We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lisbon Destination Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lisbon Destination Hostel to your Saves list
Lisbon Destination Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Rossio Train Station | Second Floor, Lisbon 1200-160, Portugal (Formerly Rossio Patio Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The staff are super friendly, the pub crawls are really awesome, be prepared for an 'all-nighter', that's the Portuguese style. Really great kitchen facilities and they also have cheap evening meal available. Nice upright piano in common area, it was so fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    49
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
39
116
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lisbon Destination Hostel is the perfect place to stay for travelers planning trips to Sintra. The hostel is located in Rossio station and trains to Sintra (which run about every 20 minutes) are within a few feet from the front door! Although the trains are so close by I never once noticed any noise. The hostel is also very central (within walking distance to Alfama, Bairro Alto, Chiada and the waterfront - we walked to Belem but would not recommend this on hot days as the walk isn't overly picturesque). The staff is very friendly and recommended excellent local restaurants and bars. When we stayed at the hostel there was a nice mix of young and old travelers and families. Great relaxed environment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Initially we were worried that this hostel would be noisy due to it being inside the train station and at the centre of the city but we didn't hear a single train and the walls and windows are soundproofed with professional recording studio sound proofing materials.The employees at this hostel were incredibly welcoming and helpful. They set up events everyday for the hostel stayers like free walking tours and group visits to local sites so even the travellers travelling alone had new friends to explore with. Every morning breakfast is served and dinners are prepared every evening (for a decent price of 9 euros). We really enjoyed our stay at the Lisbon Destination Hostel and made many new friends even though we only stayed two nights. This was a friendly, clean, quiet and comfortable hostel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hostel has a very good atmosphere, great location (better would be impossible!) and very friendly staff (as most of the hostels in Lisbon) excluding the girl cooking crepes every morning, she didn't look very happy at all.

Positive points:
- Friendly staff
- Location
- Atmosphere
- Confort
- Electronic keys for dormitory and your private cupboard (no need padlock)

Negative Points:
- Showers are not as clean as it should
- Breakfast is VERY POOR for the price paid.
- Only one toilet (the other one is for disable people)
- Wi-Fi problematic connection with iPhones.

Lisbon is famous for having top hostels in the world, but for sure, you can't include Lisbon Destination Hostel on this list, I've been in Lisbon couple of times trying different hostels and I can assure you that there are much better ones around.

If they improve the breakfast, clean the showers more often, build more toilets and sort the wi-fi problem, they can be part of the top list, meanwhile, they are not.

-

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here for three nights last weekend and loved every minute of our stay. The rooms are nice and clean, overlooking the lounge area. The bathroom has everything you need. Ok, the bed was a bit hard, but doable. I loved the lounge area where all kinds of music instruments are available and people can just start playing them. And the pancakes at breakfast. And the superrelaxed atmosphere. And the staff ofcourse. The location is excellent: everything is within walking distance. In short: would love to return one day!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Big new Hostel in a great location along the river, the train station and metro are located under the hostel. The room are new & clean, the roof top area has a great view with a BBQ area and a dip pool. The staff were very friendly. I highly recommend this hostel in Lisbon.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have never been compelled to take time out of my life to write a review for pretty much anything unless I got something free for it.

That all ends here. The staff here were extremely welcoming and incredibly informative. They helped make my stay in Lisbon that much better.

Cool vibe, great people, fantastic location. You can't really ask for much more. I mean you could but that would just be greedy.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisbon Destination Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Destination Hostel

Address: Rossio Train Station | Second Floor, Lisbon 1200-160, Portugal (Formerly Rossio Patio Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisbon Destination Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July of 2011, smack in the heart of downtown Lisbon - Rossio - a new hostel is born. It could be just another hostel, except it's not. Housed in one of Lisbon's most beautiful and renowned buildings - the Rossio Railway Station - an undisputed icon of late XIX Century Romantic architecture (and which has recently undergone a profound facelift), Rossio Pátio Hostel is perched around a winter garden, where light filters down from the rooftop, harmoniously flooding the patio and creating an ambiance that is both tranquil and upbeat. We had planned on catering to a specific target, only to realize later that we didn't have to. We're confident that, between the ample first floor bedrooms (sleeping 4 to 6) with large windows overlooking the historic city, and the double rooms one floor up which peer out over the winter garden, you - whomever you may be - will find your niche. And if all this weren't enough, please note that, from our doorstep, you can take the train to the town of Sintra, a Unesco World Heritage Site just 20 minutes' ride away. Once you get there, you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Lisbon Destination Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisbon Destination Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.