsatisfied with the alternative hotel which was by no means a 3*, the Sana Rex manager miraculously he claimed that a room had become available at 9pm. He stated that there had been a cancellation, meaning that there was in fact an empty room when we arrived at 7pm. I cannot believe the amount of ditress caused by this mismanaged and at best adequate hotel and the rudeness we endured.

If you are lucky enough to get a room they are extremely (actually unbelievably) small. The walls are thin and can often hear the other guests, however the rooms are clean and not too old. Breakfast is OK, but nothing great. The only good thing about this hotel is the location but it's a good 7-10min walk form the nearest metro stop (uphill for those of you are taking heavy baggage). I dont think this hotel deserves the high rating it currently has on the trip advisor website.

If you do stay in this hotel I would reccommend that you call to ensure that a room is in fact available for you, as in my experience having an accepted reservation does not mean that they will honour it. I believe that if a hotel accepts a reservation it is their duty to tell you as soon as possible that this cannot be honoured. In my opinion, not telling you until you arrive is a gross dishonesty that leaves expectant travellers stranded. This behaviour show a blatant disregard for customers and therefore I would never stay in a Sana hotel again. I think the callous attitude of the management towards their guests is a real shame on the entire Sana chain.

  • Liked — moderately clean and not too old
  • Disliked — unreliable booking
  • Tips/Secrets — dont go there!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

This hotel was fantasic. It was clean (to the point of Scrupolous) The staff could not have been friendlier. Breakfast was everything you could want. The room was small but very well decorated. The hotel is also vey central, near the metro. I would definately return.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — There was a big hill down to the town
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

Just after getting back form our wonderful stay in Portugal and just have to recommend this hotel. I was travelling with my one year old daughter and the hotel staff could not do enough to accommodate us. The rooms were spotless, breakfast was quiet good and the hotel is in a great location only minutes from the metro (there is quiet a steep hill though). The hotel also faces onto a nice park with a playground and ponds. It's also very near the El Corte Ingles for shopping. And what a bargain! We got four nights B&B for only €300! The only negative thing I can say about the hotel is that they did not have any baby highchairs but having said that I didn't come across any restaurant or cafe in our 4 day stay that did have them (even McDonalds at the zoo did not have one!). Would

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2005

Staff was indifferent at best. Bedding is subpar. Location is OK you can walk to the Metro or in the city center. Had money stolen out of the room from the maid. After a few days moved down the street to the Sofitel.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2005

We found that all the staff were very efficient and friendly. Only complaint was they didn't allow us to practise our Portugese! Benefits from location overlooking the park and El Corte Ingles. Taxi rank 50 metres from front door.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SANA Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Rex Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho, 169, Lisbon 1070-051, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Rex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of Lisboa, near the renowned Parque Eduardo VII, SANA Rex Hotel takes its inspiration from the typically Portuguese spirit, offering a welcoming and traditional environment in each of its spaces: 59 rooms and 9 suites, reception, bar and restaurant for breakfast and groups. SANA Rex Hotel offers a fantastic view over the extensive green area of Parque Eduardo VII, the entire historic area of Lisbon and the River Tejo, which can be appreciated from one of the rooms with veranda or the panoramic meeting and events room. Near Marquês de Pombal, SANA Rex Hotel is just a short walk from the famous Avenida da Liberdade, the historic centre of Lisbon and the well-known shopping centres El Corte Inglés. The hotel’s privileged location allows quick access to access routes and public transport, with excellent connections to all points of the city of Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SANA Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Sana Rex
Classic Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Classic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SANA Rex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.