We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in Lisbon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercador

Save Saved
You added Mercador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercador
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua de Sao Jose, 164, Lisbon 1150-248, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 200 Specialty lodging in Lisbon
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in this lovely place for a few nights. It has an excellent location in the center. The building has character. The apartment was very comfortable, cozy and quiet. It was very tastefully decorated. The breakfast portions were very generous. The staff was very friendly and made excellent recommendations for sight-seeing, restaurants and transport. We would highly recommend Mercador. It's a great value for the money and it offered us a very comfortable place to unwind and relax after full days of running around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    14
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
65
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A very nice place in a perfect location. Luis was very helpful in providing recommendations for points of attractions, restaurants and places to visit. Very easy access from any important part of Lisbon. I would very much recommend it for a romantic stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Mercador is a perfect little place, cool, clean and comfortable, ideal for a short or long stay. It is clean, charming and very conveniently located. Staff are friendly both Luis & Joao were very accommodating, helpful. Luis knowledge of the city and where best to eat was amazing and as result we had amazing sea food in Lisbon.

Room Tip: If you can go to the Sea food restaurant near Rossio station, its called Pinnocio. If it is a nice w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Mercador Hotel is a lovely place, I am so glad we found it. It was very different to the usual hotels as there is no reception etc, and we would definitely stay again. Juan and Luis were very helpful, charming and informative and Juan gave us his personal number in case we should need anything, which was useful with there being no reception. Happily we didnt have any problems so didnt need to ring him. We had two of the suites. Dom St Maria and Dom Joao, both really lovely and very spacious with lovely furnishings. They were cleaned each day, and the fridge was topped up with lots of nice breakfast items, more than enough for what we needed. Nice little touches like fresh bread, fresh ground coffee, biscuits and fruit. On arrival everywhere looks quite dark but the entrance lights up automatically and the staircase is beautifully tiled in old Portugese blue tiling. The building is in one of Lisbon`s oldest streets and quite unassuming and narrow, but it was the perfect location and only minutes from the metro, which we didnt really need as it was easy to walk to lots of places. It is very central to the main Avenida da Liberdade with its smart shops. We really enjoyed our weekend in Lisbon, which was a lovely, interesting place and we found it easy to explore everywhere by having a 2 day pass for the hop on hop off Yellow Bus. This pass also allowed use of the trams and two funiculars - all well worth taking a ride on. The sun shone the whole weekend and there is so much to see, we will just have to go back again!

Room Tip: Dom St Maria was the larger suite, but was a little darker than Dom Joao, but both beautiful rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I treated myself to a City break in Lisbon and booked the Mercador based on the reviews. I have to say that it was also my first stay in an 'appartment' on holilday.

However, I beleive that calling it an 'appartment' doesn't do it justice and it was just amazing, and really outstanding value for money. The location is perfect! The room, was grand! Love the decor.

Joao, the Manager, ensured that I had all the details prior to travel and was happy to respond to my emails. Juan was also incredibly helpful!

I have only good things to say about this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent a lovely few days in this amazing suite.It is very well located close to the hub of Lisbon but in a side street so you are unaware of traffic and noise. Very comfortable with some nice touches. I was very impressed with the overall service and fresh food delivered every day.
I would certainly recommend it as a ideal place to stay and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great location: central location with walking distance to various amenities
Beautiful hotel: spacious rooms that are elegantly designed, great attention to details
Warm and helpful staff: five-star hotel staff service with a personable touch
Great price for what it has to offer: would be very suitable for those with a reasonably large budget

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercador

Address: Rua de Sao Jose, 164, Lisbon 1150-248, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 200 Specialty lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercador 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lisbon in one of the oldest and picturesque streets of the city is the Palácio do Mercador ("Merchant's Palace"), a building whose first record dates back to 1565.Resisting the earthquake that struck Lisbon in 1755, the owner at the time knowing of the presence in the city of the Milanese plasterer Giovanni Grossi commissioned him the decoration of his palace, according the rococo style, coating ceilings with beautiful stucco, the walls with tile ("azulejos") panels and decorative paintings that we can still admire.Over the five hundred years of its existence, the palace was home to many famous people who marked the society of their time through politics, culture and overseas trade.Over the past five years the palace has undergone a profound restoration and conservation, promoted by the current owners and executed by the company CRERE, which brought back the splendor and dignity of other times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.