We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Portugal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa da India

Casa da India
Rua do Loreto 49, Lisbon, Portugal (Encarnação)
+351 213 423 661
Improve this listing
Ranked #283 of 2,363 Restaurants in Lisbon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Encarnação
Alaska
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Portugal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Not only is this the best restaurant in Lisbon, but it is probably the cheapest, too. Not well know to tourists, it is quite popular with the locals. I highly recommend the house special, (the shrimp) that comes on large plates, (the shrimp comes with a separate large plate filled with french fries.

When we arrived, there was a slight delay waiting for a table, but five minutes after ordering, our food arrived.

I fed four people, (four large plates of shrimp, a chicken dinner, desert and drinks) for 44€!

I don't know why the restaurant lists "India" in it's name since I really did not see any Indian dishes on the menu.

This restaurant has cheap prices, great food and helpful English speaking staff. Top notch!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    144
    45
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I lived a few blocks away from this restaurant for a few months. I went there a few times a week.

It has a diner feel, with good food. It's not exquisite food (go two blocks down to the sushi place for that), but good food.

My standby was the secretos de porco (the secret is they are super tasty), with a Sagres and tremoços (Trem-oh-sh-ohz).

If you are solo, it's a great place as you can sit at the bar and don't have to have the usual extra-solo feeling of sitting alone at a table (although when it's packed, you may end up sitting with a stranger if you are at a table). It gets very busy at times during the evening.

The staff is always busy but really hop to when you need something. I often went here to study Portuguese in the afternoons and they even helped me with my homework when they had time. The staff seemed all-business at first, but when I left Lisbon they all said goodbye to me like I was family.

I miss this place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were told to go here by our local tour guides so thought we would check it out. Turned out that they were eating there as well along with many other locals. The chicken was truly trulyyyy delicious! And the rice on the side was so great as well!

Did I mention the price was extremely cheap. A friend and I shared a "half portion" and there was still some chicken left and I'm pretty sure we paid about 8 euro total (4 each) with our drinks and everything.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A great place for good value and lots of atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I just had dinner at Casa da India, where I very much enjoyed my grilled swordfish. This is standard mom & pop fare done well, at very reasonable prices. I had my swordfish (with potatoes and veggies), bread, sparking water, dessert and coffee for €12.50. My coconut tart was forgettable, buy my friend had the "Doce da casa" and it was very good. Crowded, lively, and atmospheric local setting that will help you understand why people love Lisbon.

Incidentally, the restaurant is named for the institution that the Portuguese crown founded during the early sixteenth century to regulate trade with the Indies. More info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Casa_da_Índia

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin 8
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy grilled chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent grilled chicken for the main with Gambas for a starter and great beer for dessert. Actually the house wine is really good also. The name looks a little confusing but its in praise of Vasco De Gama's route to India. Gets a little full for lunch but it's well worth the squeeze, anyway the crowd is mostly local which is always a good sign.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa da India also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Casa da India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa da India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.