We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Goan Restaurant in Lisbon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Zuari

Restaurante Zuari
Rua Sao Joao da Mata, 41, Lisbon 411200 - 846, Portugal
213977149
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 2,538 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enchanting Goan Restaurant in Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Came for a short holiday to Lisbon and as we like spicy food we asked at the hotel reception if they could provide us some informations about a nice restaurant.
They told us, that many of the turists go to restaurant Zuari,it is said to be one of the best in Lisbon.
So, we decided to go and try it. Now, we can really confirm this is really the best goan food that we have ever eaten. We ate lamb, chicken and prawn curry all were very tasty in their own way. For dessert we ate bundi ladoo, bebinca and mango ice cream it was super delicous.
The food is excelent and reasonable priced.The restaurant is small but an enchanting place.We really felt very comfortable with the service and we can say that the owner was very polite and helpful to us.
Definitely, we will recommed it to our friends.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    25
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An absolute must-visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I was looking for a good and reasonably priced Goan place in Lisbon and found a reference to Zuari. This ticks all the boxes.

I love Goan food and this compares to food I've had in many places in Goa. Make sure you have the Vindaloo - it is spicy and delicious. We also had the prawn in coconut gravy - it was fresh and tastly, although a tad mild for our liking. We would have liked to try the other mains, but were full after the Samosas and a curry each with steamed rice. The homemade mango ice cream is perfect after the spicy meal. Including the house wine and water, our bill was about 30 Euros.

This place is run by a family - they are very friendly and although the ambience isn't much and the place is a bit out of the way - it is well worth the visit for an excellent experience if you love Goan food or want to try it for the first time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in restaurante Zuari!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Me and my friends went for a business trip to Lisbon and we love hot stuff so we asked in the reception of our hotel for a restaurant and they recommended us Zuari , we also used the net and read such good reviews so we decided to try and we finaly made it there.We were four friends and each one of us decided to try a different dish so I ate ambotic de cação (shark fish)very hot but delicious, my friends tried vindalo(pork meat made with wine and garlic), sarapatel( meat pieces made of pork), add mass and chacuti (chicken curry).
The dessert were really nice and the appetizers still better the samosas are well known ...very crispy and delicous.

For our surprise it was the best goan food in town.It was a small place with authentic goan food,a wonderful atmosphere and a very nice service it was a great experience will return back, for sure.
I really recommend this place to everyone it´s the perfect place enjoy a delicious meal and superfriendly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great choice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We have been in Lisbon for the first time and he were recommended to go to restaurant zuari for lunch , we decided to try and it was really a great choice!
The food ( prawn curry, sarapatel, chacuti , add mass ) were super delicious such as the desserts (home made mango ice cream, bebinca, cocada , doce de grão) all the dishes were unique and wonderfull.
The atmosphere was great and the service expert ,it was great!
We will return back to Zuari when we come to Lisbon on our next trip and we definitilly recommend everyone to come !
It is the best Goan food that we have ever tasted!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic goan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

If you are in lisbon going to restaurant zuari is a must, the food is delicious (prawn curry, vindalo,sarapatel , chicken curry),the desserts are all home made like te mago ice cream,bebinca,cocada, but the best were the appetizers samosas and chew i enjoyed them , it was the best i´ve eaten !
Recommend everyone the food, service and atmosphere are great and good value for money!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Zuari also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Zuari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Zuari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.