We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, Modern Decor, Sea Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Me Peixaria Moderna-Chiado

Sea Me Peixaria Moderna-Chiado
Rua do Loreto 21, Lisbon 1200-241, Portugal
213461564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 2,363 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stylish, Modern Decor, Sea Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Every Xmas Eve, regardless of the city our wander lust has taken us to that year, we try and select a restaurant to have a "special" meal to start off the Holiday season. This year we found ourself in Lisbon Portugal, and could not have made a better selection: Sea Me Peixaria Moderna Chiado, a restaurant, , bar, sushi bar, and peixaria. It is located in the Bario Alto district of Lisbon. Stylish, attentive, friendly service, but most of all innovative, well plated, and deliciously prepared sea food. While not being inexpensive it was moderately priced for the value. Starting the season off with good wine, oysters, then a sea food entree each; perfectly seasoned and cooked tuna sandwich with home made sweet potato fries and for me, delicious boneless filleted sardine salad with punched roasted potatoes. We were stuffed, so we just eyed the dessert list but we were sure it was as good as our meal. Overall, a perfect way for a couple of foodies to start the 2012 Holiday season.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    284
    75
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very good service despite the crowded place, nice waiters, all English speakers and very kind. Fish choice was just amazing, out of a fishery desk where they are all laid on ice waiting for you to pick your favorite. Menu very intriguing, spacing between sushi to the catch of the day. Very interesting wine list with selection of Portuguese wines. Ask waiters to recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh fish but with a bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

To resume it quickly: Very good and fresh fish of all kind, tasty desserts - maybe a bit overpriced but excellent - original designed place and good location BUT unfortunately a very bad, slow and somehow rude service. Once again a No-Go place, at least for us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing sea food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Fantastic place to eat a meal of fish or sea food. Fresh, exquisite and delicious. They unite the quality of fish with the Chef vision.
You don't need to eat a main course to be satisfied. The starters are wonderful for "petiscar".
Really good! I loved it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rude service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went here for a long leisurely weekend lunch.. however when we arrived we were greeted by the host who sat us down without a word or smile. Over the course of the meal the staff were surly and unhelpful, we had been there half an hour when our drinks finally arrived, which would be understandable if it was busy, but there were more waiters than customers. When I tried to talk to the waitress about it, after she took my plate away whilst i was still eating (knife and fork in hand!) she just started pulling faces and laughing as she walked to the other members of staff. i don't mind paying a lot of money, for a good meal, with a relaxed atmosphere, and great service, however we didn't receive any of the above.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Me Peixaria Moderna-Chiado also viewed

 

Been to Sea Me Peixaria Moderna-Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Me Peixaria Moderna-Chiado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.