We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lisbons hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lisboa Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa do Salitre 7 | Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon 1269-066, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Golden Age
Ranked #29 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Devon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lisbons hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

This hotel is on a side road off the main Avenida de Liberdade so apart from being very central for sightseeing etc is also quiet.
The hotel is amazing, very elegant and the decor in the public areas is stunning . Every possible comfort seems to have been considered , have a look at the 5th floor 'chill out' terrace!
Breakfast in the beautiful dining room was wonderful with the finest selection of pastries etc I've ever seen!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    301
    50
    8
    0
See reviews for
147
347
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Almost right in the centre of Lisbon is this medium-sized hotel. It's about 50 years old but there is a good mix of old and new.
Our room was the size of a suite as they were kind enough to fit in our two young children. It's very clean and the bathroom was very large.
Service is very friendly and the staff at reception know quite a bit about the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We picked this hotel from Expedia based on reviews and its location. It costs a bit more than the minimum you can do in Lisbon, but it is worth it. The location is off the main drag and much quieter, but it is within ten minute walking distance of the noisy center of Lisbon - almost perfect! The hotel itself is one of the best we have stayed in anywhere in Europe. Its interior is smaller than the pictures would suggest, but covered in marble and lovely. The breakfast buffet is excellent, and everything about this place was as good as it gets. We'll stay here again for certain.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We liked everything about our room during our four days in Lisbon. It was large, nice bath, quiet (looked out back), and the location makes it easy to get places. Breakfast is a plentiful buffet, altho at 14 euros you need to eat a lot to get value. We packed a lunch from it on some days. Staff was friendly and knowledgable. Not for the budget traveller, but great for us.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
591 helpful votes 591 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

Yes,this is the best hotel in Lisbon for those that want all the comforts of home,plus the best location,the best breakfast and the best service!!
Our triple room was lovely decorated,spotless clean and very comfortable.
Private car park for free,which was a bonus at this city area.Location couldn`t be better,a steps away from Av. da Liberdade but very quiet. All the main signs are at walking distance or easily acessible by public transport from there ( metro,bus or tram).
Internet access( free) for guests use in a small room next to the reception.
The lobby, bar area and breakfast room are beautiful and welcoming and the staff always kind and helpful !
Lovely terrasse on the 5 th floor , perfect for those that want to enjoy the fantastic Lisbon`s sun!
The breakfast was great,with delicious and fresh food.
We have tried many hotels in Lisbon in the last years and we have no doubt that Lisboa Plaza is our favourite ,because it is simply the best...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broolyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

We spent 5 nights at the Plaza Lisboa in March. The hotel was beautiful, the staff incredibly helpful and the location unbeatable. The hotel and the staff are very child friendly and were extremely accommodating to us and our 10 month old son. We stayed in two different rooms--the recently renovated room was nicer, but both rooms were great.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed there in late march, 2009.
The hotel is well situated near Av. Liberdade. The staff is careful and gentle, the room was confortable and 100% clean so was the bathroom.
I definitely recommend this hotel.
Ale, Spain

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lisboa Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Address: Travessa do Salitre 7 | Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon 1269-066, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#27 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#28 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lisboa Plaza is owned and managed by the same family since its construction in 1953 and is located just off Av. Liberdade. Lisbon charm is felt inside the hotel: the Portuguese decor, the different ambiances, the care towards the guests - your friend’s home in the heart Lisbon. Rooms vary in decor and size (from standard to superior and suites), all equipped with free Wifi, LCD, electronic safe and individually controlled air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Plaza Hotel
Lisboa Plaza Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lisboa Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.