We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miraparque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Miraparque to your Saves list
Hotel Miraparque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Sidonio Pais 12, Lisbon 1050-214, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #76 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel is a very short walk into the main area of Lisbon. The rooms are very clean and tidy, staff very helpful food also very good. With a good choice for the breakfast. Next time I am in Lisbon this is the hotel I will head for.

Room Tip: If you are in Lisbon to visit this sites this is a very good hotel to use as a base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    446
    140
    20
    8
See reviews for
170
359
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Miraparque for 3 nights for a city break and wouldn't hesitate to return. Its location is really handy for exploring the city with Parque metro station just around the corner.

They did all the basics really well, clean room, good breakfast and the staff were extremely helpful.

The only small negatives I can think of are that the rooms are a little small in size and so is the lift which could only fit 3 people comfortably.

But I think the Miraparque is great value for money and the staff are a great asset.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Excellent location, good services, good sleep quality, but small and not well equipped rooms.
Average breakfast (much better than French hotels, but not the same like finish ones).
Location just near a nice park and close to important objectives and utilities, including a mall, metro and bus stations, only two bus stations away from city center. Walking from the hotel to the important objectives is a pleasure.
Still, the rooms are bellow average quality, in terms of size and many other criteria.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with fru.pl

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed in the Miraparque for 3 nights in early April and thought it was a great find. We had room 501 a twin overlooking the park. Spotlessly clean and really helpful and genuinely friendly staff. Examples include at breakfast one morning the yoghurt bowl was empty, we mentioned it to the waiter who not only filled it immediately but also brought us a serving to our table. Our travel agent had booked us a double rather than a twin room but the reception staff sorted it smoothly, gave us an upgraded twin room and waived the additional charge. It's an uphill walk from the city centre but there's excellent public transport and we would choose to stay there again, largely due to the staff. We had read that breakfast could be a bit of a crush but we found both the range quantity and quality of food on offer was better than expected. One thing to know is that the hotel restaurant has closed for lunch and evening meals but there is a room service menu. Staff very knowledgeable about tourist things and spoke great English. Day trip tours eg Sintra pick up right at the hotel and the airport bus stops at the bottom of the street.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms overlooking the park. We also noticed a very nice single room 501A
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a four-night stay at the Hotel Miraparque. Overall our visit was quite an enjoyable one - but not without a few problems.

The easiest way of reaching the hotel - or elsewhere in the city - is to hop on the Metro from the airport. The Red Line takes you as far as S.Sebastiao - about 20/25 minutes - and from there you can either change to the Blue Line for one stop to Parque, or take a five minute walk. From Parque the hotel is literally around the corner - say five minutes, mainly due to the gradient!

The Miraparque is a six-floor building adjacent to Parque Eduardo Vll - for us one of the nicest areas in Lisbon. The park is surrounded by offices and businesses - mainly financial - and some of the best hotels are also to be found in the area. Outside of office hours it's also - for a city - fairly quiet, and there are a number of good restaurants within easy walking distance. 'The Great American Disaster' - on the Marques de Pombal roundabout - was very good, as was 'Sapore' - an Italian restaurant located at the bottom of Av. Sidonio Pais.

The welcome we received was friendly and the prompt check-in procedure ensured we were soon on our way to our fifth-floor room. It was fairly large, the two windows providing nice views over the park and well worth the small extra charge. I wouldn't describe the fixtures and fittings as especially modern - but the room was certainly clean and comfortable. The room attendant looked after our needs more than adequately - and she was also friendly and personable, more so than anyone else other than the manager who checked us in.

We didn't have any evening meals in the hotel restaurant. It wasn't obvious it was actually open for dinner, there was no menu outside and no one mentioned or encouraged us to make use of it. The same could also be said of the small bar area. Breakfast, however, was included - but I really can't agree with some reviewers who thought it was great. Had it not been included I personally wouldn't have paid very much for it. There was fresh and tinned fruit, cereals, cold meat and cheese - but the quality left a bit to be desired. The machine-served coffee was some of the worst I've ever tasted, as was the similarly dispensed and very watered-down fruit juice, while the scrambled eggs, though actually quite tasty, were never more than warm on each morning. The small restaurant also got quite busy and there were often queues for items. You also needed to get there early - on the one morning we arrived soon after opening, everything was noticeably fresher and more plentiful. The breakfast staff were friendly enough - but at no time did we feel they were doing anything other than simply 'going through the motions'.

Noise is a problem - I guess because of the nature of the building. In order for there to be no issues, every guest would need to be very aware of the noise they are making. Sadly that wasn't the case - and I would especially like to thank those in room 602 - directly above ours - for their constant door banging, shouting and general vocal exchanges during the very late evening and into the early hours of the morning. This ensured that neither my wife nor I were able to get much sleep until well into the night - and this inevitably had an impact on our stay. While not directly the fault of the hotel, the management should be aware of the way noise is conducted around the building and do all they can to deal with this.

As previously mentioned, the area surrounding the hotel is very nice indeed - in particular, the view from the top of the park looking towards the city and the river is well worth the fairly steep uphill climb. It is possible to walk down to the river in about twenty minutes - the return taking more like half an hour, however, since it's uphill. It's a very pleasant walk - along the way you'll pass lots of top retail brands dotted along Avenida da Liberdade, before arriving in the 'real' Lisbon - the Baixa. Also worth visiting are the Botanical Gardens, Bairro Alto, Alfama and Castelo S.Jorge - most of these can be undertaken using tram 28, a cheap and characterful way of getting around.

Outside of Lisbon, Belem is nice, as is Estoril/Cascais and also Sintra - all of which can be reached using suburban rail services. Lisbon is very well connected by public transport - metro, bus, tram and rail. You really don't need a car - even if you want to venture out of the city. The first time you buy a ticket you'll pay 0.50 for a Viva Viagem card - this is a rechargeable card valid for a year. You then use this for all of your travel - topping it up as you go. A single trip on most metro, bus or tram journeys within the Lisbon Zone costs 1.40, twenty-four hours is 6.00. A trip to Estoril or Cascais - four rail zones - is 2.10 each way. Although you can use your Viva Viagem card to purchase rail tickets, note they are not automatically interchangeable with other modes of travel. There is something called 'zapping' - where you load a specific amount of money onto the card - and apparently this is not only the cheapest and easiest way to travel, but also offers compatibility across all modes of transport. The Lisbon Card also includes pretty much all modes of transport and additionally gives free or heavily discounted access to most places of interest, including museums. It's available for 24, 48 or 72 hours - but you'd have to make a lot of use of it to justify the relatively high price.

If there was a 'Good' rating, that is what I'd give the Miraparque. In fairness, it's better than average - but I'm not sure it deserves 'Very Good'. We had an enjoyable enough stay and might be prepared to give it another shot - but Lisbon has lots of hotels to choose from. I'd want some certainty that the noise issues had been dealt with - maybe a room on the sixth floor would be better, since you'd have no one above you - and would also expect both the food and the service at breakfast to be of much higher quality. Maybe then I'd feel confident enough to pay a return visit.

Room Tip: A fifth or sixth floor room overlooking the park is worth the small extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff who spoke both english and french very well. They were very helpful in giving directions and recommending places to sight see and the easiest way to get there. The wifi required signing in with tickets that were good for 3 hours but the staff at the desk gave you as many tickets as you wanted.

The breakfast was also really yummy: a variety of pastries, cereals, fruit, cheeses, meats, eggs, etc and a coffee / cappuccino machine. The room was nice and clean, no problems there.

This hotels not excellently located, but there are a few restaurants and cafés nearby where you can get dinner. If not, there's a metro station 5 minutes away or bus stops that can take you to the other parts of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

this was a planned trip to a new city, booked through avios. offered good value and great location.

Room was bright, clean and comfortable, with a view over the park. No traffic noise, easy to get to from the airport on the shuttle bus, but now i know the area, it would be easier and cheaper to get the metro from the airport, get off at Parque metro stop and you can walk down hill to the hotel in 5 mins. the bus drops you off at the bottom of a steep hill to walk up to the hotel with suitcases!!

We were looking forward to dinner in the hotel, but on first night we had dinner at a fabulous restaurant in the dock area, so planned to go on Saturday night. on the Saturday night we found the restaurant didn't open at weekends - no mention of this at checkin grrrrrr.

Breakfast was OK, good choice offered and plenty of tables to choose from when we went in.

Down sides - wifi. there is free wifi which you need a voucher from the reception for, this is valid for 6 hours only - you get two codes per page and you can only use one code on one gadget, so phone, ipad and laptop would need three codes. i did notice that when you logged off, you needed a new code to get back on, even though it was within the activated 6 hr period.

Main compliant is that we stayed there from Friday to Monday, and the internet server went down on Saturday afternoon and never came back on before we left on Monday morning, staff said it was reported and were waiting for engineers to arrive. i had 3G roaming but my friend didn't.

Also on Saturday they had builders drilling and banging from 10.00am until about 2.0pm - could this have had something to do with the internet, not sure. no explanation or apology for the noise, not what you expect in a hotel on a Saturday though.

Staff at reception and bar were excellent.

Room Tip: Aim for a park view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miraparque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miraparque

Address: Avenida Sidonio Pais 12, Lisbon 1050-214, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#66 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miraparque 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Miraparque is located in the Marques de Pombal, Lisbon Center, near the Baixa and Chiado.Seated on a historic building the Hotel Miraparque faces the Eduardo VII Park and the main tourist points easily accessed through the public transportation.We are within walking distance from the Marques de Pombal Square, the Liberdade Avenue, 200 meters far from one of the biggest malls in Lisbon ("El Corte Ingles") and 500 meters far from the Calouste Gulbenkian Museum and the "Estufa Fria"Every 96 rooms of Miraparque are decorated in classical style, acclimatized and exclusive to non-smokers. They all offer ample insulated windows, a working space and free Wi-Fi and are equipped with LCD TV, telephone, mini-bar, safe-box and hair dryer in the bath-room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Miraparque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miraparque Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miraparque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.