We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy restaurant with surprising seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Me Peixaria Moderna-Chiado

Sea Me Peixaria Moderna-Chiado
Rua do Loreto 21, Lisbon 1200-241, Portugal
213461564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 2,193 restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Busy restaurant with surprising seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our waiter was a nice, but typical waiter. He did not agree with my choice of wine and suggested a different bottle. Cheaper and great, so he made his name, usually they try to sell you a more expensive bottle. Then trying to decide on the food, he really got cocky and disagreed with our choice, however in a most charming way. Fine, we let him decide. We were not sorry about that. He actually discussed all choices but usually recommended the not so common dishes. They have great sushi and sashimi and all sorts of other real fresh fish. Place is always crowded so reservations are advisable. Prices are decent. Really worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    240
    217
    57
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood - locally recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We wanted seafood for dinner and had Sea Me personally recommended by the concierge at the Hotel Biarro Alto. Good friendly staff guided us away from the house wine suggestion into drier territory which went well with the local take on Sushi. The cuttlefish in squid ink tempura was almost worth the visit alone. I also liked the sardine and red pepper recommended by our waitress. The atmosphere got livelier as the evening went on and it's the first seafood restaurant I have been to with a resident DJ - Definitely worth a visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner and the white sangria!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

On our first evening in Lisbon we walked by this restaurant and thought we'd give it a try. Looked modern, hip and such fun! The restaurant was packed so we took 2 seats at the bar. Service was wonderful and the bartenders so kind conversing with us often to make sure we were enjoying.

Especially enjoyed watching the action behind the bar and the energy throughout the restaurant.
We had the best salt cod during our stay and the sushi was incredible! Presentation and creativity simply lovely. Best of all was their white sangria. We have never tasted anything so delicious and want made it more charming was the bar tender really cared if we liked his drinks. He glowed when we told him how much we loved the sangria!

We enjoyed Sea Me so much that we spent our last night for dinner there as well. So uncharacteristic of us as we like to explore many restaurants. This should give you an indication of how much we enjoyed our experiences there!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sea Me for Great Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I went for my birthday with a couple of friends. We each thoroughly enjoyed our meals - sardines, parrotfish & shrimp risotto. The atmosphere was lively, service was good...would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I went here on my first night in Lisbon and liked it so much I went back again for my last night. You pay a bit more than other restaurants in the area but its worth it. To sit in the main restaurant you need to book in advance but there is also a bar where I got a seat both times.

There is a selection of starters and mains on the menu or you can choose any fish from the adjoining fish shop and have it griller for you at market prices. Although the place was really busy both times the staff were friendly and helpful and kept up. The tune carpaccio was really fresh and tasty, and my favourite dish was the salt cod. Desserts were lovely too, and a nice selection of wines by the glass.

Everyone else at the bar was really enjoying themselves too, and on my last night the couples on either side of me both booked tables again for the following night which shows you how good it is!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Me Peixaria Moderna-Chiado also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Sea Me Peixaria Moderna-Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Me Peixaria Moderna-Chiado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.