We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent street cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sao Nicolau Cafetaria

Sao Nicolau Cafetaria
110 Rua Augusta, Lisbon, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,526 of 2,360 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Bakery
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dundee Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent street cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast and dinner on Friday last week. We went there because it is frequented by locals and that is always a good indicator. The food was good and varied. We had the best vinho verde of our visit and only 13euros a bottle. Great value.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    32
    27
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“Okay food, but beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The food was good, but the service was quick, but the kitchen was slow. I ordered a pizza which came within 10 minutes but I finished before my girlfriend received her meal (fish). Also, while we were sitting there, another couple two tables down had a bag stolen from them... so if you eat outside on the main street, keep all your bags tied to you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't continue to eat! ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We ordered the pork bun which was way to salty. It's not really edible. Going back to O Adriano tonight which is only a two minute walk from here to have their delicious pork bun. We also tried their Paellador branded paella and it was even more in unedible. It's crappy food in a densely populated tourist area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtr Manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great for people watching and good service too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We called in here when passing with two young children, drawn in by the sandwiches and pastries on display.

Service was excellent, with sandwiches ready made but still fresh. My husband ordered a large beer which was in fact a 1litre pitcher so be careful what you ask for! The waiter was attentive and friendly with the kids. I had a pastry for desert whilst the kids had ice cream from the counter (half the price if you go to the counter rather than waiter bringing it to your table).

The toilets are downstairs and there was quite a queue but they were clean at least.

This cafe looks mass market but they do what they do well and we would call in again for lunch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
710 reviews 710 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
396 helpful votes 396 helpful votes
“For a touristy cafe, not a bad spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went straight for the paella offerings, and I have to say that the squid ink paella I had was not half bad. For what it is - a sidewalk cafe in the middle of the tourist district - Sao Nicolau is pretty good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sao Nicolau Cafetaria also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Sao Nicolau Cafetaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sao Nicolau Cafetaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.