We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Disgrace” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Forno Velho

Forno Velho
Rua do Salitre 42, Lisbon 1250-200 , Portugal
213 533 706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,417 of 2,352 Restaurants in Lisbon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Marbella
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolute Disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We only entered this, I hesitate to call it " restaurant", because it was pouring with rain and we couldn't find any other place open on a Sunday. It was truly awful. We had to wait for an hour to give our order, then un ordered cheese and hams were placed on our table and were told we would get charged only if we ate it. Finally our order arrived and it was dreadful. The service was deplorable, the 2 waiters seemed to prefer watching the TV than serving, although due to the rain I suppose, there were quite a few customers. Don't go there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    12
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Incredibly friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Staff couldn't be friendlier or more welcoming, great starters, mains hit and miss (depends on the chef?), but definitely a good range.

Easy location if you're in one of the nearby hotels.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were 'lured' to this restaurant by a charming young man passing out flyers on Ave. da Liberdade. The restaurant is on a side street (Rua do Salitre). We were a little skeptical of the 'interesting' decor, but ended up enjoying a traditional Portuguese dinner of bacalhau (cod), rice and beans, which we think was prepared by the Mama of the family run restaurant. It was delicious and very reasonably priced. Also, the 'Special Sangria", was just that. Very good, very friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A mistake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Restaurant next door was closed for 1st May so we took a chance on this one. we were served by a very friendly Cape Verdian. The owner scowled in the background but maybe he was having a bad day. Food was mediocre and expensive. We were charged €8.50 for a starter we didn't order. Main prawns were good but fluffy cod tasteless. Avoid and go next door.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Open Sunday - nice food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was difficult to find a restaurant to go to on a Sunday night and we came across this one. The decor looked a bit dated but the staff were welcoming and the food basic but good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forno Velho also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Forno Velho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forno Velho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.