We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, relaxing restaurant with great food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ha Piteu

Ha Piteu
Rua Da Atalaia N0 70H | Bairro AltoCodigo, Lisbon 1200-037, Portugal
913 431 118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #228 of 2,539 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: Tapas, Diner, Portuguese, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cozy, romantic and typically Portuguese, our restaurant in the heart of Bairro Alto, business north of Portugal to the south and serves wines and delicacies of our cuisine in the form of "delicacies". We are a space where relive the homemade flavors is synonymous with quality, harmony and good taste.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic, relaxing restaurant with great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was the highlight of our dining in Lisbon. From the moment you walk in, until it's time to leave, it's just amazing. The ambiance was special as soon as you set your eye's upon the decor, and the low key music. The waiter greeted us upon entering and he was very warm and spoke great English. The smells from the kitchen drifted through-out the restaurant and you know you were in for a treat. This is a restaurant owned and operated by women, except for the lone male waiter. Our food was prepared with love and you could taste it. Fresh, nice quantity and tasty! Service was well paced, no rush, and no onslaught of tourists. It seems that most of the other diners were local's or at least Portuguese. This is a gem and needs to be experienced. If you are in Lisbon, make the climb up to the Barrio Alto and experience Portuguese hospitality like it was when I was a kid growing up in a Portuguese-American family. Great food, wine, service and ambiance. It's not expensive either!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    132
    32
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice restaurant with good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had dinner today at this restaurant. They had nice tapas for a good price and the staff was very friendly. The restaurant had a very nice atmosphere. We would recommend this restaurant if you come to Lisbon. Afterwards you can get nice and cheap cocktails in the same street (Rua de Atalaia.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Away snacks and Drinks delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

this small cozy Restaurant/Bar made us feel so comfortable and part of the Portuguese culture all in one! We just asked for the very nice maid to bring us what would be typical Portuguese snacks, Portuguese wine and beer. My college aged son, who does not explore beyond pizza and hamburgers, was so impressed and wanted to know how he could fix the cheese and meat dishes brought to us. He and Owner were both there, and they ran the place like it was their home. They assessed what we wanted and took it from there. Our favorite night in Lisbon, and the prices were very reasonable. I will bring my husband there first thing when we return!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Smaller restaurant (less than 20 guests) with great food. The prices are not the cheapest and portions not the largest, but the food is great and the service is excellent (even with touristy tips like – don’t touch the cheese brought on the table and you will not pay it..) We had octopus, which was amazing and hose wine and deserts were nice. Short after 20.00 the restaurant gets quite full.
Will come again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We call in on a busy Saturday night and tried six of the small meals ie Tapas.
The meat dishes were of poor quality and dry and tasted burnt.
The Olives were poor and the fish dish was cooked in a strong oil.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ha Piteu also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Ha Piteu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ha Piteu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.