We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“give this place 5 stars!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brown's Downtown to your Saves list
Brown's Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dos Sapateiros 69-79, Lisbon 1100579, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #61 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“give this place 5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Had a great stay in Brown's Downtown. Location is very central, yet quiet. Rooms are lovely, very functional and so much more than you expect from a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. We try our best to provide our clients the feeling of being home, while right in the centre of a busy city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    216
    55
    10
    2
See reviews for
34
283
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed for three nights in June and it was just the perfect place to be. It's in walking distance from all the main attractions and the room felt like a little oasis after a day of walking around the city (it was 38 degrees!). I can highly recommend it for people who appreciate a modern place and don't need the traditional feel (having said that, once you open the juliet balcony doors, you feel like you're in Lisbon). The staff was lovely and the place has a great atmosphare. We booked six months in advanced and got a fantastic deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay at Brown's Downtown Hotel. We do our best to offer our guests that feeling of “oasis” that you have experienced. We hope to have you again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This little hotel just hasn’t grown up yet!!! I would love to have rated this hotel higher – and just like some other reviews have mixed feelings about our stay at the Brown’s Down Town. My twenty something kids would have loved this hotel with its individually decorated rooms, ipod docking station, Mac computer (although connectivity was unreliable), hair dryer with diffuser, rainfall shower with glass doors, funky lighting, cool chairs and chic art….but, for the practical, older traveler, it lacked some basic needs. The black-out drapes were great if you wanted to close out the morning sunshine, but with no sheers to stop prying eyes from the neighbours across the street you either have to keep the shades drawn and dress in the dark, or open them and dress in the bathroom. Speaking of bathroom – and I hope this was a one off – ours had a weird smell that I can only describe as “cat”. Yes, I have a cat, and this room definitely had that “tom cat” smell. Although we did tell reception about this on a couple of occasions during our four night stay, there really was no relief from the smell – or any offer to move us to a different room – which would have gained so much good will. The shower although all glass and rain, was small and the door did not open fully as the bathroom is too small – hence the sliding doors in and out – no room for one on hinges. As for the most practical needs – there were three small drawers and four hangers for all our clothing for four days!!! As I say, cool, chic, but not very practical. I would have swapped the kitchenette for more closet space, the Mac for a little more floor space, the chic table and chairs for somewhere to put my make-up and hair products....oh and give me some coffee to get me started in the morning please. We had a medium room – but even for European standards – it was very small. Shame really, because the hotel was really well located, the staff was young, laid back and very friendly – so we were made to feel very welcome and there was no unnecessary formality. When this hotel grows up a little, I might well return. Until then, I’ll stick to the more traditional, less hip experience.

Room Tip: Get a large room and avoid room 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for the time you have taken in writing your review about our hotel.
We care for our guests’ opinions and try to improve every day, so we become disappointed when someone is not satisfied.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We recently spent a week in Lisbon staying at this small boutique apartment hotel. We chose it primarily for its superb location and in that respect we were not disappointed. A short walk from Rossio Square (ideal for airport shuttle access, train station etc) it is close to a lot of major attractions, hop on/off trams, sightseeing buses, restaurants. Of course being in the centre of it all does create other problems. We had specifically asked for an upper floor room to block out any noise factor issues but the rubbish collection which seemed to be on a daily basis at varying times in the early morning (and I mean early morning - 1am, 3am.........!!!!!!) was incredibly loud and woke us up on several occasions. We had taken into consideration the fact that there would be late partygoer noise to cope with on the Friday and Saturday night but didn't realise that this happened on other nights as well!!!!! Saying all of this the location is still a drawcard and especially for those on business and with physical probloms that prohibit them from staying in other parts of the city.

We had booked a medium size room. Thank goodness we didn't book the standard!!!!!! One of our other reasons for choosing Browns was its amenities. Indeed there was a Mac computer, an ipod docking station, a large TV and comfortable bed. There was also a kitchenette - a very compact kitchenette!!! Mini fridge, sink, all crockery/cutlery etc. It appeared to have four drawers - only two were drawers!!!! Opposite was the open robe also with said four drawers and also very compact.........need I say more. Basically the room was taken up with the required amenities and little space for anything else. Now we come to the bathroom........very very small but with one of those wonderfully large showerheads which did compensate somewhat for the ever pervading smell. It was terrible and when we discussed it with reception staff they confirmed that there are plumbing problems and in particular in the room we had!!!!!! They had received many complaints in this regard, had had plumbers in but still could not correct the issue. They said it was perhaps due to the age of the area, its proximity to the river etc but we did mention the fact that we had been to Venice a few times and hadn't experienced anything similar there......enough said. Hopefully they will be able to correct this because it is something that could definitely influence repeat business.

Little things were absent in a room that really seemed to cater for a person on business in Lisbon - a male person on business in Lisbon!!!!!! Yes, there was an ironing board and iron supplied, a hairdryer, the usual toiletries etc but the only bin in the room was a small one in the said very small bathroom so really one wouldn't want to do some supermarket shopping and cook (although that would have eliminated maybe the bathroom smell). Suitcase and storage space was at a minimum and daily cleaning was certainly suspect.

On the good side (as with location) the decor and furnishings of Browns reflect the increasingly popular "trendy/chic" ambience. Free coffee is on hand in a welcoming foyer/lounge concept and the rooms are decorated in a modern and minimalistic style which unfortunately gets lost in the space and technology provided!! Staff were very helpful and efficient. Ricardo in particular was a mine of information on all sightseeing, restaurant and general "getting around" Lisbon issues and virtually demanded practical criticism on what we considered would improve the hotel and occupancy numbers.

It is well located, the concept and what it offers are there but there is also plenty of competition. In this economic climate times are tough for tourism in every area and unfortunately Browns Downtown needs to address the "downside".

Room Tip: Definitely a top floor room, the larger the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
The decision to set Brown’s Downtown Hotel in Sapateiros street took into account the advantage of being close to most touristic attractions, commerce and all means of transport. Yet, the Lisbon’s downtown area has restriction rules imposed by the local council, as coming to traffic, rubbish collection, parking, etc.. Most of buildings in downtown are “Pombalino” architectural style, constructed after the 1755 earthquake, on wooden stakes above water streams that flow to the river. Related to that, when there is low tide there is a little sewage smell in the area.
As to the hotel, we have different typology of rooms, so each room is unique as far as decoration is concerned. Our staff enjoys sharing with our guests everything they know about the city and touristic attractions, in order to provide a more pleasant stay here. We really care for the comfort of our guests, so we want to know what they need to feel like being home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My boyfriend & I went to Lisbon in March and had 2 nights at Brown's. We pulled up outside & immediately wondered where we were! A small backstreet with a building that certainly didn't look like a hotel. That opinion changed as soon as we went inside. (Taxi cost us €16 from airport). It was like a hip & chic art gallery, the decor was lovely. The lady on reception was superb. She spoke brilliant English, and gave us a map of the area, telling us where everything was, recommended places to visit & told us how to get there on public transport.
Our room was one of the small ones, which had a tiny balcony. The view wasn't great, in fact it looked out into the back of the hotel, and the back of the restaurant next door, but still, as smokers, it was perfect to have a balcony, as we didn't want to smoke in the room.

The room was perfect for 2 days, but I would recommend the larger size one if you go for any longer. It was very compact & had lovely decor, bedding, furniture, cooking & fridge facilities (not to mention the Apple Mac & docking station). The shower en-suite was small but nice, however, it is right next to the bed, and you can hear everything through the doors - just a word of warning(!!!)

The only complaint I had, and was no fault of the hotels, was some stupid woman walking in heels through the corridor at 3am each morning, and talking really loudly & drunkenly not being able to open her door. She woke up every resident & it was very annoying. It does go to show that some noise does pass through the doors of hotel rooms, however like I said, it was just this one woman making a racket!
The other man we saw on reception was also very friendly, helping me to work out how to get the bus down to Albufeira on the next leg of our trip. The staff were wonderful, and prime location.
There are a lot of beggers, musicians & drug dealers in the city (but where isn't there i suppose), so watch your bags, wallets etc. The food in the area was spot on, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and if we go back to Lisbon, will definitely stay there again. Especially at the bargain price we got this - £93 for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Go for the larger room if staying more than 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
Our staff is one of our best assets, so, we are glad that their effort to please our clients has been recognized. And, we are also happy to know that our concern with design and decoration is appreciated by our clients. We hope to have you again in Browns Downtown Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Brown's Downtown. Very clean, centrally located and a great value for what you receive. Staff was very helpful. Bed was comfy. Book early for best deal.

Only 2 issues during our stay. One is when the AC shuts off there is a jarring noise that sounds like a door slamming. It may wake you up if you are a light sleeper. We got used go it. Second is the lack of soundproofing near the doors. Locking/unlocking is very noisy and disturbing to hear in the middle of the night. One might think someone is trying to get into your room at first. Not too sure these issues could've been remedied during our stay. For the cost & location we put up with it.

This place is above & beyond better than what is available in the neighborhood. Competitors should take note.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We strive to deliver the best value to our customers. So, besides our cozy hi-tech rooms with kitchenette, we have internet and a nice coffee machine, all free of charge. Our clients’ opinions are our drive to get better. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

So central and a great boutique type hotel. The rooms are quite small but are very up to date in design. The shower was just great and the air conditioning worked just fine (criticisms of other reviews). There were some minor things on the finish of the room that needed to be better, and the shower cubicle design meant that every time the shower was used the bathroom floor got wet.
Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and that was one of the best aspects of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao G, Gerente de relações públicas at Brown's Downtown, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for being our guest. We hope to have you back in Brown’s Downtown Hotel and experience the comfort of a different room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brown's Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Downtown

Address: Rua Dos Sapateiros 69-79, Lisbon 1100579, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#51 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#55 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Downtown Hotel is the coolest hotel in Lisbon downtown.Staying in our hotel means to undergo singular sensations. The building dates from the XVIII century, but is completely rebuilt with contemporary lines and materials. The lobby combines pieces of well-known designers, good music and an informal reception. Trendy rooms, equipped with up-to-date technology and a functional kitchenette are offered to ease our guests' stay.Brown's Downtown is design. Brown's Downtown is hi-tech.Brown's Downtown is smiling staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Brown's Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Downtown Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.